Customer Reviews Of:
Mammut Kootenay 5 Hiking Boots - Leather (For Women)

Closeouts. With a full-grain leather upper and lining, Mammut Kootenay 5 hiking boots offer excellent comfort and durability. A supportive midsole and Vibram® rubber outsole equip you for the stiffest backpacking challenges.

Average Rating based on 47 reviews 4.170212 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 5
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dog walker from Cape Cod on Saturday, December 5, 2015
    beautiful boots! so very well made! unfortunately the boot cuts into my toes right where the boot bends when walking. And my ankle rubs against the boot as well, very uncomfortable, reminds me of my old ski boots. So I guess these boots aren't right for my feet.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Pamela from Mexico on Monday, October 12, 2015
    Im very happy with my boots, I didn't follow the convertion table, I just checked the European Size in my other shoes and i ordered the same, and the fits is great!
    Theyre water resist and awesome on all terrains
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Brigit from california on Monday, June 1, 2015
    runs large- are a bit heavy for long hikes- but I will keep them
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by RPC6 from California on Monday, March 2, 2015
    My daughter wore these climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro and they were excellent boots, kept her feet warm and were very supportive. We highly recommend them.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Stefanie from South Carolina on Tuesday, January 13, 2015
    I love, love, love these boots! At first I was a little skeptical about purchasing boots online (especially considering the European to US conversion), but after reading the reviews I decided to give it a try. I generally wear women's size 11M (US), which is never easy to shop for. After using the conversion chart for size and taking the advice of the individuals who suggested that they run a size large and to purchase a narrow boot instead, I found that I am more than satisfied with how my boots fit. The toe box has plenty of room for swelling and thick socks. Also, they are incredibly comfortable, not to stiff, have very rugged grip, and are not to heavy. Most boots I try on are uncomfortable in the ankle, but these fit perfectly. I have not had one blister and the material inside the ankle of the boot and on the tongue are soft. This allows for shorter socks on warmer days (South Carolina folks. The struggle is real!).
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Out in the field from Minnesota on Saturday, January 10, 2015
    These may not work for everyone but for me they're perfect. I'm tall and have a long, narrow foot. Finding shoes is difficult and boots even moreso since men's sizes are too wide. But these came in narrow, and are just right. I wore them around the house for several hours the day they arrived with no problems -- a first for hiking boots for me. They are very well made and quite attractive for heavy duty boots. I might order a second pair.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Reviewer from Northern CA mountains on Sunday, October 12, 2014
    .....my husband is the one who is rating and wearing them! I followed directions to get an 11 and 1/2 size for a woman's boot( I.e. 10) , and when I pulled one out of the box , my husband said, " that looks like it will fit me !" And he was right. There was an inch and a half beyond the toe of my larger foot!
    So, although the reviews have been mixed on the sizing......and I read every single review because I deliberated for weeks over this boot..... I have to agree that getting it to fit right is a challenge. Because it is so well made ,and my husband can wear them, they get high marks. But because I gave up on buying hiking boots from STP for myself and paid quite a bit more in a local shoe store, I rated it one star lower. I couldn't exchange them because the size that might have worked for me was sold out. Plus, it really does look like a man's boot.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by hiker from Glacier on Monday, July 28, 2014
    heavy and runs large in both length and width, but very well insulated and waterproof with waxing, even though they are not technically "waterproof." These boots stayed dry when goretex did not.
  • Reviewed by Sierra from Maine on Thursday, July 17, 2014
    As I generally like Mammut products and needed a new leather boot for backpacking, I had great hope for these boots. As noted by several reviewers, these boots have a roomy toe box and the fit was such that I did not think my toes would slide forward. The footbed was also comfortable for me. But the interior of the tongue had rough uncomfortable stitching that it was impossible to wear these comfortably. I was not convinced that breaking in was going to fix the problem, so, sadly, I had to return them.
  • Reviewed by JDawg from Montana on Monday, May 5, 2014
    Love these boots. They're very comfortable. Make sure you break them in good. They're pretty stiff. Did a several small hikes then did 8 miles. I tore up my ankles. Now that they're broken in, they're great.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 5