Loon Outdoors
Loon Outdoors 4.181818 5 Average Rating:
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 29
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by oregon fly fisher from oregon on Thursday, May 18, 2017
    Very comfortable to use and very strong cutting edges. I bought this because a guide I recently fished with has one and he could clip 50 lbs leader with ease.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by oregon fly fisher from oregon on Thursday, May 18, 2017
    If you have arthritis like I have, opening and closing the keepers on this is very difficult; otherwise, it seems sturdy enough to do the job.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Joseph from Massachusetts on Tuesday, May 16, 2017
    Should last quite a while. Looks great.
  • Reviewed by Kingfisher from Virginia on Friday, May 12, 2017
    These nippers are very heavy (weight wise). I used them for the first time fishing a trout stream in Virginia. I had a difficult time using the eye clearing needle on small flies and the blade does not seem smooth or even enough for cutting fine tippet. I think they will be great for my saltwater and Alaska fly fishing trips where 10lb tippet is on the light end and flys are large with big hook eyes.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by bardkin from Colorado on Thursday, May 11, 2017
    Both lanyards are strong, have a good sized secure clip and retract perfectly.

    *However*
    #1) The clasp on the back to attach it to your gear is not really ideal. Could be much better. It is strong, but it is only held on by a very small screw in the middle. I don't have much confidence in it staying on for very long, and you may lose it along with whatever is on them.

    #2) the lanyards are not quite long enough. They need to be about a foot longer. For instance, I would never put my hemostat on them cause I'd never reach the fishes mouth without ripping the whole thing off. It may be useful for floatant or dry patch but that's about it.

    Otherwise, I think they are very close to having a really useful and well made product.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by bardkin from Colorado on Thursday, May 11, 2017
    These things are beefy, tight and there are some cool features built in. The needle in the crux of the handle side for cleaning hook eyes of head cement, The scissor area to cut line quickly, and the half smooth half toothed jaw is perfect for crimping weight or pulling flies out of a fish.

    If I were to do anything different on this, I think I might make it about 2 inches longer and add a loop ring to attach it to a lanyard so the lanyard doesn't get in the way.

    I really like this product the way it is, any more tweeking it might be too much.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ADKBill from Upper Jay, NY on Tuesday, May 9, 2017
    Cannot beat STP's prices for these items.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by geebee from Washington on Friday, February 24, 2017
    Very disappointed. I wanted a green one. I received a black one like mentioned by another reviewer. Buyer beware.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Asarkozy from Colorado on Friday, February 17, 2017
    I bought this for another stream fishing waist pack, smaller than my trusty weekender and this tippet holder fit the bill. I keep just the 4-5-6-7 flouro on this one and I have the dry mono in the pack itself. It is nice and compact, fits perfectly on my pack.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Asarkozy from Colorado on Friday, February 17, 2017
    I bought these to keep my fine tip scissors sharp and these have been a nice find. Decently sharp and durable, these cut any fly-tying hair I use. Finding them on sale was a bonus.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 29
;