Customer Reviews Of:
Lowa Albula Gore-Tex® Backpacking Boots - Waterproof (For Women)

Closeouts. Lowa's Albula Gore-Tex® backpacking boots let you haul heavy loads in comfort with solid, lightweight construction. The waterproof breathable nubuck upper provides protection in wet conditions, and a soft-flexing ankle with an Achilles comfort tab offers added support.

Average Rating based on 13 reviews 4.230769 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Reviewed by Snowshoe Happy from Neihart on Sunday, September 18, 2016
    I always go for heavy-duty, all leather, high-top boots and was ready to live long and prosper with Lowa, since they have a good reputation. I was disappointed first by the fact that after a year of using them pretty much weekly, and for a few overnight trips, they still aren't broken in. I've played with all sorts of different insoles, and still get foot pain after a long day. My second disappointment was that just about three days after the warranty expired a seam inside the boot came apart. I contacted Lowa, and they asked me for pictures of the boot and receipts, which I supplied, and I never heard another word from them. I sent a few follow-up emails, and got no reply. If they want to stick to their warranty period, that's fine, but at least say so! Now I wish the boots would wear out faster so I can get new ones that are more comfortable.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sarah from Utah on Wednesday, January 6, 2016
    I love these boots. I love:

    1. The back Heel/Calf extra padding.
    2. The lace pulley system.
    3. The color/style.
    4. Overall Fit to my foot.
    5. The light weight.

    I do NOT love

    1. There is a double layer of material right under the Lowa metal stamp on the bottom lace where the tongue pushes down on the middle of my foot right above the toes. It is uncomfortable. Hopefully it will break it. I have high arches and I think my foot is just too tall right where the tongue is stitched to the boot. However, none of my other boots have done this. It is the same on both boots.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Stephanie from FL on Thursday, December 17, 2015
    Although I haven't had the opportunity to wear them (I'm in Florida), I find them to be very comfortable. No complaints, and I would recommend these boots to anyone.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kristan from appalachian woods of PA on Tuesday, December 1, 2015
    Awesome heavy duty boot. Recently went to my hiking store for a new Gortex high hiker and I swear all the women's boots were making a fashion statement not a function statement. My first 2 hikes were with a light day pack; 11 mile and 7 miles. Both muddy, rainy, varied terrain and a miserable damp cold day. My feet were warm and toasty dry. I was surprised the first maiden voyage of 11 miles, my feet only had a slight ache which is uncommon for a stiff new boot~no rubbing~no blisters. I would buy another pair right now if my budget allowed. Definitely go with the 1/2 down.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sandy from Ca on Tuesday, December 1, 2015
    I bought these hiking shoes as a Christmas present for my daughter. I am a little worried about the fit. The website said they run large and to order 1/2 size smaller, but they seem small. We will see. Hope these last better than her last pair. We were hiking in Hawaii in the crater on Maui and her hiking boots just disintegrated. She walked for a while on the inner soles and then there was nothing left.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Denise R from Southern California on Friday, November 13, 2015
    My boots are not fully broken in but I love the feel of them. Lightweight, comfortable and pretty stylish!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mountain Girl from Asheville, NC on Tuesday, November 10, 2015
    Great boot. Runs a little big. I normally wear an 8 and ordered a 7.5. Fits very snugly and comfortable. Have only done under 10 mile hikes with minimal elevation change, but so far-so good. The ankle support is awesome. Has a back part that fits like a ski boots. Gives great flexibility but maintains support.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Aylin Rebecca from Seattle on Monday, October 26, 2015
    I bought these because I need a sturdy enough boot to wear with crampons while mountain climbing, but I also wanted it to double as a more solid backpacking boot. For my purposes the polyurethane midsole is great, but it does make it a more heavy duty -- and heavy-- boot, so be aware of that. So far I love them!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Snowshoe Happy from neihart, Montana on Monday, July 20, 2015
    I waxed these immediately with beeswax, and on my first hike, fell in the creek, but my feet stayed dry. My second hike was an 11 hour scramble up rocky scree, and my feet were well supported and pretty comfortable. The soles are really stiff, which I'm hoping will soften soon, so that they'll be more grippy on unstable, rocky surfaces. The footbed is really roomy, so I put in some insoles, and they made the boots fit my skinny feet well enough. The toe box is pretty roomy, and my toes were the only places I had rubbing on that second, long hike.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by catwithdog from virginia on Saturday, December 13, 2014
    These fit and feel great. I think they broke in in one day. Comfort better than my last Vasque pair. I wear boots almost every day and have only had these about two weeks but the construction seems solid. Now too see how long they last. Hopeful.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2