Mammut Kootenay 5 Hiking Boots - Leather (For Women)

Closeouts. With a full-grain leather upper and lining, Mammut Kootenay 5 hiking boots offer excellent comfort and durability. A supportive midsole and Vibram® rubber outsole equip you for the stiffest backpacking challenges.

Average Rating based on 41 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 5 »
  • 1-10 of 41 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mountain Girl from Northern CA mountains on Sunday, October 12, 2014
    .....my husband is the one who is rating and wearing them! I followed directions to get an 11 and 1/2 size for a woman's boot( I.e. 10) , and when I pulled one out of the box , my husband said, " that looks like it will fit me !" And he was right. There was an inch and a half beyond the toe of my larger foot!
    So, although the reviews have been mixed on the sizing......and I read every single review because I deliberated for weeks over this boot..... I have to agree that getting it to fit right is a challenge. Because it is so well made ,and my husband can wear them, they get high marks. But because I gave up on buying hiking boots from STP for myself and paid quite a bit more in a local shoe store, I rated it one star lower. I couldn't exchange them because the size that might have worked for me was sold out. Plus, it really does look like a man's boot.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by hiker from Glacier on Monday, July 28, 2014
    heavy and runs large in both length and width, but very well insulated and waterproof with waxing, even though they are not technically "waterproof." These boots stayed dry when goretex did not.
  • Reviewed by Sierra from Maine on Thursday, July 17, 2014
    As I generally like Mammut products and needed a new leather boot for backpacking, I had great hope for these boots. As noted by several reviewers, these boots have a roomy toe box and the fit was such that I did not think my toes would slide forward. The footbed was also comfortable for me. But the interior of the tongue had rough uncomfortable stitching that it was impossible to wear these comfortably. I was not convinced that breaking in was going to fix the problem, so, sadly, I had to return them.
  • Reviewed by JDawg from Montana on Monday, May 5, 2014
    Love these boots. They're very comfortable. Make sure you break them in good. They're pretty stiff. Did a several small hikes then did 8 miles. I tore up my ankles. Now that they're broken in, they're great.
  • Reviewed by Cory W. from Columbia, MD on Tuesday, March 18, 2014
    Let me start by saying that I am not a fan of stiff backpacking boots. I've done most of my treks with Salomon Trail Shoes. Recently, probably because 40 is just around the corner, I've felt like a need to protect my feet and ankles from fatigue and strain. I took a chance ordering these boots, knowing full well that the chance of me returning them would be about 90%. I've had great luck with Mammut gear and wanted to see how these might work out. Right out of the box, they fit like a glove. I used to work at REI in footwear and so not only do I know a ton about boots, I was yet to put a pair on that didn't annoy the [...] out of me. Even the top of the line and sworn by Asolo 520's felt like [...] on my feet. These boots, however are glorious. They secure your heal and softly wrap around your ankles (no bruised shins in store for me). The motion through the ankle is amazing. The toe box has ample room for wiggling toes and room to spread out with swelling during those warm summer treks. The only TBD about this boot is the volume versatility. I have an average insole and the leather is going to need to soften in order to get the lacing tighter by the toes. With the quality of the leather, I'm confident they will get there after a couple of good hikes. The sole is an awesome sticky tread, slightly soft for gripping rock and loose footing. My last comment is with regard to sizing. Follow the instructions and order based on European sizing. I am a US Women's 10.5 and the size 9 is perfect for me as described. Two words. GET THESE.
  • Reviewed by frankie from California on Thursday, February 13, 2014
    I love these. I got them to do field work and they were comfortable right out of the box. I got the Narrows and there is plenty of room for my toes. They look pretty snazzy too!
  • Reviewed by SLee from New York on Thursday, January 30, 2014
    I think these run a littler large. I am usually a W8-8.5 and the 8.5 was too big. 8 works well with thick socks. I also have wider feet and the medium is a little narrow for me but will work.

    Sturdy boot. New it is a little stiff but I expect to break these in soon.
  • Reviewed by G from New York on Monday, January 27, 2014
    I have a low-volume, high-arch foot, and wear a US women's 7-7.5 in street shoes, but I had to go with a 4.5 N UK for these boots. Even though that's a full size smaller than the recommended conversion, they are still long enough for heavy-weight hiking socks. The all-around fit is pretty good, but I would have preferred a more asymmetrical toe box. If you are not carrying a heavy pack, these boots may be slightly heavier and stiffer than you need, but for longer treks in temperate to cold climate they are a good choice.
  • Reviewed by Shaz from NJ on Sunday, December 22, 2013
    This one came as a surprise since I had ordered the Kayland Vertigo High eVent® Hiking Boots but instead received these. Since the price was similar, I wanted to try them out and decided to keep them. Though they are not water-proof, the full-grain leather should hold so long as it doesn't get too wet. I wore them around the house and locally to break them in and it didn't take too long to get comfy in them. Hoping to get a lot of hiking done with them soon! I gave 4 stars because I haven't used them in rough terrain yet. So far, so good.
  • Reviewed by Shaz from NJ on Sunday, December 22, 2013
    This one came as a surprise since I had ordered the Kayland Vertigo High eVent® Hiking Boots but instead received these. Since the price was similar, I decided to try them out and decided to keep them. Though they are not water-proof, the full-grain leather should hold so long as it doesn't get too wet. I wore them around the house and locally to break them in and it didn't take too long to get comfy in them. Hoping to get a lot of hiking done with them soon! I gave 4 stars because I haven't used them in rough terrain yet. So far, so good.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 5 »
  • 1-10 of 41 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.