• Madshus Reviews

  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 3
  • Reviewed by Seacay from WI on Wednesday, January 27, 2016
    I have been using these for over a year and am still very pleased with the performance. They are a thinner racing type ski which is why I bought them in the first place. I have better (higher priced) skis but I seem to grab these to use all of the time for training and skiing on tracked courses.
  • Reviewed by Catalina23! from Wisconsin on Friday, November 20, 2015
    Nice skis for a great price. Madshus is a good brand and I am excited to ski on these skis. NNN bindings slid right on to the bases already attached. Now if it would just snow!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Coloradoan from Colorado on Monday, April 20, 2015
    These are not top of the line race skis but were around $50 with a coupon. They are perfect for skiing on groomed trails. The 208s are good for experienced skiers in the 170 lb range and the 203s are a little softer.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Backpacker Wade from Northern Utah on Wednesday, April 8, 2015
    Length was correct but too narrow. I put them on and walked around in the house and pressure points that I new would cause lots of pain after only a mile. My foot is a normal "D" width. Other than that they seemed good. But I had to return them.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by budget-minded Dad from NY on Monday, January 26, 2015
    Please note that these skis are narrow and probably best for racing, in fact they say "racing" on the top surface of the ski, so the advertisement "touring skis" is misleading. Overall these are great skis for the beginning racer or person interested in a quick paced workout. Note that they do not come with shoe bindings so I purchases a NIS system that included both the ski mounting base and the shoe binding plate and screwed on the base plate myself. My 14 year-old son uses them for his HS x-country team and loves them. I plan to use them when he outgrows them… by next week if you know what I mean!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by bjwild from massachusetts on Sunday, November 23, 2014
    I would love to love these boots. They appeared well made and felt warm. But the second I put my (right) foot in and stood up I could tell something was wrong. I'm a fairly average 11.5 (in terms of width). But there was something in the shape of the footbed of the boot that literally rubbed me the wrong way. On the outside of my foot there was a sore spot. Had medium weight socks on. Walked around the room after tightening them up and realized right away it was not going away. Foot got so sore after five minutes I knew these boots wouldn't work. Had to return them and now searching for another BC nnn compatible boot.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DaveB from Vermont on Friday, November 14, 2014
    I'm new to Sierra Trading Post and these skis were my third purchase from them. The first pair came in and the camber was waayyy off between the two skis - like almost 3/8' off. I know they are not a lot of $$$ but the 32 year old skis they were intended to replace are still right on. So Sierra Trading was great and took them back for refund. I didn't do an exchange as these are made in China and the quality control seems typical (hit or miss). Then I got one of those teaser emails with a discount I couldn't resist so I ordered another pair.

    The next pair came in and the camber was off between them, but not terrible and for the price I wasn't going to complain. Then I noticed the bad spot in the P-tex (base) of one of the skis. It looked like someone tried to fill a hole with a black waxy substance and didn't do a very good job. So I decided after talking with a customer service rep that the third time would be a charm and initiated an exchange. That was three days ago and the replacements still haven't even shipped and now it's snowing out :(
  • Reviewed by Seacay from Wisconsin on Thursday, October 30, 2014
    Just received my new Intrasonic Classic Skis and of course haven't been able to try them. They clearly say "Race Series" on them and look to be far superior to what I used to complete my first Birkebeiner. If I were going to begin racing or just wanted more speed in tracked conditions, I would not hesitate to buy these. I bought them as training skis to save my higher end racing skis and they appear to be exactly what I wanted. A bonus to me was that they come without the NIS plate so I can install my Pilot Bindings directly to the ski.
  • Reviewed by Anonymous from Mt Hood OR on Sunday, October 26, 2014
    It is irresponsible to list Nordic Skis without including the manufacturers sizing chart. The buyer has no way to know what size ski is right for them without this information. Nordic classic skis are sized by the weight of the skier and not height. Sierra knows this but they routinely fail to provide size weight information unless asked and often they fail to respond. Nothing is worse than buying a classic ski that is improperly sized and most intermediate and below skiers will not even realize this is happening. The right size will glide well AND provide good grip whenskiing with proper technique. IF the skier is heavier than the recommended weight, the ski will be very slow and not glide well down hill. If the skier is to light for the ski, it may not grip at all and thus be extremely difficult to move forward on the ski. C'mon Sierra - do the RIGHT thing on every pair of Nordic skis you offer! I have purchased thousands of dollars worth of skis from you. (over twenty thousand in merchandise). This is by far the most frustrating issue I have with your company. Not only that, but on several occasions you even fail to respond to a direct question on this subject (including on this ski!) Usually you do answer but by the time you answer the ski is either sold or the special coupon discount offer on it has expired so I wait until you make another better offer. I think at a minimum you should allow your customer to buy the product at the price offered in the discount promotion in effect at the time the question was asked! That would be the right thing to do. How about it?
  • Reviewed by RobG from upstate NY on Saturday, October 25, 2014
    I have not had a chance to ski on these skis yet, and I am not disputing the previous review. However, I received the size that I ordered. And, they are not off-track touring skis. The skis are labeled "race series" right on them, and the Madshus web site includes the Intrasonic brand in their list of racing skis. I know that these are not high tech classic race skis. They are narrow and designed for in-track skiing, though. I would probably call then "fitness skis" rather than touring skis. They do have a structure ground into the surface that contacts the snow. The structure is not as well defined as that on a pair of Fisher SC Combi skis I recently purchased for my 10 year old son. The inclusion of the structure and the narrowness of the skis leads me to believe they will be just right for my purpose: recreational, relatively fast skiing in tracks.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 3
;