Mad Rock Mugen Tech Climbing Shoes (For Men and Women)

Closeouts. With Mad Rock Mugen Tech climbing shoes, you'll get that extra push you need to take your climbs to the limit. High-performance features like a Science Friction super-sticky outsole and a Double Cross sling-shot rand gives you a limit-breaking edge.

  • Ideal for bouldering, sport, gym and competition
  • Synthetic upper with two rip-n-stick straps
  • Organic hemp lining is naturally durable, breathable and antimicrobial
  • Quality stitching in high-stressed and high-wear areas, double stitching for increased durability
  • Dual pull tabs
  • Padded cuffs for added long-wear comfort
  • EVA foam cushion in heel bed
  • 3D molded polypropylene mid-stiff midsole provides flexibility and durability
  • Concave sole allows climbers to use their feet like a second pair of hands
  • Molded heel cup for more contact area on the rock
  • An innovative reverse-hook tread under the heels stabilizes
  • Double Cross sling-shot rand crosses under the arch and forefoot to create a tensioned platform for better climbing
  • Science Friction 2.2 rubber outsole
  • Weight: 1 lb. 4 oz. pr.
  • Medium width
  • Made in China
  • Climbing and other related activities are inherently dangerous; anyone purchasing or using equipment for this purpose is personally responsible for getting proper instruction on its correct and safe use
  • Visit our Climbing Gear Guide

Average Rating based on 25 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 25 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by dihedral from Washington on Monday, May 12, 2014
    I have used these shoes a couple times in the gym and outdoors at a crag with basalt column cracks (Frenchman Coulee). The shoes performed well. The rubber on the top of of the shoes beyond the toes allowed for foot jamming without abrading laces or a leather top.

    The sizing runs small; I wear a street shoe size 10 and the size 10.5 rock shoe fits snugly.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Old Coach from Nebraska on Sunday, May 04, 2014
    Look like they are good shoes but could not get them on my feet as they appear to be about 2 sizes off. Ordered size 7.5, appears that it will fit a size 5.5 foot. Star rating might be higher or lower - just judging them as a 3 until they can get used by someone.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bakla from California on Sunday, April 06, 2014
    I own several pairs of climbing shoes of different brands (Evolv, La Sportiva, Boreal) and of different types (aggressive, semi-agressive, and all around). This Mugen is my first Mad Rock pair and I'm very happy with it! Unlike La Sportiva, which runs big and narrow, this fits true to size - I wear street 8.5 and wide width. I ordered 8.5 and it fits great. It's comfortable enough to walk around in yet snug for climbing with a good balance of stiffness and flexibility. The sole is sticky. Love the hemp lining ! My feet sweat a lot cuz I'm actually afraid of heights. These shoes help keep my feet drier and hence more odor resistant.

    This is now my 'go-to' pair :)
  • Reviewed by JVC from DE on Thursday, April 03, 2014
    Decent mid-level shoe for bouldering and sport climbing. I where a size 12 street shoe and settled on a 12.5. Shoe is tight but not so tight that the discomfort forces me to remove them immediately after a climb.
  • Reviewed by Dmitry from Vancouver, BC on Thursday, February 20, 2014
    Bought based on prior experience with older version of this shoe. The older version worked great for me and was the best value for the $. Hoping to see this version to the same.
    Size: i wear 10.5 street - settled on 9.5 in these, but tight. We'll see how much they would stretch.

  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by sm31 from OK on Sunday, April 10, 2011
    Since so much about the about the actual performance of climbing shoes is subjective, I'm only going to comment about fit. I like my shoes *tight*. I like them so tight that I have to pull them off between indoor routes. My foot is a bit wide, and I wear a size 9 street shoe with an average arch. After some research I bought the 8.5's on a coin toss since I did not have the opportunity to try some on beforehand, but the price was too good to pass up. I was concerned the shoes may not be tight enough for my tastes, but they were as tight as I could stand... perfect. It took about an hour of wear time (lots of on & off) before I could stand in them without pain for any length of time. So, even with the hemp liner and rubber toe, they still stretch a bit. The heel is the only thing I'm worried about. Haven't had a chance to do any heel hooks yet, but it feels like the heel could shift a bit no matter how tight I adjust the straps. Build quality is fantastic and it looks like the uppers will last quite awhile. So, for anyone who doesn't like to grimace as they put their shoes on... buy your street size. They will still be very uncomfortable, but after all... these aren't jogging shoes. ;-)
    • Best Uses: Indoor, Outdoor
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
    • Pros: Versatile
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by brian from TAIWAN on Monday, February 28, 2011
    Great first shoe.
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
    • Pros: Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Juice from Bloomington, IN on Sunday, February 13, 2011
    This shoe would've been great. I'm not sure if there were discrepancies in the manufacturing of the shoe. Many reviews stated that they were forced to use sizes which were larger than their street shoes. I averaged the reviews and went with roughly the size of my street shoes and I felt like I was wearing clown shoes. I had to return these shoes as they were of no use to me. Unfortunately, the smallest size offered was a half size larger than my normal climbing shoes. Caveat emptor, as expensive as rock shoes can be, there's still no substitute for trying them on before purchase!
    • Best Uses: Bouldering, Indoor
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
    • Pros: Lightweight, Rugged
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by Ferris from Tulsa, OK on Friday, February 11, 2011
    These have been some of the most durable climbing shoes I have owned without giving up too much sensitivity. Great for bouldering and single pitch sport climbs. I wouldn't wear these on more than two pitch climbs unless you go up a size.
    Love the velcro closure, never had a problem with it loosening during climbing.
    • Best Uses: Bouldering
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
    • Pros: Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Abselom from Athens, GA on Thursday, February 10, 2011
    I wear an 11 regular tennis shoe, and other reviews were saying this ran small, so I ordered 10.5 but it was way too small, sent it back for an exchange of 11.5, so hopefully that'll work out.
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 25 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.