Lowe Alpine Outer Limits Technical Mountaineering Pants - Insulated (For Men)

Closeouts. Lowe Alpine's insulated, technical mountaineering Outer Limits pants are for multi-day expeditions and winter alpine climbing, and have Polarguard 3D® insulation.

Average Rating based on 9 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-9 of 9 reviews
  • Reviewed by istahota from SoCal on Monday, October 25, 2010
    Took these trousers for a test drive this past weekend. Cold, windy, wet weather galore in the San Jacinto Wilderness. They are really warm. Temps in the 30s / 40s were no match for these--kept me toasty. I even slept in them inside my sleeping bag just to test. Never slept warmer in my life outdoors. Really like the full-length side zips--very leery of the snaps on the sides, front and bottom of each leg--never have had good luck with snaps and saw that someone else has mentioned them failing (no surprise). Now for the profoundly negative: if you want to "do" anything in these pants you'll need suspenders. They are made of slippery nylon and while they have gripper/sticky material around the cuffs at your ankle, there is none around the waist. They began slipping down pretty much as soon as I donned them. Next, the inseam is advertised as 30". I measured the inseam on the pair they sent me and it is 33 1/2". SO: I wound up dragging them around and stepping on them the entire time I had them on and wasn't sitting down. I would not pay full price for these under any circumstances. I would return them, but they have no others and the price was unbeatable. I will hafta figure out a way to 'cuff' them and rig some sort of suspenders for these to be really useful.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Camping
    • Cons: Bulky, Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Length: Feels too long
    • Pros: Comfortable, High-Quality Material and Stitching, Packable
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Salmonoid from Lancaster,PA on Saturday, July 31, 2010
    I bought these pants to use as winter backpacking and snowshoeing pants. When I received them, I discovered the snap at the waist had separated from the fabric. I returned them and when I received the second pair and tried them on, the exact same thing happened. Considering they are billed "Technical Mountaineering Pants", and the snap fell off in my living room, there is no way I would trust the construction to hold up in a mountaineering scenario. Good design, but construction defects make these a dud for me.
    • Cons: Poor Material or Construction
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Lightweight, Packable
    • Waist: Feels true to size
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by stanburyana from JAPAN on Thursday, May 27, 2010
    Very nice warm pants. By the way this is not Polarguard 3D® insulation but Primaloft. That's O.K. Primaloft is great insulation.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Cold Weather, Hiking
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Packable
    • Waist: Feels true to size
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by John from San Jose, CA on Tuesday, March 2, 2010
    These pants seem to be of good quality. The sizing however is rediculous. I am about 5'9" to
    5'10" and 160 pounds. I am in reasonably good shape and have a medium build. I have about a 34"+ waist, so I bought a medium. I have a hard time finding pants I don't have to hem, so I was hoping these would be perfect. I usually wear a 30" inseam (28" - 30" works best). The waist was about right (slightly to big) but the pants are too long, and the cut is very baggy. They would fit Earl Campbell in the thighs. So back they went, unfortunately.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Camping, Hiking
    • Cons: Bulky, Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Length: Feels too long
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, High-Quality Material and Stitching, Lightweight, Packable
    • Waist: Feels too big
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by tahoedawg from south lake tahoe ca on Friday, February 5, 2010
    beautifully made pants that are very warm but not restrictive- can be worn alone or under a shell
    • Best Uses: Camping, Snowshoeing and skiing
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, High-Quality Material and Stitching, Lightweight
    • Waist: Feels true to size
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by spongebut icypants from north Minnesota on Thursday, January 21, 2010
    Great for climbing and all icy outdoors, Very comfortable
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Camping, Hiking
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, High-Quality Material and Stitching, Lightweight, Packable
    • Waist: Feels true to size
  • Reviewed by Reviewer from Canada on Wednesday, January 20, 2010
    These are ideal for throwing on during a rest, or when not active in-camp. Material is thin and not suitable for bush-wacking or clamouring over rocks, but because of this, they pack small and weigh very little.[...]30" inseam might not be correct. Feels more like 32".Well constructed. great price on sale. very happy with the purchase.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Packable
    • Waist: Feels true to size
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by jambenlam from tiger, oklahoma on Tuesday, January 19, 2010
    I have numerous Lowe Alpine products. Most, if not all, have served me very well.

    Pants were purchased for cold weather hiking/walking and they have performed flawlessly. I expect no less from LA.

    Expect to use pants in cold/extreme weather; not fair weather pants-insulated very well my friends
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Hiking
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, High-Quality Material and Stitching, Lightweight
    • Waist: Feels true to size
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sparky from Bakersfield, Ca. on Wednesday, November 12, 2008
    These are a killer deal. A great Minimalist
    sleepgear/bivy pant when going without a
    sleeping bag - use with a hooded synth
    jacket and bivy sack for a sleep system
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Cold Weather, Mountaineering
    • Cons: None
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, High-Quality Material and Stitching, Lightweight, Packable
    • Waist: Feels true to size
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-9 of 9 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.