Lamson Velocity Reel - V2

Closeouts. Lamson's V2 Velocity reel is a significant advancement in fly reel design, with excellent performance being the only criteria guiding its creation. No design element exists which is not functional, and function has driven the aesthetic treatment as well.

Average Rating based on 22 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 22 reviews
  • Reviewed by TexanFisher from Charlotte, NC on Tuesday, June 03, 2014
    Apparently, Sierra Trading Post is using three different models in their photos so you never know what you will get. In the photos, there is the hard alox, nickel and version 1. Although I called then two weeks ago and told them this, I guess they don't care and want to surprise buyers???

    I also never got an email as promised about this exact issue. Hey, I was trying to help!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kailey from California on Tuesday, June 03, 2014
    Love this reel!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Trout Hunter from California on Friday, May 30, 2014
    I paired this reel with a Winston BIII LS. I fished the reel recently for the first time and hooked into several 20" plus brown trout. The reel and drag performed very well as several of these fish made extended runs up and down the river. I would certainly buy another Lamson Velocity!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by WP from Maine on Tuesday, May 06, 2014
    bulletproof reel, lightweight, strong drag!!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Trouser trout from Washington on Monday, May 05, 2014
    Lamson makes amazing reels. I owe 2 of the Velocity reels (V1 on my 3wt Winston BIIt, and the V2 on my 6wt G Loomis Native Run), and I ordered a 3rd a couple days ago (V3 going on my 6wt Sage TCX). The finish is really nice and resists abrasion pretty good. Can't beat the price. Wish STP sold spare spools, but at this price you could just buy another reel for what the spare spools sell for elsewhere.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Gonefshn84 from California on Tuesday, April 29, 2014
    I couldn't ask for much more in a fly reel. I originally purchased the 1.5 and it did not fit the backing and line for a 5 wt set up that was suggested on the Lamson website. It was way over-cramped. So I returned it and got the 2.0. Fits all my backing and line perfectly and I do not feel worried that it will build up and jam while on the water. The hard-alox finish is smooth and appears like it will be quite durable compared to the anodize type 2 on the Guru. This is not the lightest reel out there, but it is still extremely light compared to other manufacturer models and I don't feel worried about it denting should I drop it or bump it on a rock while fishing. The drag is amazingly smooth and sensitive. There is absolutely zero jerking while engaging the drag system; something I noticed on the Konic. I don't mind the mechanism for disengaging the spool, its easy enough after following the directions, and feels very secure. The biggest selling point for me is the drag system being COMPLETELY SEALED. I cannot count the times I have set my rod down to unhook a fish, only to have grit find its way into my reel and wasting time cleaning it all out. The only things that could be changed are a slightly larger handle, and changes to the drag adjustment. There are no indentations or numbering to let you know what it is set at. Also I found that trying to adjust the drag while playing a large fish is rather cumbersome. The pro's definitely outweigh the cons, and at this discontinued price you just can't find anything better for the money.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by flycstr from PA on Saturday, April 26, 2014
    I got this to replace another reel and I really like the drag system on the Lamson a lot better than the old reel. The only think I don't care for is how to remove the spool. I am getting better at it but it still is harder to do than the standard way that spools come off of other reels.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BarryS from Texas on Tuesday, April 22, 2014
    Great price on this great reel. I've been happily using a Lamson Velocity V3 for several years so I couldn't pass this up. The Velocity handles freshwater or saltwater fine with minimum maintenance.
  • Reviewed by Troutlover from Wyoming on Monday, March 24, 2014
    This is not my first Lamson reel, I have been using them for years now on several rods. I fish over 100 days a year and have never had one fail or even present any sort of problem. The drag system is sealed, cannot get dirty and stays trouble free. It remains as you set it. I like the Alox finish, it is durable and does not flash to spook fish as shinier finishes can. You really cannot miss with these reels.
  • Reviewed by Charlie Whiskey from Colorado on Tuesday, February 25, 2014
    I have two older Velocity reels, and they have served me well. Light weight, great drag system, nice construction and finish. I was delighted to be able to pick this one up at a closeout price. I prefer a double taper line, and a DT5 just didn't fit well on my V 1.5 with more than 20 yards of backing. This is a little larger, so it holds the line and 50 yards of backing well. Only complaint about the reel design is that the drag knob is a little hard to grasp and turn, but I like to set it and leave it anyway, so that's not a problem.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 22 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.