Lowa Baltoro Backpacking Boots (For Men)

Closeouts. A great choice for trekking and extended trips, Lowa Baltoro backpacking boots feature handcrafted one-piece leather construction, a glove leather lining and a Vibram® outsole.

Average Rating based on 17 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 17 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by In the Woods from Montana on Wednesday, August 13, 2014
    This is the second pair of Baltoro's I have owned. I was very disappointed when I heard Lowa discontinued this model. best early season hunting boot I have ever owned. I put hundreds of miles on my first pair bow hunting elk in Western Montana and hunting sharptails and pheasants in Eastern Montana. Much better sweat control than goretex. Built in Germany with attention to detail lost on boots made in China.
  • Reviewed by Ben from Oklahoma on Wednesday, August 6, 2014
    These boots are well built. I wear a 11m. I found these to be a little on the wide side. Almost sloppy. They are very heavy - built like a tank. They felt a bit clumsy on my feet. The right and left foot fit differently for me. Left boot was a good fit, but the right arch was too far forward. You probably want to go a half size lower than normal. They don't carry a 10.5 med, so I was out of a pr of boots.
    Bottom line: I would have kept them if they fit properly in both feet. They are nice boots
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Nathan from Fairplay, Colorado on Monday, July 28, 2014
    These boots were comfortable right out of the box. They are true to size (size 12). Applied Nikwax to them and they seem to shed water great.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ranger Bill from Los Angeles on Friday, July 11, 2014
    Good Brand. All leather. A little narrow but I could loosen laces. Will take some break in but fine boots overall.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Greg from Minnesota on Monday, July 7, 2014
    The Baltoro belongs to the Lowa “Trekking” category, which means that the sole, while supportive and stiff relative to a day hiker, flexes more easily than a heavy duty backpacking boot (See Lowa Tibet, Baffin Pro, Ticam). Very similar to the “Trekker” in terms of fit, it allows a fairly snug instep and has a generous toe box. The main differences from the Trekker are that it is a one-piece upper (fewer seams), ½ inch shorter height-wise and the heel design is a little more bulbous. The nubuck is already pretty supple and shouldn’t take long to break in. A lot is said about the leather lining, but Lowa should really be commended for making a boot that is supportive yet flexible and adaptable to different foot shapes. I deal with a heel condition called Haglund’s - basically I have sensitive bony protrusions on the back of either heel - and Lowa is one of the very few manufacturers who makes heavy duty hiking boots that accommodate my heels.

    The only real problem I have had so far with the Baltoro is that it has been a challenge to get a perfect heel lock. Taping my heels seems to help quite a bit, but I am hopeful that over time the leather will conform a bit to my heels and allow an easier lock. Part of the problem may be that I am using orange Superfeet insoles, which lift the heel slightly and therefore change the heel fit. Lowa’s factory insoles are horrendous and have caused my feet problems in the past due to the almost complete lack of any padding.

    A couple other things I’ve noticed since receiving them: (1) The leather seems a little dry compared to other Lowa boots/shoes I have purchased in the past - I plan on applying some conditioner to them, and (2) On my pair some of the lacing brackets were not installed symmetrically, which leads me to believe these might actually be seconds. I guess you won’t know if this actually makes a difference unless you take them out for a hike. No complaints from me.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hunter Joe from Idaho on Monday, July 7, 2014
    Awesome Boots! I have only hiked approximately 20 miles in them so far, but they fit perfect right out of the box and required no break-in. They provide excellent support and have plenty of room in the toe box. Also, it was great to find an all leather hiking boot at a great STP low price.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Razor from Southwest Virginia on Monday, July 7, 2014
    This was one of the best boots I have tried on. I really liked the rocker sole, and it felt real good when you walked. The boot really hugs your foot with no slipping and sliding. The only thing I did not like about the boot was that it was not smooth or tan leather. I think a smooth leather boots is a lot easiler to waterproof. I would have gave the boot five stars if it had been smooth leather.
  • Reviewed by MakeMyOwnTrail from NorthEastUSA on Monday, December 9, 2013
    Top quality materials and construction.
  • Reviewed by jeffmo from Fredricktown PA on Saturday, November 30, 2013
    Lowa makes the best boots that are widely available in the US. I hope STP can offer more of them. This boot is top of the line. And has plenty of toe room and offers a good snug fit through the arch and heel. The leather lining is nice and the sole is good on a wide range of surfaces, one of the best.
  • Reviewed by Hikealot from Montex on Friday, November 29, 2013
    One of the best trail/hiker/backpacking boots they have here at STP. I've tried a few Asolos, Irish Setters, Golden Retrievers, timberlands, and this LOWA Baltoro ranks up there when it comes to craftsmanship quality, materials used, true comfort fit and overall good looks. The German maker has got it figured out. From the soft glove-like liner that provides excellent comfort, no blister from the get go, to the easy quick lacing system that keeps the tongue in place the whole entire trek. The bottom grip has excellent traction, and the SPS will keep you stable throughout the different terrain you may in encounter. For the price, Sierra Trading Post is the best I've seen especially if combined with the e-deals coupon that loyal customers get. This is one of the best deal around for those looking for a great pair of boots, can't recommend this one highly enough thru STP.

    Next to my Irish Setter Elk Tracker for serious winter hike, this 3-season LOWA hiker is the next best pair I have. You won't be disappointed. One more note, I usually wear a 2EE or wide shoes but this LOWA Baltoro has enough room in the toe box area that the "regular" fit just fine for me.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 17 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.