Lowe Alpine Summit Gore-Tex® Pants - Waterproof (For Women)

Closeouts. Summit bound? Stay dry in Lowe Alpine’s Summit pants with a waterproof breathable Gore-Tex® membrane and moisture-wicking DryFlo® fabric.

Average Rating based on 14 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 14 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mountaineer from Norway on Saturday, September 8, 2012
    Great pants, too small though. No pockets and no front zipper. Feels really professional.
    • Best Uses: Camping, Hiking
    • Cons: Not Enough Pockets or Features, Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breathable, High-Quality Material and Stitching, Lightweight, Packable
    • Waist: Feels too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by cross1 from British Columbia on Thursday, August 23, 2012
    I am a small woman, normally a size 4, or Small. I ordered the size 38 and they fit.
    Would have been awesome of they had pockets, but not a one. I wonder why no pockets? Are there pockets in the mens equivalent? Weird, regardless. Otherwise can't wait to test them out.
    • Best Uses: Skiing
    • Cons: No pockets, Not Enough Pockets or Features
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, High-Quality Material and Stitching, Lightweight, Packable
    • Waist: Feels too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by Loosecakes from New Zealand on Wednesday, June 6, 2012
    The product itself is great and very good value for money. The only problem is with the sizing. Other reviews can be confusing also. It is important to review whether your talking UK, US or Euro sizing. I looked at Lowe Alpine's sizing chart. The size 38 is shown as UK 12 and US 10. The pants I received were labelled as such. However, I'm a size UK 10 and these pants are very snug! I can just about get away with them but I wouldn't want to put on any weight! I would say they are more like a UK 8, US 6 and Euro 34. Interestingly if you're American you will probably get the right size because Sierra Trading website states 38 is US 6. The problem for me was I asked during on line chat what size UK 10 was in US? I was told between US 4 and 6. I was still unconvinced so I asked them to double check. A product specialist confirmed the sizing was correct. I guess the problem lies in translation between countries. US 6 is right but they didn't have any idea what that was in UK. Size US 6 was right for the actual fitting - but not in relation to size 38 or their conversion to UK size. Then to confuse things completely - Lowe Alpine's own label seems to be wrong too.

    So if your English or from Europe - take two sizes off the Euro stated size and you'll end up with a good fit. If your American the US size on the website is correct but don't freak when your pants arrive stating two sizes bigger!
    • Best Uses: Skiing
    • Cons: Sizing inaccurate
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, High-Quality Material and Stitching, Lightweight, Packable, Value for money
    • Waist: Feels too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by royandronnie from Virginia Beach, VA on Thursday, February 16, 2012
    I bought these in anticipation of a 2014 climb of Kilimanjaro. I wanted Goretex, easy access with or without boots, and a certainty that they were waterproof, windproof, durable, and weighty enough to be my outerlayer in subfreezing temperatures. These pants, which are ski pants, answer all of those needs. The sizing is a little small, in addition to which the label is wildly inaccurate, claiming that they're a size 12, when in fact they are a snug size 8. They aren't the lightest weight thing I could have gotten, but I know they will do what I need them to.
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Cross Country, Downhill, Hiking, Snowboarding/Skiing
    • Cons: Runs a little small
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Winter Sports
    • Inseam: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Durable, Full length side zips, Stylish, Waterproof
    • Waist: Feels too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dry Bottom from Sierra Foothills, CA on Thursday, February 9, 2012
    Waist fits me, but too small for most. Length is great for my short 29 inseam, but too short for most. I normally wear a 4/6 pants (EB size 2)and most are too long. Reading reviews, I got the 40 (tag says US 12) -too big. Ordered 38 & 36. 38 (US 10) fit with room for thermals and movement, 36 tight. Returned 36, 40, kept 38. Fit is narrow in the waist, room in the seat, long waist, and short inseam - just like me! Nice quality, well made.
    • Best Uses: Snowboarding/Skiing
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Gear Usage: Winter Sports
    • Inseam: Feels too short
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Durable, Stylish, Waterproof
    • Waist: Feels too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by XXXXXXX from Belgrade, MT on Sunday, January 1, 2012
    I really am impressed with these ski pants after all the bad reviews. My only complaint is not even one pocket. They wear high right at the lower chest which is great since I really wanted bibs anyways. As far as size there is no such thing as true to size. Size 2 is too big on me in Eddie Bauer yet I wear an 8 in Patagonia and if I sew my own I am a size 10. I am 5'6" and 120 and the size 10 fit but were too short so I went with the size 12 which fit well but are a little baggy in the behind.
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Downhill
    • Cons: Not Enough Pockets
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Gear Usage: Winter Sports
    • Inseam: Feels too short
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Waterproof
    • Waist: Feels too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by tgooberbutt from oakland, ca on Thursday, December 1, 2011
    The fit will be tricky - the Euro sizes are true to very high-end European/Italian suit sizes. That is to say, I am a 38 in Dolce&Gabanna, Armani and Prada. And the 38 sized waist (fits high on the natural waist, covering maybe the lowest rib) fits perfectly. I am a size 2 or 4 in JCrew, Banana Republic...I'm a size 0 or 2 with the clothing from [@]. My natural waist is 26-27." My inseam is 29 for suit pants and jeans - and the length on the Euro38 is perfect for mountaineering boots. Usually with goretex shells I have inches of extra lumps down by the ankles...not here. Of note though - while the waist sits perfectly with just a wicking layer on, I would not be able to tuck in a thin fleece layer - I would have to wear that over the suspenders and over the pants. Also - I would have given this 5 stars, except the upper leg area (your quads) is looser...I don't have skinny thighs, but the quad area can seriously fit speed-skater thighs...so it's a bit baggy there. But on the plus side I guess that means there's lots of room for movement. It has full zips up both legs, so if you weren't wearing suspenders, you could technically take off the pants without going through the top. I'm 5'4" with a longer torso - and the suspenders felt a bit short. The way the velcro and elastic is placed on the waist (no buttons) means your waist/belly/hip area is smooth and free if you're wearing a harness. There are decent quality, removable gaiters. And I don't think is said it in the description, but the Goretex is the Pro-Shell series - it's really good material. Oh - one last thing about the fit - I have a straight figure - no real curves and the fit is good through the hips. If you are particularly curvy at the hips, you might find the cut a bit tight. Bottomline: if you get the fit right, this is an amazing deal.
    • Describe Yourself: Expert
    • Gear Usage: Backcountry, Mountaineering, Snowboarding, Winter Sports
    • Inseam: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Waterproof
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jana from Fairbanks, AK on Wednesday, September 7, 2011
    I bought the Columbia Sportswear Moonlight Mover Ski Pants (For Women)to compare with these Lowe Alpine pants. The Columbia pants are MUCH more comfortable and fit very well. They were even cheaper ([$] v. [$] and even repel water (compared to the Gore-Tex in these Lowe Alpine pants). I would not recommend these pants - they are very thin (not ideal for skiing) and only repel water. No warmth, or even much room to wear thermals underneath.
    • Cons: Not Warm, Poor Fit, Poor Padding
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Inseam: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Lightweight, Waterproof
    • Waist: Feels too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Trulyb from Asheville NC on Thursday, August 25, 2011
    This may well just be my quirky fit problem, but I went through trying on many, many Gore-Tex style pants, here and elsewhere, looking for a good fit in a quality woman's pant. Most of them were just huge, voluminous in the hips and thighs. I want a comfortable fit, one I can move in, but I don't want to look like a clown. I have a slim, athletic body, but my waist is not tiny. I was trying on size S, but generally finding them very snug in the waist and still much too full in the hips and thighs. These are just one of many pants that fit that way. On the other hand, if you have full hips and thighs, these may be just right for you. It may just be me. They seemed high quality, and the only issue for me was the fit.
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Hiking
    • Cons: Bulky, Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Winter Sports
    • Inseam: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Lightweight, Waterproof
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mom from Nashville,TN on Saturday, March 12, 2011
    very high waist, which I like, partly because I am long waist to crotch. Would have liked a couple of pockets. Had to buy a size larger. But they are very slimming, even when I added my thick fleece mid layer.
    • Best Uses: Downhill, Snowboarding/Skiing
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Gear Usage: Winter Sports
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Waterproof
    • Waist: Feels too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 14 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.