Mammut Extreme Hybrid Soft Shell Pants - Waterproof (For Men)

Closeouts. Extreme weather protection, durability and comfort make Mammut's Extreme Hybrid pants ideal for adventurers that don't let anything get in their way. DRYtech® 3L waterproof breathable fabric, durable Schoeller® reinforcements, leg vents with watertight zips and stretchy soft shell fabric get you to the next trailhead, peak or crag in comfort.

Average Rating based on 8 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-8 of 8 reviews
  • Reviewed by ortho6 from Upstate NU on Wednesday, November 6, 2013
    Good overall quality.
  • Reviewed by Brimstone10 from golden, CO on Monday, December 17, 2012
    I bought these for winter mountaineering, and back country skiing in Colorado. I'm normally a size 32 and I ordered a size 34 which fit perfect. This past weekend I was climbing near longs peak Colorado where it was 0 degrees with a -20 wind chill, and near whiteout conditions at times. These pants worked better than I expected at blocking the wind and kept me warm while wearing a fleece base layer. Others have commented about them being too heavy but it hasn't been an issue for me. They have taken brushes on rocks and branches without an issue but did rip when I caught them with a crampon (I caught the hard shell material and not the protective part around the ankles). I'm very particular about the outdoor clothing that I buy and do a lot of research before making purchases. With that said, I highly recommend these pants for anyone that spends time in the mountains or skiing!
  • Reviewed by Scott from Kirkland, WA on Sunday, November 18, 2012
    This is not as described on-line and is not a true softshell pant. Like all Mammut articles this is a great pant, but it isn't really a softshell. The butt, upper sides, knees, and lower front are a laminated hardshell (i.e., not a completely softshell garment with waterproof breathable laminate reinforcing knees and seat, but a part softshell sewn to a part hardshell). Although the "lining of soft shell fabric increases insulation with a smooth feel against the skin," the softshell fabric is non existent on the butt (straight laminate like 3 layer Gore-tex, upper sides, and knees -- all the "reinforced" areas). The pant is really only about 50% stretchy softshell fabric, and if I wanted to smooth laminate, I would just wear my gore-tex pants. I am returning these because they aren't really as described and not fit for my intended use.
  • Reviewed by stgsea from Spokane on Wednesday, October 31, 2012
    I got these for cold weather wear on my moto. The gaiters are great, as are the stretchy panels, high waist, braces and zips. Love the double zip in front; pit stops are easy.
    I have not had them out in the rain. If they work as well for that as they do for highway riding at 40 degrees F (over fleece) I will be delighted. I am looking forward to taking them out on the cross country ski trails as well.
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, High Quality
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Freeheelpete from New Zealand on Tuesday, September 18, 2012
    So far used on about five days in conditions ranging from warm to blizzard. They feel a bit draughty through the softshell panels compared with my old lined hardshell pants. This is with thick thermal fleece tights underneath. This is a little disappointing as I expected Schoeller fabric to be a little more awesome at windblocking. May have to consider softshell pants under these pants for extreme conditions. Having said that, once I had enough layers and a hardshell on my torso in the blizzard, I was not bothered by the draught sensation.

    But this is a positive review! Very stretchy and comfy. No sign they might be prone to wear or damage. The weighty section below the knees is clearly going to hold up well to ski edges and crampons. So, essentially, these pants are heavy where they need to be and light and stretchy elsewhere. The result is a flexible athletic pant that does a good job of weather protection while offering breathability and venting for warmer days. These pants are way more breathable than a full hardshell, which is something I like a lot! Never any sense of clamminess. Excellent comfort.

    I'm normally a 32 waist. Got these as a 34 due to velcro waist adjustment. Good call. With the braces they provide a good deal of comfort at standard fit. If I cinch them up with the velcro waist adjustment, they cinch down to 32ish and I could ditch the braces if I wanted.
    • Best Uses: Alpine Climbing, Skiing
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Flattering, High Quality
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by florida climber from clearwater, fl on Wednesday, May 2, 2012
    Cons:
    Carefull when selecting the size. Always longer than expected.
    I got this for mnt climbing but the bottom is too articulated and would be best for ski boots rather than mountaineering. Wide bottom makes it dangerous when ice climbing or just walking in crampoons. Also, when the bottom is "overdone", the shins sweat a lot.

    Pros:
    Great craftsmanship. Excellent quality etc.
    • Length: Feels too long
    • Pros: Comfortable, High Quality
    • Waist: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by Philip in AK from Coastal Alaska on Wednesday, November 23, 2011
    I'm 5' 11", 190 lbs and normally wear a size 34 (waist) pant. I ordered the 34 and 36 in this Mammut pant and prefer the 36. The 34 was a little snug in the waist, seat, and thighs. Not bad, but not quite enough room to put a mid-heavy weight layer underneath. Plus with the excellent suspenders, I did not feel the need to have a tight waist fit. The waist is somewhat adjustable via velcro tabs at the top of the size zips anyway, so going up one size makes sense.

    These are basically over-engineered hybrid soft and hardshell pants. There are a number of fabrics used in the pant ranging from quite stretchy panels on the thighs to waterproof hardshell on the seat and knees. All the seams and various materials add up to a somewhat heavy pant despite not having a separate lining. Once you have them on and are running around the mountains the weight is not noticeable however. A straight gore tex hardshell would be a bit lighter, but truly stretchy softshells are a pleasure to wear.

    The internal gaiters are nice since the cuff of the pant lacks a drawcord cinch. The fly is a weird combo of a hook, plastic snap (very weak), and velcro and zipper. The fly stays closed, but could use a much better snap. The size zips run from the waist down to the knee to form a drop seat (the suspenders only attach to the front panels of the pant, so you can drop the back without removing the suspenders). The size zip can be opened from the top or bottom, making for good thigh venting on warm climbs. The draft flap behind the thigh zips can get stuck in the zipper track. The ankle zippers run up to about mid-calf. The external zippers are a nice water resistant style and slide reasonably easily.

    I spent some time backcountry snowboarding in these and was very happy with the fit, feel, and performance. Very wind resistant, excellent flexibility, easy to access zips, and overall a good experience. It was a very windy day with temps in the mid 20s F, and I was fine with a mid-weight longjohn bottom under the pants. For a less active outing like area skiing, you will definitely want more layers underneath.
    • Best Uses: Backcountry skiing
    • Cons: a bit heavy
    • Pros: Good construction, Good pockets, nice cut, Side vent zips, Stretchy
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by jim from woodstock vt on Wednesday, September 21, 2011
    great
    • Best Uses: Skiing
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-8 of 8 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.