Customer Reviews Of:
Mammut Mt. Crest Gore-Tex® Hiking Boots - Waterproof (For Men)

Closeouts. With a Gore-Tex® waterproof breathable membrane and a Vibram® MT-Traction sole, Mammut's Mt. Crest hiking boots are built for the unpredictable conditions you can encounter on backpacking trips and demanding day hikes.

Average Rating based on 19 reviews 4.684210 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by livnthelife from Denver,CO on Wednesday, September 26, 2012
    These are the same boots I bought when REI had them branded for them by Raichle. I wore those boots till they were slicks on the bottom! Very comfortable and pretty much no break in time for me, so I got that going for me, which is nice!
    • Arch Type: High Arch
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Day Hiking, Heavy Loads, Light Loads, Long-Distance Hiking, Wet Conditions
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Good Arch Support, Great Traction, No Break-in, Sturdy/Durable, Warm, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by The Hiking Fireman from Bulli, Australia on Tuesday, September 18, 2012
    Excellent quality boot, water tight, good traction.
    • Arch Type: Low Arch
    • Best Uses: Long-Distance Hiking, Wet Conditions
    • Cons: Long Break-in
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Great Traction, Sturdy/Durable, Warm, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by greatwhitehiker from nh on Saturday, September 8, 2012
    I wore these boots for 2 days before my first hike with them, they are very comfortable. After that short break-in I took a 15 mile hike, with no serious problems. They have great traction on the rocks and the nubuck holds up well to all the sharp scree. The insoles are cheap though and needed to be changed out to a pair of superfeet after the first hike.
    • Arch Type: Low Arch
    • Best Uses: Day Hiking, Harsh Terrain, Light Loads, Long-Distance Hiking, Wet Conditions
    • Cons: Cheap insoles
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Good Arch Support, Great Traction, Sturdy/Durable, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by bignick from Wasatch Mountains on Thursday, September 6, 2012
    A very nice looking, super quality boot, it's just too bad the sizing is off a full size. To further confuse the sizing issue, I would have had to order the UK size to get what I need in a US fit.
    • Best Uses: Day Hiking, Harsh Terrain, Light Loads, Long-Distance Hiking, Wet Conditions
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Functional Rand, Good Arch Support, Great Traction, No Break-in, Sturdy/Durable, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BT on the AT from Atlanta, GA on Monday, September 3, 2012
    When I first started breaking these in, my feet were feeling sore for the first 30 minutes, after that, they felt great. Traction on these is great; I felt like a billy goat in my ability to tackle extremely steep hikes.
    • Best Uses: Day Hiking, Harsh Terrain, Long-Distance Hiking, Wet Conditions
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Great Traction, Sturdy/Durable, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BeerBelly from N.H on Friday, August 31, 2012
    Definitely worth the price I paid. I'm very happy with these boots. I did have to exchange the first pair because they run a bit small.
    • Arch Type: Low Arch
    • Best Uses: Day Hiking, Light Loads, Long-Distance Hiking, Wet Conditions
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Sturdy/Durable
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by RAMILLER from Englewood CO on Saturday, August 18, 2012
    This is an excellent boot of the highest quality. It has a classic stiff upper but is still comfortable and easy on the feet during break-in. Supportive enough to haul a heavy backpack over some serious off-trail terrain. Fine for just regular light hiking too. The outsole has fairly deep lugs and looks like it would tackle just about any outdoor environment. Nicely padded ankle collar and contoured tongue. Actual boot is a little nicer than the pictures show. The sizing can be tricky though. The UK size shown on the website is one full size smaller than the US size. I went by my US foot size and then added another 1/2 size to that and got a good fit with one medium thick wool sock. Even adding a full size to your US size will not get you into trouble, especially if you use an additional sock liner or use extra thick wool socks. These boots do run a little more snug than most. Best for feet of no more than average width. Outstanding value for the money when you consider real leather padding plus Goretex liner plus Swiss design and European construction.
    • Arch Type: High Arch
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Day Hiking, Harsh Terrain, Heavy Loads, Light Loads, Long-Distance Hiking, Wet Conditions
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Good Arch Support, Great Traction, Sturdy/Durable, Warm, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rog the Boot Nut from Englewood, CO on Thursday, August 9, 2012
    This is an outstanding hiking boot. Made with top-quality materials and designed by the mountain-dwelling Swiss (who should know what it takes to make a good boot!) They are actually put together in Romania--very fine bootmakers like the Italians. These are stiff enough to haul heavy backpacking loads over off-trail terrain, so they're going to require a little break-in time. They have a nicely rockered sole, to make it easy on your feet while you're doing the break-in. Notable features are the nappa leather padded ankle collar and upper tongue with memory foam, and a well-designed outsole that is supposed to be good for any type of weather condition or terrain. Nice looking boot too. I ordered the graphite and it's a real eye pleaser with it's color-contrasted laces. Sizing is a little snug. I have size 11 D feet and ordering the 11 1/2 US size, they were perfect with one pair merino wool socks. Felt like a $400 pair of custom-fitted Limmers! You really can't go wrong with these--first class boot all the way, and the best boots I've ever bought here on STP.
    • Arch Type: High Arch
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Day Hiking, Harsh Terrain, Heavy Loads, Light Loads, Long-Distance Hiking, Wet Conditions
    • Cons: Long Break-in
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Good Arch Support, Great Traction, Sturdy/Durable, Swiss Design, Warm, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sandy from New Delhi on Friday, July 13, 2012
    I bought these for a planned trip to Everest Base Camp and Kalla Pattar. Have only tried them on two 1.5 hour hikes so far. They are comfortable, warm and provide the support that I needed. Great deal from STP!
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Heavy Loads, Long-Distance Hiking
    • Cons: Heavy
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, No Break-in, Sturdy/Durable, Warm, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels too narrow
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rubble from Lacey, WA on Tuesday, July 10, 2012
    I wear US size 9.5 street shoes. Ordered English size 10 boots. I normally wear 2 pair medium weight wool socks. THis worked fine with the new boots. The are a tiny bit snug even though my feet are a bit narrow. Plenty of toe room. Very comfy right out of the box. Treated them with Nikwax waterproofing, but haven't been out in the mud/wet with them yet. After a long day my feet feel a little more fatigued than my old boots (which I wore for 12 years).
    • Best Uses: Day Hiking, Harsh Terrain, Heavy Loads, Light Loads, Long-Distance Hiking
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Good Arch Support, Great Traction, No Break-in
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2