Mad Rock Fanatic 08 Trail Shoes - Suede (For Men and Women)

Closeouts. Mad Rock Fanatic 08 trail shoes offer backcountry fanatics performance they can trust for rugged protection that's stylish enough for activities back in town.

Average Rating based on 17 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 17 reviews
  • Reviewed by dave the climber from california on Thursday, April 04, 2013
    I bought these shoes for my son. They fit great and he has been loving them. He says that they feel great and should work well for the light hiking we are doing. I am well pleased with the quality so far and the value was excellent.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mhays from Evanston, IL on Wednesday, January 16, 2013
    I returned these, because the soles of these shoes are completely rigid. I have hiking boots with stiff soles, but they do flex a bit where my foot bends: these do NOT flex at all; like I said, it's like having wooden planks strapped to your feet.

    Is it possible these are intended for a different sport than hiking?
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by avid day hiker from Tucson, Az on Monday, July 23, 2012
    The sizes posted are way off---by 2 sizes. It would help enormously to have both the European and US sizes posted.
    I was looking for an approach shoe and this may work. Not sure yet.
    • Best Uses: Rocky/Unstable Terrain
    • Describe Yourself: Recreational Walker/Hiker
    • Pros: Good Arch Support, Great Traction, Stabilizes Foot
    • Sizing: Feels too large
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by Bob the burner from Minnesota on Thursday, March 01, 2012
    I needed a new pair of boots for the inbetween seasons. Mud, rain, snow, etc. I decided to go with these shoes and I am not disappointed! Don't buy them to run in or anything like that...they are too stiff for anything but walking but they are awesome for that.
    • Best Uses: All Weather Conditions, Everyday, Grass, Mixed Terrain, Muddy Conditions, Rocky/Unstable Terrain
    • Cons: Stiff
    • Describe Yourself: Competitive Athlete
    • Pros: Durable, Good Arch Support, Great in wet weather, Great Traction, Stabilizes Foot
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by David from San Diego on Friday, February 10, 2012
    For the price, this is a really good approach shoe. It is rugged, durable, and has good edging and friction properties. The break in period was longer than usual, but I attribute that to the beefy construction. For me, not so much a trail walking shoe as a peak bagging / approach shoe. Excels at edging and crack climbing, but a little too burly for technical smearing.
    • Best Uses: Mixed Terrain, Rocky/Unstable Terrain, Scrambling
    • Describe Yourself: Recreational Walker/Hiker, ROCK CLIMBER
    • Pros: Durable, Good Cushioning, Great Traction, Stabilizes Foot
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BL from GJ, CO on Thursday, January 26, 2012
    sizing needs work - recommendation in the product description for women to order 1.5 sizes smaller than their normal yielded a shoe that is a size too small for me.
    • Best Uses: Mixed Terrain
    • Describe Yourself: Trail Jogger
    • Pros: Durable
    • Sizing: Feels too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels too narrow
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Happier in 5.10 from Colorado on Friday, October 21, 2011
    I wore these shoes on one mellow hike with my dog and had to turn around after 15 minutes because my feet hurt so bad. I've never worn a more uncomfortable shoe in my life! For whatever reason these shoes just plain did not fit my feet. This is probably not the case for everyone, so I would recommend trying them on in a store before ordering online. Having to return them cost me $17 in shipping.
    • Cons: Poor Traction, Uncomfortable
    • Describe Yourself: Trail Jogger
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by na from ak on Wednesday, August 31, 2011
    rubber tread seems slick
    • Best Uses: Everyday
    • Cons: Poor Traction
    • Describe Yourself: Rarely Work Out
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ponglee from pok, ny on Sunday, June 05, 2011
    Casual wear when required to stand and walk for long periods of time.
    • Best Uses: Everyday, Mixed Terrain
    • Cons: Not Water Resistant
    • Describe Yourself: Trail Jogger
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Miss Blast from New York City on Friday, May 27, 2011
    This shoe has a terrific appearance, somewhat stylish but ... too small, too narrow, very uncomfortable to put on, much less, walk in for more than a minute! This standard width shoe is probably a B width although it wasn't advertised as such. Yes it's a durable, sturdy shoe but way too small and narrow, and uncomfortable.
    • Best Uses: For return to company
    • Cons: Poor Cushioning, Terrible fitting shoe, Uncomfortable
    • Describe Yourself: Gym Rat, Recreational Walker/Hiker, Stylishly casual
    • Pros: Durable
    • Sizing: Feels too small
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
    • Width: Feels too narrow
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 17 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.