Customer Reviews Of:
Lowe Alpine Supernova Parka - 700 Fill Power Down (For Women)

Closeouts. Lowe Alpine's Supernova down parka isn’t quite as toasty as the surface of a real supernova, but you'll be close once you're wrapped in its 700 fill power down and windproof shell. Designed for the bone-chilling cold of high mountains, internal baffle construction maintains consistent warmth and prevents cold spots.

Average Rating based on 19 reviews 4.368421 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by PowdertothePeople from Fort Collins, CO on Wednesday, January 30, 2013
    I gave this jacket 4 stars rather than 5 due to the zipper being difficult to get started and the sturdiness of the zipper. This jacket is extremely warm and traps your body heat very effectively. The jacket is not actually goose down, but rather European Musckovy duck down. Musckovy duck down is similar to Eider duck down, which is considered one of the best down insulators on the market.

    Use:
    I bought this jacket for backcountry snowboarding trips and for snowshoeing. The jacket is made more for mountaineering due to the overzied fit that is great for putting on over your approach layers when you stop. Also, the pockets are perfectly placed since they are still accesible while wearing a pack with a hip belt or a harness.

    Fit:
    I bought a medium, but a small would have fit as well given my use for this jacket. The sleave length is perfect since most sleaves are not long enough for me-I'm 5'7" with long limbs. I generally wear a size 4 or 6, so I definitely fall in between the small/medium size gap.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Annie from wichita ks on Monday, February 27, 2012
    Easy to layer underneath. I will also put my raincoat over it to stay dry. Very warm. It's a new favorite.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Hiking and Camping, Skiing/Snowboarding
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Lightweight, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by likebeingwarm from Fort Collins, CO on Tuesday, February 7, 2012
    This is the warmest coat I've ever owned. I can stand around in 25 mph winds on days in the teens and 20s and not feel a thing. The only problem I have with the jacket is the zipper. Like other reviewers mentioned, it can be hard to get started. A heftier zipper would have made this jacket unbeatable.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Warm, Windproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Emily from New York on Friday, January 20, 2012
    The coat is clearly well made, but as other reviewers have said the pockets are just too high up. They should have added a second set for non-alpine use.
    • Best Uses: Climbing
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by cowpatty from boise Idaho on Monday, January 16, 2012
    I use it when going to Teton country for stayin alive!
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Extreme Conditions, Hiking and Camping, Wet Weather
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Stylish, Warm, Waterproof, Windproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by vendisch from Naples, FL on Friday, January 13, 2012
    I got this because I wanted to have a light weight packable and warm jacket. Although I haven't had a chance to try it out in the cold, I must say that it certainly is light weight and very well made. I really like the soft material that lines that wrist and collar. I read some comments about the pockets and I agree that they have an unusually long and high zipper but I want to add that they are very comfortable for putting your hands in to warm. It isn't the most flattering cut, slightly boxy, but this isn't the type of jacket you grab to go out and look sexy! This is your cold weather go to jacket that won't weigh you down. It is very compressable and comes with it's own stuff sack. I can't wait to try it out in some cold weather and also camping and backpacking!
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Hiking and Camping
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Warm, Windproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Annie from NoVA on Tuesday, January 10, 2012
    very well made and warm in windy cold weather. Features include abrasion-resistant fabric on the shoulders, soft fabric on the big collar which zips up to the ears, a warm hood, large openings on the outside pockets with zippers and touch closures, two inside pockets--one is mesh and big enough for a water bottle or camera, two-way zipper and touch closure on the front, easy-operate plastic tabs to close up the cuffs. Sleeves are long but tightening the cuffs took care of that. The best down jacket I've ever had and a real value from STP.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Cold Weather, Extreme Conditions
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too long
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mom from Maine on Tuesday, January 10, 2012
    Bought for my daughter, who is undertaking a long trek in Vermont. Zipper is tricky. True to size; wish I'd bought one size larger for more layers. She likes it, though and reports that it is very warm.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Hiking and Camping
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Patty/Nina from Minneapolis on Thursday, January 5, 2012
    I bought this for a freind who always wears a lot of layers, and for the first time in many years she has found that a lightweight down jacket will keep her warm! She does have a lot of trouble with attatching the zipper at first, I tried it as well and it does suck, it shoudl be a little more industrial giving this is a winter jacket.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Zipper SUCKS when attatch
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Stylish, Warm, Windproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Elle from Currarong NSW AUSTRALIA on Thursday, January 5, 2012
    Looking forward to skiing in Jackson Hole in 2 weeks...hopefully the jacket will be perfect
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Lightweight
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2