Customer Reviews Of:
Lowe Alpine Mountain Marathon 32 Backpack

Closeouts. A smart choice for fast-paced treks or trail runs, the Lowe Alpine Mountain Marathon 32 backpack offers light weight, tough materials and stability.

  • Top-loading with welded zip
  • Large, stretchy stash compartment for quick access
  • Zip top pocket
  • Anatomic, padded and adjustable harness and waistbelt
  • Sternum strap
  • Four water bottle pockets, including two on the shoulder straps
  • Zip pockets on the waistbelt
  • Reflective accents for low-light visibility
  • Hydration compatible (bladder not included)
  • Torso length: 18" fixed
  • Waistbelt: 53"
  • Dimensions (HxWxD): 19x11-½x6-½"
  • Capacity: 1900 cu.in.
  • Weight: 1 lb. 14 oz.
  • Material: 210 denier nylon
  • Made in China
  • Visit our Backpack Guide

Average Rating based on 9 reviews 3.888888 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Reviewed by silvia from barcelona, spain on Tuesday, November 27, 2012
    I wanted a waterproof backpack to day hike in mountain or cities so I can put a bit of food, my camera and my small laptop inside.
    This backpack has the prefect materials and look (even zips!) to be waterproof, but it is only water resistant which means it is not waterproof. My gear was in danger at all moments. Why to make a backpack with the right material to be waterprooff and waste those materials (and our money) doing a fake waterproof looking backpack.
    And I cannot use a rain protection because it slips down, this backpack has this design in the top that do not allow you so.
    Plus it gets dirty easy and it not easy to clean because I am afraid I will damage the surface.
    Plus not enough pockets to put separate things..
    Plus has not main handle.

    So I continue to the search of a comfy and light day pack that is waterproof or has a rainprotection attatched.

    I would only recommend this packpack to people in cities in sunny days. It is resistant to load more than 10 kilos regularly, that is the only good point.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Digigal from SF Bay Area on Tuesday, July 19, 2011
    We travel extensively to remote places photographing wildlife and I've been looking for an ultra lightweight backpack that I can load with a variety of things depending on the situation--padded, wrapped lenses and extra camera bodies while out in the field to computer, NookColor, phone etc when in the cities. I love the fact that the pockets are in the waist belt where you can reach your ID, tickets, money etc without having to take off the backpack! This backpack has been the perfect solution for me and has performed well on a couple of "shake down" trips.
    • Best Uses: Extended Hikes, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good Suspension, Highly Adjustable, Large Capacity, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Travel girl from Western Michigan on Saturday, July 9, 2011
    This pack is lightweight and comfortable. Unfortunately it didn't have enough pockets to organize items for travel. It would be great pack for day hikes for one person's stuff.
    • Cons: Not enough compartments
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good Suspension, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by retired doc from Boston, MA on Tuesday, June 21, 2011
    I am a day hiker in the White Mountains of New England. This is the best pack pack I have used.
    • Best Uses: Day Hikes, Light Loads
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good Padding, Good Suspension, Highly Adjustable, Large Capacity, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by terri from idaho on Monday, June 20, 2011
    it looks good. i am excited to try it out
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Good Padding, Good Suspension
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by A new me from San Jose, CA on Friday, June 17, 2011
    I looked at over 150 bags, and went to two major sporting goods stores. I wanted a bag that would: give me access to my wallet, cell phone, glasses and any 'important' misc. items without having to remove the backpack, risk creating back spasms through crazy contortions, or ask my partner to retrieve for me. This does that. Easy access! It also offers good padding for my MacBook Air laptop without bulk. This works for a day hike. But remember to check your backpack's sizing requirements through STP's Backpack Buying Guide to confirm this item is the right size for you: it's perfect for shorties (me). I gave it 4 stars vs. 5 because 5 stars would have better compartmentalization in the main pouch vs. their one deep pocket and the separate compartment for your laptop.
    • Best Uses: Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
    • Pros: Good Padding, Good Suspension, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ttaabbee from TN on Monday, May 23, 2011
    Too Big for short races but it was perfect for the 28hr race I did.

    I used it right out of the box and never had any problems with it - no rub points, nothing broke despite beating it up.

    I will say it was a cool weekend so I don't know how well it breaths on the back...
    • Best Uses: Day Hikes, Light Loads
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good Padding, Highly Adjustable, Large Capacity, Lightweight
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Born in Oregon from Oregon on Monday, May 16, 2011
    Was not quite what I needed. Needed place to secure trekking poles was main reason I returned.
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
    • Pros: Good Suspension
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by PJR from Woodbridge, NJ on Wednesday, May 4, 2011
    I think I purchased the last bag so this review will never see the light of day. Great bag, fits my torso like a glove which is just serendipitous. Nicely made and the weld zipper is good. No complaints, would get anothe like it for my son, but they seem to be hard to find.
    • Best Uses: Day Hikes, Light Loads, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good Suspension, Large Capacity, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Sort by: