Lamson Velocity 3X Fly Fishing Reel - 8wt

Closeouts. Extremely rugged and made in the USA, Lamson's Velocity 3X fly fishing reel combines outstanding value and excellent performance. It has a fully sealed conical drag system and an excellent strength-to-weight ratio.

Average Rating based on 11 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 11 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Shoebum from Central Washington on Tuesday, August 26, 2014
    Tough, light and functional at a great price. Only reason I don't give this 5 stars is the spool change is a bit tough.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Wide Loops from South Fla on Tuesday, August 12, 2014
    Lightweight, good tolerances, protective Hard Alox finish. Perfect reel for a long day of casting to mangrove shorelines.
    Enough drag and sufficient capacity for an 8wgt or cutback 9wgt. The bonus: STR pricing! Should have purchased 2 more!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by hog hunter from upper coast , Texas on Thursday, June 19, 2014
    to tell the truth , i have looked at a ton of fly reels saying they can be used in salt water . but , this ALOX coating is very different from anything i have seen from any other brand of fly reel . tough stuff ! this reel is as smooth a reel as others costing a heck of a lot more money . the breaking system is second to none . smooth as silk ! my son took one look at the 3x and said , it will be a great bay and back bay reel , but he does like to fish the jetties out of Galveston ,Texas , and off shore for king fish , so he just ordered the next reel size larger , the 4.0 . you guys know i can't let him out do me !!! with the money i saved on the 3x , as compared to other brands of salt water reels , i see a 4.0 in my future !!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Fishbook from Northern California on Tuesday, May 20, 2014
    Sierra Trading Post made this reel available at a very reasonable price. It's well made, and a wonderful reel for larger trout and steelhead.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Brian from MO on Sunday, April 13, 2014
    Excellent design and manufacturing quality
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ddante231 from Lake Superior, South Shore on Wednesday, April 9, 2014
    Upon the first week of using this reel, and after not having owned a new reel in half a decade, I am really happy with my purchase, I got a killer deal on this reel from S.T.P, which added to my decision as well as after spending some time researching other options, and reaching out to fellow consumers. I am very happy I bought the reel. I got the 3x 8wt reel, loaded it up with 50+ yards of 30 lb. Rio backing, and a full spool of Cortland 9 wt floating line, the reel has filled splendidly. And- the weight up floating line makes for easier casting longer distances. I paired the reel with a TFO 8wt rod, love my new set up. I recommend this reel, as my father always says- "you get what you pay for." Although I've only used it for about a week now I am very happy but have a couple of concerns of which may manifest in the future- the reel track is open, and when sat down in mud or dirt, it accumulates debris and makes for sketchy reeling but is easily resolved with a quick dunk under water., Another concern is the locking mechanism for holding and removing the spool- its just like a groove or clip in, I hope that after a duration of changing out spools n what not it might lose its integrity for keeping the spool attached to frame, but this is merely speculation so I don't know. The construction of the reel as a whole is solid with integrity, doesn't feel fragile and cheap by any means. I like the easily adjustable drag system, easy to change mid-fight. Its not to complicated of a design, limiting the possibility of failure, more mechanics, more places to break, so good job there y'all! Best bang for the buck.
  • Reviewed by Theduckhunter87 from Minnesota on Wednesday, April 2, 2014
    The reel balances my Northern Pike 10 weight very nicely. Have not been able to fish it yet as the ice is still on. Another high quality Lamson Reel. I have a Konic, Guru, and now this one. Lamson only makes the best, worth every penny!
  • Reviewed by Lindsey from PA on Tuesday, April 1, 2014
    If you need a light reel to balance todays light 8 weights this reel is very hard to beat and at this price is a steal. I have several Lamson reels including the Velocity 1, 1.5 (nickle and hard) and Litespeed 1.5 and 2. All are great and with Lamson making a slight design change and discontinuing the Velocity (probably was competing with the more expensive Litespeed) now is the time to buy while you still can.
  • Reviewed by Aaron from colorado on Saturday, March 8, 2014
    Strong drag, great warranty, excellent finish, super durable. Made in the USA. Looks cool too.
  • Reviewed by AmericanRiverSteelheader from California on Saturday, March 1, 2014
    When I saw the Velocity 3X at such an excellent price I could not pass it up. I really wanted a high quality reel Made in AMERICA and this definitely is.

    It is super-lightweight and handsomely finished. The large arbor has plenty of room for tons of line.

    I used it steelheading on the American River last weekend and it performed flawlessly. As a matter of fact I'll be leaving for the American again this morning as soon as I complete this review.

    If you're not concerned with having the most current model then jump on this deal. You'll not be sorry.

    Blessings from NorCal

    kr
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 11 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.