Customer Reviews Of:
Lowa Cevedale Gore-Tex® Mountaineering Boots - Waterproof (For Women)

Closeouts. Head for the summit with Lowa's Cevedale Gore-Tex® mountaineering boots, offering a superior combination of waterproof breathable protection, support and all-terrain traction.

Average Rating based on 10 reviews 4.600000 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JJ from Nevada on Monday, August 11, 2014
    I bought these for backpacking in the Eastern Sierra and Northern Rockies. They feel well made and I would recommend them for light to medium terrain. They are long, and recommend to order your exact size or half a size down. I normally wear a 9, and ordered an 8.5. The length fit just right. Unfortunately, I have to send them back because they are too narrow. I find this to be a problem with women's boots in general. If you can wear an Asolo boot, then these won't be too narrow.
  • Reviewed by kw from Azores on Wednesday, July 16, 2014
    I originally ordered a different Lowa boot and when I got them they were enormous, like I could fit two fingers behind my heal. So I called Sierra Trading Post and of course they were excellent about the return and I had a new pair on the way that day (even though it was after 5 my time). Now I've taken the boots up a volcanic mountain in the Azores 3 times (2300 m) and they are an excellent boot. Just stiff enough in the ankle but the front has a part that flexes really well. They also have a lacing system that allows you to tighten the foot and ankle part differently. I like to have a medium foot but then tighten the ankle really tight. I am a typical 7.5 in womens, I have the 7 but they are almost a little too big. So definitely size down 1/2 if not a whole size.
  • Reviewed by Katla from Atlanta on Thursday, March 20, 2014
    Extremely comfortable, even after a full day excursion. Durable, and definitely waterproof.
  • Reviewed by DJHIKER from Massachusetts on Tuesday, March 11, 2014
    These boots are great!! The fit is perfect; very true to size, and they feel like slippers once you have them on. I thought that I would have to break them in, because they look a little stiff, but they are very soft on the inside. We hike a lot, and this winter has been very cold and wet, and the treads are great on the ice. These are the first boots that I have had that keep my feet warm and dry, and make me feel a little more sure footed on winter hikes!! My microspikes also fit great on them. I would recommend these boots for anyone who is an avid hiker, winter, fall, or spring.
  • Reviewed by scott2613 from Washington on Thursday, March 6, 2014
    Originally went to STP looking for boots for my daughter, and when I saw the price on these, and knowing the reputation of Lowa, I couldn't pass them up, and ended up buying a pair for her and a pair for myself. When we received them we weren't disappointed, solid, well made, supportive, and comfortable. Can't wait to get them out on the trails and put them to use. Great boots at a great price from STP.
  • Reviewed by Mountain hiker from SC on Tuesday, March 4, 2014
    Really great boots, bought for my wife to replace her 10 year old Lowa hiking boots. Those were made in Germany, these are Italian made. Heavy duty, beautifully made. One note on sizing: I originally bought size 6.5, the size of her old (German) Lowa boots. They were way too small. Exchanged for a size 7.5 which fit perfectly. So if you're replacing some old boots, note the new Italian-made ones are sized somewhat differently. Full points though for a comfortable, heavy duty, beautifully made hiking boot. And naturally a steal at the STP price!
  • Reviewed by Jan Alba from Metro Milwaukee, Wisconsin on Tuesday, March 4, 2014
    I thought I would try these as I've had a pair of Lowa Renegades for the past 15 yrs or so, and they have finally ruptured around the sole and top of the boot. No amount of Shoe-goo can repair them. I thought I would upgrade, to the newer lacing system. I found the boots comfortable, perhaps a little long,but much too stiff for my needs. I returned them for a pair of Lowa Gavia backpacking boots,
  • Reviewed by nm144 from TN on Tuesday, January 28, 2014
    Really nice boots! Got the maroon and the color is beautiful, as is the style. I usually purchase a half size up in waterproof shoes but got my regular size in these, which fit fine. The boots are also surprisingly sleek and compact, even though they look bulky in the photo. Really beautiful and high quality shoe.
  • Reviewed by Rissie from Sacramento, CA on Saturday, December 21, 2013
    I think it cannot be stressed enough how comfy these boots are right out of the box. I used them for the first time this weekend on an introduction to ice, snow, and glacier climbing class where we were outdoors hiking and practicing self arresting for a good 6-7 hours and was not once concerned about my feet in terms of warmth or comfort. The sole of the boot is very ridged and worked well with traversing in crampons--didn't even really notice the crampons to be honest!

    I've had several people recommend going a size (or even two) higher for mountaineering boots you plan to use crampons with to ensure that you have enough toe room when you kick into the ice. With other brands I tried first in-store and this certainly was true, but I only went a half size above with the Lowa's and found that I had ample toe room even with double sox. So, don't oversize too much with these!

    Only a first impression, but a very impressive one! Will upgrade to 5 stars if they continue to hold up over the months/years.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JoJo go everywhere from Ohio on Thursday, February 4, 2010
    This is my second pair of Lowa Goretex boots. The first pair I wore daily and for winter running in the snow. They lasted about six years. This pair feels just as great as the last pair did.

    Follow the recommendations though and be sure to order 1/2 size smaller. I've done for both pairs of boots and they've been a perfect fit.
    • Best Uses: Outdoor
    • Pros: Rugged, Versatile, Weather Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Sort by: