Mammut Samurai Climbing Shoes (For Men and Women)

Closeouts. When you exchange the samurai sword for your hands and feet, Mammut's Samurai climbing shoes will aid in a graceful ascent. An asymmetrical, downturned last offers boulderers excellent pull on overhangs, and the narrow toe is ideal for nabbing edges.

Average Rating based on 14 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 14 reviews
  • Reviewed by Yositune from Alexandria, VA on Sunday, August 05, 2012
    These have been great shoes. Bought these last year and blew out the rubber a few months ago but till put them on after buying a new pair. The heel pocket is big on these. I wear an 11.5 street and ordered a 12 and the heel was too big. I think an 11.5 would have been a better fit but the laces were great and the toes were still pretty tight when I bought them, but after they wore in I needed to lace them tightely to over come the heel. That said they were fine for heel hooks and I still feel more confident with these shoes with blown rubber than the new sportivas i bought.. wish Sierra could get some more of these!!
    • Best Uses: Bouldering, Indoor, Outdoor
    • Cons: Thinner rubber
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
    • Pros: Lightweight, Versatile, Very pointy
    • Sizing: Feels half size too big
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by cc from boone, nc on Monday, March 19, 2012
    Great shoe. one of my 1st downturned shoes. they give great control over the big toe area of the shoe and have been great to use so far. I would not want to be on a multi pitch moderate with these shoes but for particular climbs that are overhung, these are great. Heels fits like a glove.
    • Best Uses: Bouldering, Over hangs, Sport Climbs
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
    • Pros: Aggressive
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by smerih from turkey on Tuesday, November 29, 2011
    great
    • Best Uses: Outdoor
    • Cons: None
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
    • Pros: Comfortable
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by party time from Chicago IL on Tuesday, November 22, 2011
    I typically wear a size 10(US) and after a bit of trial and error concluded that a 10(UK)-(44.5 EURO) worked best. I am rather amateur, but I might even say after the leather stretched the shoe has a small pocket of room near the heel.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JDW from Elmwood Park, IL on Saturday, November 12, 2011
    This is a very good shoe for demanding climbs. It looks small but the toe bucket gives you plenty of room and helps to position your toes.
    A word on sizing. I wear sneakers M's size 10. However, I like my climbing shoes snug. I always buy Scarpas M's size 8.5 (all my Scarpas are made in Italy so the sizing is consistent.) I ordered Mammut Samurai British size 9 (US M's 10) and they fit as Scarpas M's size 8.5. So for me the sizing runs 1.5 small.
    • Best Uses: Overhung climbs
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by hucklebeery from Orlando FL on Tuesday, November 01, 2011
    good shoe i ordered mine a full size bigger than than normal shoe and it barely fit. has a big heel pocket and the vibram is not quite as sticky as i was hoping
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by John of Ark from Arkansas on Wednesday, October 19, 2011
    I didn't expect much since I had never heard of Mammut making climbing shoes, but these shoes are great - I've used them only a few climbing days so far - like other reviewers have noted, they are similar to the LS Testarossa, similar shape. Their sizing is supposedly British - I expected the shoes I ordered to be too big (ordered a 9 which is a 10 US) - I normally wear 41-41.5 Sportivas which are perfectly super tight. The shoes fit perfectly - they are super down-turned and come with a pre-curve to the shoe - this hurt my foot at first but soon straightened out and now they feel perfect and perform great.
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
    • Pros: Downturned toe, Great edging, Nice toe point
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by E$ from San Diego on Friday, October 14, 2011
    These run pretty small but very aggressive. I wear a 11-11.5 US street shoe and order them in a size 10UK/11US. They are too painful to wear on vertical walls but they are solid on overhanging terrain. The sole on the size 10 UK (44.5 EUR) is about 1cm shorter than my 44 EUR Scarpa Vapors. I'm considering sizing up a half to full size just to ease out the break in period.

    Even though the shoe is extremely tight, the heel is still a little baggy on the sides. The heel is still solid for heel hooks but I am worried about this if I size up.

    The toe box is a good shape and great for fitting into small pockets and other features when hanging upside down. There is a seam in the material right on the outside edge of the big toe. It started causing a bit of a hot spot. I think I only noticed it because the shoes are so tight.

    If you are looking for an aggressive shoe like the La Sportiva Testarossa, I say give them a try. Just watch out for the sizing.
    • Best Uses: Bouldering, Indoor, Sport Climbs, Steep climbing
    • Cons: Baggy heel, Sized too small, Uncomfortable
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
    • Pros: Adjustable, Aggressive, Good edging, Good on overhangs
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cincy Climber from Cincinnati, OH on Thursday, October 06, 2011
    Great shoes I sized them down a full size and they fit tight but how I like them! No pain no gain!
    • Best Uses: Bouldering, Indoor, Long Climbs, Outdoor
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
    • Pros: Edges well, Sticky rubber
    • Sizing: Feels full size too big
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by Coop from Rancho Cucamonga, CA on Sunday, September 11, 2011
    This is a great, technical, aggressive shoe. I've never had such confidence in my feet.

    A word on sizing - I usually climb in size 44.5 (US M 11) Miura velcros. I followed the advice from the other reviews and bought Samurais a full size bigger (UK 11 / US M 12). Got them and they were way too big - could have worn them as all day shoes. Exchanged for a UK 10 / US M 11 and they fit perfectly - they feel about 0.5 size tighter than my Miuras, which is what I was looking for. Hope this helps.
    • Best Uses: Overhanging Routes, Pockets, Small edges
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
    • Pros: Great edging, Precise
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 14 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.