Established in Jetzendorf, Germany in 1923 and priding itself for minimal waste and fair labor practices, Lowa handcrafts footwear to exceed rigorous quality standards. Underfoot comfort and traction outsoles are the benchmark and genesis of Lowa hiking boots. From backcountry trails to alpine summits, Lowa boots receive generous praise for incorporating features that enhance comfort, improve fit, maximize traction and keep your feet protected. For those who prefer fast-paced ventures, light hikes or everyday wear, this brand also offers a wid ... Learn more about Lowae array of Lowa shoes in styles ranging from trail runners to casual winter boots. ... Less
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 61 »
  • 1-30 of 1820 reviews
  • Reviewed by TwoCompostellas from Tacoma, WA on Friday, August 28, 2015
    I wanted a low top hiking shoe/boot and chose this because I've had great success with my Lowa Renegade boots (two trips across Spain!) Unfortunately, it's geared much more toward the lightweight and not the hiking. Also, they run long! I wear a 9.5 in the Renegade. These 9.5's leave an inch of toe space. Not sure I'll keep them.

  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by OH Hikers from Ohio on Wednesday, August 26, 2015
    Despite loving the look of these boots and trying two sizes, my first try with Lowa boots was a bust. I wear 7.5 Salomon 4D GTX boots for hiking. Their fit is like a second and so comfortable I could sleep in them. Guess I'll try the 4D GTX-2...
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by MacPac from Washington State on Monday, August 24, 2015
    These boots appear to be a great pair of boots. Full leather interior and also very light weight. They almost feel like a running shoe when wearing (well...maybe not that light weight!!).

    The reason for a 4 vs 5 star rating is they are narrow, which is good for my heel, but the toe box is also very narrow. I ordered a 9.5, because they didn't have a 10. I'm used to Keen boots which have a wide toe box (actually a bit too wide for my foot). We'll see how long term the narrow toe box affects my feet, my hope is they will stretch a bit.

    The boot has great ankle support and will be a good boot if you have a narrow foot.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by 60 and moving from Rochester, NY on Monday, August 24, 2015
    Everyone's feet have different needs in a shoe. My shoe had to fit a carbon fiber sole, arch supports and toe spacer for my right foot so I could increase my comfortable walking distance. This shoe has increased my mobility. Normally a size 8, I have upped my size to 8 1/2 for my right foot to give space for the orthotics and my bunion. I am approx. 5'8", 165 lb healthy and moderately active, wanting to keep it that way.
    This shoe does not rub or slip on either my healthy left foot or my right, is light and stable, and great either for mowing the lawn or a walk on pavement or trails. I'm so happy I bought a second pair after wearing these for a month or so.
    RESERVATION: I do not know how hardy it is - the laces do not have metal grommeted eyes or loops, and I suspect they will eventually fail unless you take care not to jerk on your laces when you tighten.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Inga from AZ on Saturday, August 22, 2015
    I wanted some lighter colored, light weight boots for summer walking, and these boots are perfect. I use them as street shoes because they are very comfortable and provide a lot of support for my feet while I am not doing rugged hiking on rocky trails.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by YJ Cho from Seoul on Tuesday, August 18, 2015
    This product is very good. Good quality, good price, no complaints
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Monkey Boy from Bellingham, WA on Friday, August 14, 2015
    These boots appear to be well constructed and are fairly comfortable out of the box. I put in a six mile and eight mile back to back hikes to give them a test drive. I could feel some typical pressure points in some of the usual areas for me when hiking in new boots, but I can tell I'll work through that after some more miles. I have a plan for a week long backpack coming up and we'll see how my feet and the boots handle it. On another note, I accidentally christened the boots in some northwest style IPA, so there's that.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by tom s. from New Hampshire on Wednesday, August 12, 2015
    I have been hiking for almost 50 years and this boot is one of the best fitting, out of the box boots I have ever put on my feet. Fits like a perfect sneaker but with great support and wears well. Can't say enough good things.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bama Hiker from Shiregrass area of Alabama on Wednesday, August 5, 2015
    While I have not actually hit the trail or climbed a mountain with these boots, I have worn them for a break-in period. This is the reason for only a 4 star rating. So far I am very impressed with the workmanship and quality. My foot size is 10.5 US and I typically buy boots and trail shoes in size 11 for foot swelling. However, I had to return the first pair of Lowa boots and order another pair in size 11.5. The 11 US size -- wearing normal medium thickness wool socks -- were a tad bit small and tight for my feet. My toes were bumping up on the inside with the front the boots. And the boots were a bit narrow, which would not allow for normal foot swelling when hiking/climbing. So my recommendation is buy this boot (made in Euro sizes) in a half US size larger for a comfortable fit. The second pair in size 11.5 feels fantastic and I have great expectations for good performance when hitting the hills. There is ample space to wear a heavy thickness wool sock with the half larger size. Cheers.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chinchilla from Colorado on Wednesday, July 29, 2015
    These boots are very comfortable. They have a thick sole, which provides great protection for hiking on scree fields and for climbing rocky peaks. They are very waterproof since they are all leather and have fewer seams than leather/fabric boots. They also have excellent ankle support, even when carrying a 50# pack. I bought a 1/2 size smaller than my regular shoe size, and the fit is perfect. I highly recommend these boots.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by FLCyclistGrl from Gainesville, FL on Saturday, July 25, 2015
    I wanted to love these, since Lowa boots have such a great reputation. I found the toe box to be too narrow for my size 9 feet. (I ordered size 9). More importantly, the height of the boot was irritating to me, even with high socks. Probably not the boot's fault, more of a personal preference. I replaced them with a pair of low La Sportiva hiking shoes that fit like a dream. These boots do have some nice features, and seemed very well-made. They were just not to my liking, and felt too narrow, so I returned them.
  • Reviewed by phillyb from Long Valley, NJ on Monday, July 20, 2015
    I just received these beauties today and, preliminarily - prior to a full field testing, they have exceeded my very high expectations as well as my demanding standards for footwear at large. Meticulously crafted, supremely handsome (the blue is a darker than imaged, midnight color) and they feel like they were custom built for my 9 1/2 D feet. The lacing system is ingenious, providing terrific support throughout, but particularly so at the ankles. Marginally heavy, as any high quality backpacking/hiker should be and just a bit stiff until broken in (PU midsole), which is to be expected with any new boots such as these.

    Overall, Lowa knocked it out of the park with their Tibet GTX, they're cushy, comfy and very cool looking, plus I snagged them for an outrageous price from my favorite outfitter, STP, who's selling them, when on sale, for hundreds less than many other online and bricks and mortar stores sell them for currently. Thanks, Sierra Trading Post for a steal of a deal!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by snowshoe happy from neihart, Montana on Monday, July 20, 2015
    I waxed these immediately with beeswax, and on my first hike, fell in the creek, but my feet stayed dry. My second hike was an 11 hour scramble up rocky scree, and my feet were well supported and pretty comfortable. The soles are really stiff, which I'm hoping will soften soon, so that they'll be more grippy on unstable, rocky surfaces. The footbed is really roomy, so I put in some insoles, and they made the boots fit my skinny feet well enough. The toe box is pretty roomy, and my toes were the only places I had rubbing on that second, long hike.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Desert hiker from Arizona on Monday, July 20, 2015
    Pros: Fits me like a glove. Sole has incredible traction in loose gravel. It is heavy enough to prevent the feel of small rocks through the sole. Uppers have a lot of Nubuck which will last awhile

    Cons: It may not fit everyone like it does me. My foot width is average to slightly less than average. If you wear and E with or wider I would advise trying this shoe on first. This is my third pair of Lowas. They are all a half size larger than my other brands. This shoe is more narrow than the others. Maybe this is why they are closeouts. I feel lucky to have bought this pair.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Captain Hazzelwood from East Coast on Friday, July 17, 2015
    Guidance from previous reviews to order a half size up was spot on. Normally a size 10, ordered 10.5 and they fit great. Shoe is light weight and offers ample cushion against rough terrain.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by boysx3 from MI on Thursday, July 16, 2015
    Ordered multiple pairs of hiking boots/shoes (like 7) to try and this one was without a doubt the winner! Feels sturdy yet comfortable right out of the box. I typically wear a size 9, but opted to keep the 9.5 because hiking footwear is like running footwear and should have room for toes to move and feet to swell. The ankle area looks loose but feels supportive. I think this may be because they are a lower ankle boot with only one hook, instead of the normal two. I have a normal width foot and have not noticed any pinch sites. I am still in the break in process for an upcoming Grand Canyon backpacking trip but don't anticipate any problems. One of the boots had a defect that was noticeable in the footbed and STP sent a new pair by 2 day air! Great customer service!
  • Reviewed by Mountain Hiker from New Hampshire on Wednesday, July 15, 2015
    My last hiking boots lasted so long that I hesitated to get a new pair but it was love at first sight when I first saw these.

    It is true what it says on the web site, a half size smaller than what you usually wear will fit perfectly.

    They are comfortable and light enough to not cause fatigue. They were slightly tight in the area at the bottom of the laces by the ball of my foot and I squatted down and bounced on my bent toes a couple times and that took care of that. There is plenty of room now in the front and the heel fits snugly enough so as not to rub.

    I thought they would be dark gray but, unless I'm color blind (which I don't think I am) they are a lovely dark brown. I really like the way they look with hiking sox and my shorts,, cute!

    I was not at all disappointed with this purchase! Good Luck,, Happy Hiking!
  • Reviewed by TD from Florida on Saturday, July 11, 2015
    Bought these for my 18yr old daughter who is going to college in Indiana. True to size. Very comfortable. Yet to be tested in the cold b/c we live in FL. Are better looking than the picture shows.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jh hiker from Jackson wy on Friday, July 3, 2015
    If you happen to be a guy with feet on the narrow side no you hike a lot, well then these are the she's for you. Unassuming in looks, super great with regard to comfort and support.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Carla from California on Sunday, June 28, 2015
    I wore these shoes on a ten miles, relatively easy, coastal day hike the first day I got them. Very comfortable and versatile.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by A climber from Idaho from McCall, Idaho on Tuesday, June 23, 2015
    I expect these boots to last awhile. They are replacing my La Sportiva Trangos, which have served me well but don't last too many seasons of central Idaho mountain scree. I usually wear a men's US size 10 shoe, or a Euro 44. These 44.5 boots fit great right from the start, and the locking lacing system is well thought out to fine tune heal hold down while keeping my high instep happy. The stock insoles are light and supportive, a big surprise. I use these on snow and rock, and they fit my BD Contact semi-auto crampons quite well. So why not 5 stars? Well, compared to the Trangos, they are heavy. About 6 ounces more per boot. That's like carrying 6 more pounds in your pack, per US Army research. Also, the white leather (nagahide, whatever) ankle section and upper tongue don't allow the easy articulation side to side or forward that my Trangos did. That's the performance compromise you are choosing for the durability of these boots. The waterproofness, stiffness, and great climbing rubber make these boots a great choice for peak baggers, summer use on NW volcanos, and they edge and smear well on mid 5th class alpine routes. Not stiff enough for front pointing on ice, not light enough to drag up alpine climbs if you need to use rock shoes on the hard pitches. They definitely have their place though.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Camp and hiking lady from WA on Wednesday, June 17, 2015
    These fit true to size but run narrow. With hiking socks on I measure 9.5. I ordered the 9.5 and they fit. Normally I size up but it wasn't necessary for this boot. When I first put my feet in them they were comfortable. Upon standing and walking around the house, I noticed a couple of pressure points on my right foot near the pinky toe. I have a normal width and these boots fit snug in the toe box. Not enough room to allow for foot swelling while hiking. If you have narrow feet you'll love these boots. Well made and fit nicely everywhere else except not enough room for the toes. I really liked how nicely my heal fit and how comfortable the ankle support was. Sent them back because of the narrow toe box.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Inga from AZ on Wednesday, June 17, 2015
    These Lowa boots are so well made and comfortable there is no break-in time. Expect them to last a long, long time. They are usually made in Slovakia or Italy so they are fine quality, but every now and then Lowa sneaks one in from China. Don't know about their quality or comfort because I won't order them??
  • Reviewed by RH from IL on Friday, June 12, 2015
    I normally wear a 9.5 shoe and these are way too big in a 9.5. I'm reordering an 8.5. Sole seems stable to prevent pronation, which is a requirement for me.
  • Reviewed by Bonnie Pilates from Arizona on Wednesday, June 10, 2015
    This is one fabulous boot! I hike over 25 miles weekly which means my boots wear out rather quickly. I hike in de-composed granite and some rocky terrain and mostly under very dry conditions so I need a good, "sticky" sole as well as a flexible one. This boot has excellent traction along with a flexible footbed. My favorite boot was Nellie Bly from Patagonia which got discontinued. This boot fits true to size. I wear size 10 and it fits, maybe a tiny bit large, but on the narrow side so I can wear heavier hiking socks. I also love the lacing system as I can easily insert my boot, then tighten the laces to as tight as I need.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by pgod from Melbourne, Australia on Monday, June 8, 2015
    These are very comfortable shoes right out of the box but you do need to go up a size as they run a little small.
    Feel great on and look very well made, a great buy!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sunny Day from Northern California on Wednesday, June 3, 2015
    These shoes were comfy right out of the box. They're wide enough for my wider than average feet, light, have arch support, and a grippy sole.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by jbaby from Florida on Thursday, May 21, 2015
    when i tried these shoes on they were to small. I wear a size 12 but these were a size 13. So i put them up against my size 12 and they looks to be smaller than my size 12 so i ordered a 14 and hope that does the trick.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by bushelboy from Pennsylvania on Wednesday, May 20, 2015
    I have the LOWA Toro shoes in the same size 12 and they fit perfectly. These are very small.
    They also seem to have a thin footbed lining.
    I have worn many LOWA shoes in the past and these just do not feel like LOWA's.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by sarge from new york on Tuesday, May 19, 2015
    A very well made boot, need to order size of size and 1/2 larger to get correct fit. I had to return them because of the flat heel, which is my fault and I should have looked at the pictures more carefully. Joe
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 61 »
  • 1-30 of 1820 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #
;