Customer Reviews Of:
Mammut Stratus Hooded Jacket - Insulated (For Men)

Closeouts. Zip up Mammut's Stratus jacket and you'll feel like you're nestling into your favorite sleeping bag. The lightweight jacket has a nylon mini-ripstop shell and lofty, compressible insulation.

Average Rating based on 16 reviews 4.562500 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Reviewed by jimbo28 from ohio on Monday, March 11, 2013
    This is a good looking jacket, and seemed like it would be warm however sizing runs very small. Sleeves are short and the fron of jacket is cut shorter than the back so that the back fits fine but front is above waistline on by normal size.
  • Reviewed by Nick from CA on Saturday, January 19, 2013
    Great and warm jacket. Ordered it in a medium and in coffee/red color but is a bit big for me. So will sell it on ebay
  • Reviewed by Akiodesign from Deadwood,SD on Thursday, January 10, 2013
    I have to say, jackets are my passion! I have some of the best jackets you can by for cold SD winters. I would compare this to my Mountainsmith 900 fill down, and my Mountain hardwear compressor jackets. It has the warmth of both and even warmer than my NF Neptuse 700! It is light and warm with a great quality build. I have read that a lot of people were confused by the arm length, let me say the reason for that is for extention. Try on any jacket that is not built for tech and you will see it pulls under and below the sholder. That is why the arms on this and many tech jackets are longer...freedom of movement. The giant internal pocket are great for holding anything you can put in there, and the hands and front pocket are fleece lined for warm hands. This is by far my most comfortable and warmest jacket I own. I can say that its my dail driver as it my be to warm for downtown, or early and late winter. Last thing is, if you get the 30% coupon and use it on this...You will not be dissapointed. Use it for what it was designed to do and you cant miss. BUY IT!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ol'TrailDog from really MT, but in OR temporarily...yuk! on Tuesday, December 11, 2012
    I heeded the advice of others and ordered an XL instead of a L that I normally wear. The XL fit perfectly for an athletic 6' 160lbs build. The jacket would be great for a single outerwear coat for cold weather or with underlayers and/or a vest for extra cold conditions. That is to say, the insulation is substantial, especially when compared to what I consider to be pathetically skimpy jackets like the Patagonia ultralight hoody that I sent back to SAC. However, this jacket was too substantial for the midlayer hooded jacket I am looking for. So, although it is a nice jacket I had to return it because I simply couldn't use it as a midlayer system jacket. I absolutely am a big fan of STP and have purchased quite a bit from them. The drawback of online ordering is that you are unable to try on a garment before purchasing it. Thankfully STP has one of the best web page layouts and pictures along with a convenient return policy that makes shopping with STP a great choice...now can I get a free prize?
  • Reviewed by parkalounger from san francisco, ca on Monday, November 19, 2012
    Very nice, comfortable, and warm jacket, the Ajungilak material is fantastic. Will be very useful for a real belay in snow, though it is heavier than other belay jackets like TNF or Rab. I bought it as an everyday winter jacket, and was disappointed. I am 6'1", 175lb, the XL was way too big for me.
    - The cut is shapeless and baggy. Hangs on you like a sack suit. Very unlike Mammut's softshells or jackets.
    - Cannot be used as an outer layer, the outer material does not seem to be durable enough. Will be very good under a shell.
    - The insulation shifts within the jacket. After a few minutes of wearing it, all the insulation shifts to the midriff leaving the shoulders and upper arms cold. If you hold it upside down and shake it, it becomes uniform.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by El Presidente from Lake Tahoe on Thursday, October 25, 2012
    Looks much better on than site photo would indicate. Everything about this jacket has the feel of a Mammut sleeping bag, except the cut which is perfect for an athletic frame. Sizing is a bit snug but still allows free movement. Is designed to double as a mid layer under a shell.
    I wore it over a cotton t-neck yesterday. A blustery Tahoe day in the mid 20's. As warm as down without the bulk. Hood dials down snug, but wouldn't fit over a snow sport helmet.
    • Best Uses: Bad Weather
    • Describe Yourself: Trendy/Stylish Dresser
    • Pros: Good Cut, Lightweight, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by MTtrailrunner from MT on Tuesday, October 23, 2012
    This is a great jacket for an outer layer in colder climates. Put a base or mid layer under this, and you are warm in pretty darn cold temps. Quality of materials is superb..this is a well made jacket. A word on the sizing: it seems several folk have mentioned going a full size up. Personally, I'd say this runs a half size small, no more. I'm often between a medium and a large in jackets...large if I want to layer under it, and medium if i want to layer over it (obviously there are exceptions, but you get the idea). I'm 5.11 and 180-185, athletic build but not super skinny by any means. So, since i wanted this as my cold weather outer layer, I figured I'd go Large...since there was the iffiness of the euro sizing, I went XL. A large would have been better..the xl turned out to be too big, even with decent size mid layers. So, if i had to offer sizing advice, I'd say if you are on the upper end of your size, i.e., always getting a certain size in your winter jackets and they fit well, you could probably go up one size in these and be perfect. If you are on the lower to mid end of your size, the iffy range, I'd say go with your normal outer jacket size in this. The materials are such that I'm convinced it will be a perfect fit over the lighter layers you'd wear, and even be fine if you just threw it on over a T on your way out the door. If you go up a size, you are gonna need thick, possibly multiple, layers under it to feel right unless you have abnormally wide shoulders and long arms..then again if that's the case, you already know your sizes accordingly and my two-cent advice still applies. If I had been able to get this jacket in one size smaller, it would have been a staple in my closet, it's good stuff..I absolutely wanted to keep it, but one size up was too much and just simply did not fit. Hope this helps! Cheers...
    • Best Uses: Bad Weather, Daily Use, Going Out, Outdoor Activities
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Versatile, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Crazy Karl from Minneapolis, MN on Thursday, September 27, 2012
    If you're a large, order an XL.
    • Best Uses: Daily Use
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels too small
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too short
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chris from New Jersey on Saturday, March 31, 2012
    This is a great cold weather coat! Must size up in these Euro jackets. I usually wear XL in this 2XL fits great. I'm 6'3" 195lbs. It also zips from the opposite side, not a big deal for me!
    • Best Uses: Outdoor Activities
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Derreck from mt on Wednesday, March 21, 2012
    Great coat, great price, easy transaction, arrived quickly, very pleased
    • Best Uses: Bad Weather, Daily Use, Outdoor Activities
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Versatile, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2