Lowe Alpine Paradigm Pants - Soft Shell (For Men)

Closeouts. Lowe Alpine Paradigm pants set a new standard for athletic apparel. The stretchy soft shell is made with durable, lightweight, moisture-wicking and easy-to-pack Stormweave fabric, making them perfect for backcountry travel.

Average Rating based on 21 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 21 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by franky from alaska on Wednesday, February 06, 2013
    casual wear
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Luke on Bike from Minneapolis, MN on Monday, December 31, 2012
    These pants fit great and are basically just what I was expecting. To find technical pants that fit a skinny guy well at this price is great. Minus one star only because these are my first soft shell pants and I can't say they are "perfect" without first trying others.

    I am 6 feet 0 inches tall, weigh 165 lbs and have a slighly short torso and long legs for a male. I'm not sure how clothing manufacturers determine sizing: my true waist measures 33-34 inches and yet all the pants that fit me best are size 31 waist. I'm no tailor, but I've made a living measuring things so I could never understand that discrepency. For length, my crotch to floor inseam is 34" exactly and 33" pants would be perfect (though no one manufactures them, so I typically have 32L and sometimes 34). Ordered these in XS Long given that many have said they run big and it was the only size left. My ideal size would probably be small since these are a bit snug, but with the elastic waist and material they are still comfortable, even with expedition weight base layer under. So you tell me how a guy with a 33+" waist fits into a pair of pants marked 27-28". That's why I marked them "feels too big." Not complaining, though, 'cause they fit!

    I got these as my do-it-all active pant: mostly for cool to cold weather biking, some climbing, hiking and camping. They fit almost like tights and will stay out of the way, but don't look like tights. They seem appropriately warm for intended uses but with aforementioned baselayer I wore them on a bike ride in 8 deg F and was just fine. They shed snow quite well and moisture beads up when new, we'll see how long that lasts.

    Great value for a great active pant for guys of below average girth.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dunamis from Tasmania Australia on Tuesday, June 12, 2012
    I test drove these pants last weekend in 5 degC conditions in the highlands of Tasmania and they were perfect. I bought them to cut out wind and they did the job fantastically. I'm 6'2" and 165lb and a 32" waist and based on other's reviews I bought the small/long and they were a pretty good fit. The ankle's a fairly narrow, but if wearing bulky boots, one can wear them unzipped.
    In all honesty, I wish I'd bought two, because I suspect I'll be living in these this winter.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Camping, Fishing, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Cuts wind, Great insulation, High-Quality Material and Stitching, Lightweight, Packable
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by broke down old climber from black hills sd on Friday, June 01, 2012
    From climbing to drinking cheap beer on the deck, to my own version of dress pants; these pants work great for all of it for me.
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, High-Quality Material and Stitching, Lightweight
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lyn from Mancos CO on Friday, March 02, 2012
    I took a chance on the xs mens regular length and found it to be just right for me although it's a bit long,(I'm 5' 6") I don't care, I've worn these pants skiing in blizzards at 10,000 feet and loved every moment. They are indeed, as other reviewers have said, comfy enough to wear all the time. I LOVE left-hand pocket as I am left-handed and this is the first piece of clothing I've ever had that was made with me in mind. Love these pants.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Casual Wear, Hiking, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Length: Feels too long
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, High-Quality Material and Stitching, Lightweight, Packable
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BostonMountain from NW Arkansas on Saturday, December 31, 2011
    These are very comfortable, and "neat looking" pants. I use them for just about anything. Especially like the elastic at the back of the waist. A little "wanting" for pockets - would be nice to have a second cargo pocket ( there's one on the left thigh, but not the right ). They seem to run a little large - normally get medium, but small is a perfect fit ( knew that when I ordered them ). If they go on "super sale" again, I'll get another pair. Would be nice to have a color other than black, though.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Hiking, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, High-Quality Material and Stitching
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Backcountry gal from Breckenridge, CO on Tuesday, December 27, 2011
    I am a woman who normally wears size 6 ladies pants. It is often hard for me to find pants that are long enough, so I ordered these in a men's extra small. I love these pants! They are long enough for my 31.5" inseam - I got a "regular" length. They are stretchy and comfortable to hike in! And although they are snug and flattering, I am able to get some pretty heftly long johns on underneath. The waist stays up pretty well so far as it has a lot of elastic. Also, the zip-up side pockets are designed better than most - I can actually get in and out of them with my backpack hip belt on. Not sure how well they'd fit a man as the thighs are fairly snug on me! The only improvement to suggest is another thigh pocket.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Camping, Hiking, Travel
    • Cons: Not Enough Pockets or Features
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, High-Quality Material and Stitching, Lightweight
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by _ from _ on Sunday, December 04, 2011
    comfortable but not flattering
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Camping, Hiking
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Packable
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mango Man from New River Gorge, WV on Saturday, December 03, 2011
    Great looks and comfort; good insulating layer for cool weather, nice stretch and abrasion resistence, I purchased also the Alpine version with internal snow cuffs, belt loops and suspender attachments for ice climbing and back country skiing
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Camping, Casual Wear, Hiking
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, High-Quality Material and Stitching, Lightweight
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Runningfool from Bozeman, MT on Wednesday, November 30, 2011
    I bought these for backcountry skiing and they are so comfortable I wear themaround the house. The waist was too big for the length, at least for me.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Camping, Skiing
    • Cons: Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, High-Quality Material and Stitching, Lightweight
    • Waist: Feels too big
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 21 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.