Lowe Alpine Alpine Ascent Lite Soft Shell Pants (For Men)

Closeouts. Designed with technical mountaineering in mind, Alpine Ascent Lite pants from Lowe Alpine are lightweight, yet heavy-duty with quick-drying, moisture-wicking Stormweave fabric, and abrasion-resistant panels at the knees, seat and ankles for durability.

Average Rating based on 43 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 5 »
  • 1-10 of 43 reviews
  • Reviewed by lazyorc from Portland on Tuesday, February 04, 2014
    comfortable, high Quality,it's great pants.
  • Reviewed by Vincent from China on Monday, October 28, 2013
    Fit size, ift price,fit quality. I love it.
  • Reviewed by lim from Colorado on Thursday, April 25, 2013
    good~~~~
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by kento from Omaha, NE on Thursday, January 31, 2013
    Pros: good pants for comfort. I recently wore them on a long drive, then a run and have slept in them too. Comfy and they dry super fast. Cons: The high waist makes then tend to sag and the zipper on the fly was installed with the zipper-pull down, so it kind of dangs there in an awkward location.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by nuevozealand from Greenville, SC on Wednesday, November 28, 2012
    Multiple materials used: abrasion resistant in high activity areas, thinner material on back of thighs, regular material everywhere else. Good slim fit all around although not too crazy about an internal drawstring waist - these aren't pajamas! Overall, nice fit, very functional, good utility and high quality.
  • Reviewed by climbnride from Waterloo, ON on Friday, October 19, 2012
    These are technical climbing and mountaineering pants, not hiking, travel or casual pants. The zipper is that way to allow convenient use when wearing a climbing harness. The drawstring waistband is to avoid buttons and snaps that would dig into you while in a hanging belay. The fabric choice allows unrestricted movement, light weight, avoids heat buildup, while protecting against wear at contact points with the rock. These are well-designed, quality pants, but if you aren't going to climb in them, there are other choices that may suit you better.
    • Best Uses: Mountaineering, Rock climbing
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Unrestricted Movement
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bitburger from Seattle-ish WA on Wednesday, July 11, 2012
    I was expecting a consistent soft shell material that could be used for winter rain cover when doing sports or commuting by bike in the PNW.

    These just fit oddly on me. They are actually two different materials and the drape (fit) just didn't work for me.
    The waist was a true fit mnd they were slightly long but that wasn't the issue. They hung poorly and were tight around my calves.

    Sometimes, you actually have to try things on:-)
    I'm returning them.
    • Cons: Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Length: Feels too long
    • Pros: Washes Well, Wrinkle-Free
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Alpine lover from Salmon Id on Saturday, June 09, 2012
    Know what you are getting...These are not traditional hiking pants. The reinforcements in the seat, knees, ankle area is a tightly woven typical synthetic outdoor pant. The stretch panel area is more like a very light weight and stretchy ladies yoga t-shirt for lack of a better comparison. Very soft, comfy and breathable. This thinner material is covered in higher wear areas by the abrasion resistant material in the seat, knees and inner ankles. Even this fabric has some stretch. On the bottom of the knee reinforcement the seam is not stitched down across the upper shin. You can put your hand up to the top seem under the heavier material between the two. At first I thought this was annoying and silly but the added stretch for high flex climbing is actually functionally beneficial. These are not wear around after activity pants for town. The up to open zipper is great under a harness but means when zipped (down) the metal zipper pull looks like a little dangling thing a ma jig. No sleeve, flap, or nook to hide it. If you buy this stuff for its correct use you'll like these pants. If you buy it to look the part around town try something else. There is not a lot of warmth provided by the light stretch panel areas and wind goes right through it. If you want specific functionality you'll like them as much as I do. Great for active climbs or scrambles in warmer environs. The soft stretchy material makes them comfy to climb in you bag at the end of a day. I am a little leery about the durability of the thin stretch material but after 2 outings the strategic placement of the reinforcing fabric is working.
    • Cons: Pucker stitched waist, Shoelace draw string wais
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: 4 way stretch everywhere, Ankle zips, Breathable, Comfortable, High Quality, Zip up to open fly
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tough Mudder from Boston, MA on Wednesday, June 06, 2012
    Fits well. Haven't taken for test run yet. Can't stand traditional running tights so these work better. Not restrictive, will have good use for all cold weather outgings, not just running which I got them for. Finally found a daily deal from STP that worked for me!
    • Best Uses: Cold weather running
    • Cons: Weird Zipper
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, High Quality
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by UPFinn from Negaunee, MI on Saturday, March 03, 2012
    I use them for downhill skiing, even though the ankle insets aren't stretchy enough to fit easily over boots, and they're pretty light weight. Thankfully, they are available in short length, so I don't have to have them altered, as with everything else I've owned or tried.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Cons: Sits Too High Above Waist
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, High Quality
    • Waist: Feels too big
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 5 »
  • 1-10 of 43 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.