Lowe Alpine Sierra Soft Shell Pants (For Men)

Closeouts. Lowe Alpine's Sierra soft shell pants are made with Stormweave stretch nylon, a tough fabric that wicks moisture and dries quickly, making them a winter backcountry enthusiast's delight.

Average Rating based on 24 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 24 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Henry from Alhambra, CA on Wednesday, February 06, 2013
    The size was not properly sized. It's should be size 27 to 28 waist, but it was size 30.5 waist. Considering for exchange with difference style
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Luke on Bike from Minneapolis, MN on Monday, December 31, 2012
    I was looking for a casual-fitting softshell pant for multiple-uses. I am 6 feet 0 inches tall, weigh 165 lbs and have slightly long legs and short torso so long length is a must. My perfect pant size is 31W x 33L.

    A size Small Long in this pant fits me very well. So nice to have technical pants that reach my ankles. They seem to be designed as xc skiing pants. They are "straight leg" but the cuff zip and gusset causes the sides of the calfs to flare out unless stretched over boots, and the thighs fit me a little snug, which excludes them from the "casual-fitting" category. I am still keeping them, however, because they fit very well and will be great for many active winter uses.

    Several reviewers have commented that these have an odd fit, that they have a weird low crotch and are too long. May I suggest that they are wearing them too low and that these actually have a slightly higher waist but normal crotch and appropriate length? In my opinion the higher waist is great since harness or hip belt doesn't hit right at the pants belt line and helps to keep drafts out and shirts tucked.

    While I wasn't looking specifically for a pant with internal gaiters, great that these have them (especially now that I know I won't be wearing them "casually"). It's minimalistic, however, as there is no adjustment or attachment. I may try to add some grommets and an elastic heel strap and maybe something to snug it around my boots.

    Materials is sturdy, not as thick/heavyweight as I was hoping, but close enough. Worn for snow-tromping with heavyweight thermals beneath in 0 deg F and could feel the cold on my legs but stayed warm while active. Beads moisture and sheds snow (hopefully that's a long-lasting feature).
  • Reviewed by Mango Man from New River Gorge, WV on Monday, December 05, 2011
    I puchased a small, long in the Lowe Paradigm pants and the fit was great as well as the overall quality. I wanted a pair with internal gaiters for ice climbing and skiing so ordered the Lowe Alpine version in small, long as well. Surprisingly the Small, long inseam in the Alpine pants are nearly 34" long versus 32" for the Paradigm pants. Don't know if this is quality control issue or otherwise but be advised.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Camping, Hiking
    • Cons: Poor Fit, Ridiculously long
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Length: Feels too long
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, High-Quality Material and Stitching, Lightweight, Packable
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by bubun from houston on Monday, October 10, 2011
    in light rain, this pant stays dry, and warm in windy condition. wish i can find a shorter inseam. this thing is not the kind you can bring to alteration to get shorten
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, High-Quality Material and Stitching, Lightweight, Packable
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Frye from Asheville, NC on Thursday, October 06, 2011
    Great fit. I'm tall and got a tall length. If your tall and skinny it's hard to find outdoor pants, but these work. The butt area is tight but good for hiking purposes. Best use, cold weather outdoor wear.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Camping, Hiking
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, High-Quality Material and Stitching, Lightweight
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by dreamAlaska from Memphis TN on Saturday, September 17, 2011
    To chose the right size, I read all the review and decide the size M/Short. I am 5'10'' and 150 pound and my normal pant size is 31/32.After try it,I fell it is too short and Regular should be the right chice.The M size seems fine, but S may be better if you like your softshell pant kind of tight. It is a nice pant overall. If you really want one, you may order two different size same time and keep the right after trying. Good luck!
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Hiking
    • Cons: Tricky size selection
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: High-Quality Material and Stitching
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Zee missile from maryland on Thursday, September 08, 2011
    I will use these pants to teach and for free skiing.
    • Describe Yourself: Professional/Guide
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, High-Quality Material and Stitching, Lightweight, Packable
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rocko from Alaska on Tuesday, August 16, 2011
    Purchased for year round hiking; as a 3-season top layer, and for under hardshell pants in rain and winter conditions. Material would work for intended uses but fit was...unique..
    Waist sizing is about right, but they're relatively short for 'longs'. Thigh fit was snug (although material stretches quite well) and wide leg bottoms gave them a downhill ski-pant feel. Internal gaiter does not separate, making the lower leg zippers rather pointless.
    • Best Uses: Unknown
    • Cons: Pointless leg zippers, Tight thighs, Wide bottoms
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Length: Feels too short
    • Pros: Lightweight, Packable
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rhine23 from Indianapolis,IN on Wednesday, August 10, 2011
    I just got them. Going to Colorado in Sept. for some hiking. Plan on doing some 14teeners and these will be nice to have.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Hiking
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, High-Quality Material and Stitching, Lightweight, Packable
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Stu the Sailor from New York, NY on Tuesday, August 09, 2011
    Was looking for more hiking style pants to take on Ocean Sailboat races with me. These were more ski pants, so not really what I was looking for.
    • Best Uses: Skiing snowboarding
    • Cons: Not hiking pants
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, High-Quality Material and Stitching, Lightweight, Packable
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 24 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.