Leather Island by Bill Lavin Square Buckle Belt (For Men)

Closeouts. This stylish belt from Leather Island by Bill Lavin is made with premium leather and features a handsome square buckle made of antiqued metal.

Average Rating based on 15 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 15 reviews
  • Reviewed by SmokeytheBear from Michigan on Monday, October 07, 2013
    The good- I am a 38 inch waist and ordered the 42 size belt. I can close the belt using the last 2 holes. It fits well without to much of a "tail" sticking out but plenty to make it through your first belt loop to the left of the buckle. It is real leather. The Bad- The back part of the belt strap (the part that loops around the buckle to hold the buckle secure) Is weirdly/extremely long. Its stitched in the right place to secure the strap to the buckle but there is a 7 inch tail coming off the inside of the belt. Best way to describe it is...After you put your belt on and secure it (through the buckle) you have that extra piece of belt that you secure in the first belt loop to the left of the buckle?Well, on the inside of this belt there is a giant piece of leather about that size flapping around. I just took a knife and cut it off but if I saw it in a store there is no way I would have bought it. Looks unfinished and the leather looks bad where I cut it. (on the inside so no one will ever see it). The other bad (that took the cake for me thus the 3 star rating) the holes in the belt were not punched out! When I got it I saw very little circular indentions where the holes should be. I thought, cool I'll just push them out. Nope. You need to be a leathersmith with proper tools like a special awl/punch and hammer. Being a part time metalsmith myself I did not have these special leather tools. So I did what any sane person would do and I used a very small pocket knife to try and "carve" these holes out. Took about 5-10 minutes per hole and it looks like s#$t. Only did the two holes I needed because anything more would have had me bouncing off the walls. There is no way to get a clean hole without using a machine or a punch. Belt designed by Bill Lavin. I hope to never meet him.
  • Reviewed by jp from ny on Tuesday, May 21, 2013
    value
  • Reviewed by Ben from Virginia on Wednesday, April 03, 2013
    This is the perfect belt to wear with jeans. It has a weathered look that goes with anything informal. At the Sierra Trading Post price, it's an amazing bargain.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by PJ from Chicago, IL on Monday, January 21, 2013
    Ordered too small a size. Please order one size larger.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by HokieTrax from Blacksburg, VA on Tuesday, January 01, 2013
    This was a gift for my son who wanted a real leather belt to wear with his jeans, not a stiff bonded type leather. This one is a quality item.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ramrod from N.J. on Tuesday, November 13, 2012
    Wanted a plain belt without logos or designs
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Work
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Pros: Comfortable, No Names Or Designs, Plain Old Fashion Belt
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Luna cat from San Juan Island, WA on Friday, October 26, 2012
    This belt arrived with two major flaws - one of the 2 grommets holding it together was broken, and the loop was detached - not usable! I hope the replacement I have ordered is in better shape.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Skoaldar the Barbarian from Montana on Thursday, September 13, 2012
    I wear a 32 inch waist in all pants, so I ordered the "32 waist" size in this belt. Too small. Should have gone with the 34 like I do for all other belts. STP needs to revamp the wording for the sizing - remove "waist" it's only going to confuse people.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Cons: Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Pros: Durable, Stylish, Versatile
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by the belt wearer from POrtland, OR on Monday, July 09, 2012
    Great belt. Sort of a worn look to it so its not a dress belt but great with jeans.
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Stylish
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Txtigah from Austin, Texas on Monday, April 09, 2012
    This belt in no way is a dress belt. It is very soft and great for wearing with jeans.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Office, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 15 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.