Light My Fire Scout Firesteel Fire Starter

Closeouts. The Light My Fire Scout fire starter utilizes Swedish Firesteel to produce a spark even when wet and cold. This handy tool is essential for hunters, backpackers and survivalists.

Average Rating based on 63 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 7 »
  • 1-10 of 63 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ice Man from SD on Monday, May 25, 2015
    Great product. I bought two and am extremely satisfied.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mike from Coastal California on Sunday, May 24, 2015
    A modern ferro rod is useful addition to one's outdoor kit. While I wouldn't recommend it as one's sole means of starting a fire, it's great to bring along for lighting camp stoves, or practicing making a fire from natural materials sourced out in the wilderness.

    This one is a light and thin type of ferro rod, but it's still guaranteed to provide you with a couple thousand strikes. As a plus, it can get wet and yet remain fully functional after it quickly dries out. That's not often the case for matches or lighters. The bright red color helps you out if you end up dropping it on the ground.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by sarah from seattle on Wednesday, December 03, 2014
    I haven't tried this yet. Plans are for the earthquake kit.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ridgerunner from Knoxville, TN on Wednesday, November 05, 2014
    Makes alot of sparks. Nice to have striker.
  • Reviewed by SoCal Mountain Woman from California on Friday, September 26, 2014
    I confess to looking up a YouTube video and striking the flint along with the guy in it. Actually, I beat him to it, scraping off some of the black paint, holding the striker as he demonstrated and nearly setting a Kleenex on fire on my desk. It all took about 10 seconds. I'm so thrilled and stunned that if it weren't nighttime right now, I'd be all over lighting the barbecue and the chimenea just to see this firesteel work -- can't wait to try it with a campfire next weekend.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by HeidiPacific from SoCal on Tuesday, August 12, 2014
    The directions are very unclear to me, a beginner camper. My husband picked this up and lot a big spark in one strike. So perhaps it's a user error on my parent that I'm camping challenged. Hence the fire starter! I bought 2. 6000 strikes total should keep me covered
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by my son from colorado on Wednesday, July 30, 2014
    I have not used this in the field, but tested in the garage. It is very easy to use and generated a strong hot spark. I will use it on my alcohol stove this weekend and give you a update
  • Reviewed by HSL from NJ on Wednesday, July 09, 2014
    The firesteel did not work at first until I read the direction that you need to remove the black/gray paint. So, I scraped harder and reviewed the metallic inside. Once done, it was really easy to create sparks. The only nit is the lanyard is a bit too short so you have to get used to the restricting length when scraping the firesteel. After a few tries, I adjusted to the short lanyard length.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Annabanana from Long Island, NY on Wednesday, June 18, 2014
    Tried it out as soon as I got it and it easily made nice sparks. I am just an ordinary mom who camps once in a while and doesn't know much about survival and hardcore backpacking, but I am the best one in my household at getting the fire going in our fireplace on cold winter nights! I can see that with some good tinder that is very dry it will easily catch fire from the sparks this thing produces. I am looking forward to really trying it out on our next camping trip and if I find it does not perform as good as I think it will I will update this review.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by CBGBsOutdoors from RI on Tuesday, May 20, 2014
    Some people complain about these because they don't know how to use them properly. (There is a protective coating on the outside of the bar that needs to be scraped off first, before the sparks will fly). However, once that is rubbed off, these are great and the STP price is fantastic. I also keep one looped on my Gas grill handle. The electronic ignition is dead, and rather than take it apart and install a new one (they never last long outside anyway) I just un loop this, turn on the gas, and blast a few sparks from this fire starter and I have save, consistent and cheap grill ignition.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 7 »
  • 1-10 of 63 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #