Mammut Stratus Hybrid Soft Shell Jacket (For Women)

Closeouts. The Mammut Stratus Hybrid jacket is really two jackets in one. Combining a highly breathable soft shell material in the shoulders, hood and sleeves with a lofty, insulated Pertex® lower body, this jacket is made to adapt to changing conditions.

Average Rating based on 34 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 4 »
  • 1-10 of 34 reviews
  • Reviewed by Alberta Surfer from ALberta on Wednesday, November 27, 2013
    Was looking for a piece to replace a Arcteryx atom shell that was too large. I though from the adds and the material description it would be similar. This jacket is quite stiff ,bulky and heavy, and it even smelt strongly of body odour when it arrived.I was hoping for a layering shell but this is too thick for that so it will be used as a stand alone jacket.Overall the fit is large, and the sleeves very wide and hard to fit under other layers such as a gamut down coat.Wind resistance is average.
    May keep it, or sell it at the local consignment store as shipping it back to the US would be too expensive.
  • Reviewed by KBG from Chicago, IL on Sunday, November 24, 2013
    This is a well made, well designed jacket. I had planned to use this for running in the Chicago winters. It is a little bulky for that purpose, especially in the sleeves.
  • Reviewed by Snow adventurer from Colorado on Monday, November 11, 2013
    Jacket is light weight, well made, and will work well for snowshoeing, backcountry skiing, and all around snow sports.
  • Reviewed by Activeoutdoor from Canada on Thursday, September 12, 2013
    Greta jacket. Extremely light and packable. Wind resistant. Good for very wide range of temperatures- definite favourite!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tele Goddess from Avon, Co on Thursday, February 21, 2013
    Love the jacket. Great outerlayer for uphill ascents, then add a gortex layer for the downhill. Great color to be seen in the backcounry. Wore under gortex on cold weather inbounds skiing. Stayed warm n dry. A loose fit, but I prefer that for movement.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by XC&FreeSkier from Vermont on Saturday, November 24, 2012
    I've been in the market for a new softshell as my current one is more than a few years old with a zipper that is at best semi-functional.
    This fits the bill, and also will replace an older, light puffy jacket I have, as well. Based on other reviews, I ordered a small and a medium. The small fits well (I'm 5'4" & 130#), and I can wear a layer or two underneath. I don't find the sleeves to be too long, and love the thumb holes - they are a big bonus! The jacket is super warm and blocks the wind. The hood fits over my ponytail and I expect it will fit my ski helmet (though not a deal-breaker); can't wait to wear it on the hill once the snow really flies.
    Definitely order a couple sizes to see what fits you best - my mom also tried the two sizes on and the medium fit her better although we are almost the same size.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by runswithdogs from Bozeman, MT on Thursday, July 05, 2012
    I think this a great belay jacket. It's lightweight but warm and I like the large hood. I would agree with other users that the sleeves are on the long size and the fit is a little on the big side as well. However, I like longer sleeves and I like a jacket with some room in it to layer. I have worn a medium in Mammut's clothing in the past (I'm 5'4" roughly 120#) but opted for the small based on other reviews. I've got plenty of room in it. The pit zips are a nice added feature and I think it's pretty good looking. Don't think I'd use it as an outer-layer for skiing as other reviewers suggested because I doubt it would resist water. It's great for what I intend to use it for (cragging belay and mild winter weather) and packs small.
    • Best Uses: Belaying
    • Chest Size: Feels too big
    • Cons: Not Waterproof
    • Pros: Breathable, Lightweight, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too long
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Karen from seattle Washington on Tuesday, May 01, 2012
    service was good.
    • Chest Size: Feels too big
    • Cons: Bulky, Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living
    • Pros: Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too long
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by Anonymous from Boston, MA on Friday, April 27, 2012
    I purchased this jacket from Sierra two winters ago for winter bicycle commuting in New England. It has held up to the test as well as general winter wear and hikes and has replaced my down jackets due to its warmth, versatility, durability, and light weight. I am pondering buying another to have for years to come!

    It does have long arms, which is perfect for me at 5'8" but may be tough for a petite person.
    • Best Uses: Biking, Casual Wear, Hiking
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Not Waterproof
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Winter Sports
    • Pros: Durable, Lightweight, Long arms, Stylish, Warm, Wind Resistant
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by moutain gurl from fernie, bc on Tuesday, April 03, 2012
    This jacket is overall 5 start quality. However, I knocked it down a star because it was not exactly what I was hoping for my purpose. It is a bit bulkier than I was expecting, which means it's a bit warmer than I was expecting (some people might want this). I was hoping it would be a good jacket to wear under a technical shell on cold ski hill days; it may suit this purpose on really, really cold days but anything other than the coldest day i think it might be too bulky to wear under a shell. It's likely a good outter layer for cold back coutry touring days. It would be fine as an outlayer for not too cold days at the ski hill lift riding. However, it is a stylish jacket that I am sure will be useable for me in many ways and I got a great price so I will keep it. I would note that I am generally a "hot" person (in the sense that I heat up quickly) so for someone who is often cold this might not seem so bulkly. Size medium is a bit roomy (5'5" 140 lbs) but generally true to size.
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Casual Wear, Skiing, Snowboarding
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Bulky
    • Pros: Stylish, Warm, Wind Resistant
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 4 »
  • 1-10 of 34 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.