Light My Fire FireSteel 2.0 Fire Starter

Closeouts. Easily build a fire or start your stove in any weather with Light My Fire's FireSteel 2.0 fire starter thanks to its intense 5,400°F spark, plus there's a built-in emergency whistle should you get lost.

Average Rating based on 22 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 22 reviews
  • Reviewed by NattyBo from PA on Wednesday, April 02, 2014
    Simply the real deal. Bought some cheap Chinese "magnesium" ones off of Amazon then saw a video about how they will not work on Youtube. These however work great and at the price you can get one for every car, backpack, etc
  • Reviewed by The Hiking Engineer from Indiana on Wednesday, March 19, 2014
    The FireSteel arrived as promised, looked exactly as pictured. The whistle provides a loud high pitched sound and there are plenty of sparks when I tested it. I only briefly tested it and have not tried to use it to actually start a fire yet. It was purchased primarily to be part of my son's emergency kit for backpacking.
  • Reviewed by Smokey from Virginia on Wednesday, March 19, 2014
    I have tried this several times. I struck it, like, 100 times trying to light a pile of brush on fire. plenty of dry leaves, etc. Gave up and lit it with one swipe of a match. If starting a fire would save your life, you may be able to get it to light one for you, but I would bring a butane lighter or matches along just in case I found myself in that situation. It does shoot cool sparks all over the place, and for that it is kind of impressive.
  • Reviewed by Evergreen Smith from Colorado on Friday, March 07, 2014
    Got the fire starter for my boys and myself for camping and emergency use. It work great even wet and fun to use.
    Recommend for campers, hikers, climbers, or anyone that wants a reliable way to start to a fire.
  • Reviewed by bdrivers from Tennessee on Sunday, March 02, 2014
    Recently bought this fire starter and brought it along on an overnight hike/camp. I will keep this tool in my pocket on every hiking or camping trip from here on out. It works great around the campsite and could even help save your life if situations take a turn for the worse.
  • Reviewed by Rob from ILLINOIS on Thursday, February 06, 2014
    It just works and freaked out the kids -- a bonus.
  • Reviewed by Matt from Michigan on Tuesday, January 21, 2014
    better quality than other sparkers I have. Thicker.
  • Reviewed by logik from San Diego on Sunday, January 19, 2014
    Brought the FireSteel with me for camping on Maui. Figured I'd never need it, but when a downpour rendered my Bic lighter useless one morning, I turned to the FireSteel and it worked (of course). It doesn't produce a big spark -- a sufficient one. Also, due to the short cord, repetitive striking can strain tendons, so I recommend striking in a different way, with striker at 12:00 and flicking the wrist as though you were brushing lint off the rod.
  • Reviewed by Rutager from FortWorth, Tx. on Friday, January 17, 2014
    Haven't had a chance to use it. But I tried it and it made sparks.
  • Reviewed by RidgeRunner from Knoxville, TN on Tuesday, January 14, 2014
    These are nice, because they are light and come with a striker. They also fit knife holsters with fire steel holders, very well. Highly recommend.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 22 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.