Lauren by Ralph Lauren Allegro Trench Coat - Belted (For Men)

Closeouts. Allegro means brisk tempo, an apt name for the shorter-length Lauren by Ralph Lauren Allegro trench coat -- perfect for the fast-paced business professional.

Average Rating based on 17 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 17 reviews
  • Reviewed by Joe from Riyadh, Saudi Arabia on Monday, August 19, 2013
    Great coat--the buckle could be a bit better, but otherwise, very pleased!
  • Reviewed by unhappy from Washington on Wednesday, March 6, 2013
    Looked great online, but looked/felt cheap when it arrived; not fully lined, plastic buckles. I sent it right back the next day without even hesitating. Definitely not worth the price (even at 70% of retail).
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Honx from Englewood, NJ on Sunday, February 17, 2013
    good condition and excellent cotton
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Big Sonny Jr. from Denver on Tuesday, February 12, 2013
    Trench Coats have been around for 100 years, and if you've never had the chance to own one, nows your chance to get the most stylish TC on the market...
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Paul from Nashville, TN on Tuesday, October 2, 2012
    It looks good on a drizzly day, for urban work wear. The belt works like it should but is an awkward if standard feature for a trench coat.
    • Best Uses: Bad Weather
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Good Cut, Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jeff from PA on Tuesday, September 11, 2012
    The photo makes it look stylish, but this Mac is ultimately conservative and boring. A bad fit for a stylish man, this suits a company man.
  • Reviewed by Sambar Hunter from Melbourne, VIC Australia on Monday, May 21, 2012
    This is a great coat for City workers who are looking for something smart to wear over their suits on a rainy, windy or cold day - or all three! This coat is true to size - do not, and I repeat, do not order larger than usual in order to have it 'fit' over a jacket; it is sized accordingly and with this in mind. It has a nice collar that you can wear up too - very stylish. Whoever buys this wont regret it and will enjoy the sideways looks of admiration from the opposite sex on their way to and from the office. Oh yeah, and I bought mine in black too - much more versatile
    • Best Uses: Bad Weather, Daily Use, Going Out, Travel
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Good Cut, Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jungle Boogie from Bump City on Thursday, September 29, 2011
    Not bad for a light weather coat. No insulation. Partial lining. Waterproof qualities are questionable. I wouldn't wear it in the shower, or go into a building with the sprinklers going off. I'm sure that this coat will perform with a light, misty, spring rain or summer shower. But trench coats were never really designed for use during winter storms. For heavy weather, you will need something with modern waterproofing like Gore-Tex, and insulation
    such as Thinsulate. I've always like leather for protection from wind and rain, and goose down to insulate body heat.

    If you're just going to wear the garment because it looks cute, then no worries. For the rest of us who bought a trench coat, and actually expect it to protect us from the elements, we will do the smart thing and treat it with 3M ScotchGuard prior to wearing. I have very little faith in this fashion garment's off-the-rack waterproof ability.

    A trench coat or trenchcoat is a raincoat made of waterproof heavy-duty cotton drill or poplin, wool gabardine, or leather. It generally has a removable insulated lining; and it is usually knee-length. The trench coat was developed as an alternative to the heavy serge greatcoats worn by British and French soldiers in the First World War. A typical trench coat by this period was a ten-buttoned, double-breasted long coat made with tan, khaki, beige, or black fabric. Trench coats often have cuff straps on the raglan sleeves, shoulder straps and a belt. The trench coat was typically worn as a windbreaker or as a rain jacket, and not for protection from the cold in winter or snowy conditions.
    • Best Uses: Daily Use, Going Out, Outdoor Activities
    • Cons: Not Warm
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by Sam Spade from The Barbary Coast on Friday, September 23, 2011
    The trench coat. Flashes back to a time when gumshoes were romanticized. Every gentleman had a coat and hat. And yes, you do need a hat. A fedora perhaps. And as every detective knows, a trench coat is ideal for concealing your roscoe. You know: your gat, your rod, your heater?

    I put this coat on, and I instantly recall my younger years on The Barbary Coast. I used to frequent this gin mill on the 500 Block of Broadway. Room full of smoke, pool table in the back, and a picture window just a few feet above street level that offered a bird's eye view of all the broads on the block.

    You know how the story goes. This doll walks in. I get dizzy with the dame. Her name was Lola. She was a showgirl. She would merengue and do the cha-cha. And then the punches flew and chairs were smashed in two. There was blood and a single gunshot, but just who shot who?

    This is a light weight coat. Fine for light drizzles and soft rains. I would look for something a little heavier, and with a better waterproof material, for heavy rain & storms. This coat will not keep out strong winds, and does not offer any insulation to retain body heat. This is not a winter coat. The best uses would be late Spring and early Fall, i.e. showers and slight breeze before and after summer. A great coat for Southern California.
    • Best Uses: Daily Use
    • Cons: Not Enough Pockets, Not Warm
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BOTA from NY on Thursday, September 15, 2011
    Have what I thought was the same jacket from years ago.

    When I looked at it I thought it was a light summer jacket for a woman (sized 46).

    What it is - I really don't know, but it is NOT a men's winter trench coat
    • Cons: Flimsy, Poor Fit, Small
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Sizing: Feels too small
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too short
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 17 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.