Mammut Ultimate Soft Shell Jacket - Windstopper® (For Men)

Closeouts. The ultimate soft shell for hardcore backcountry adventure, Mammut's Ultimate Hoodie jacket boasts Gore Windstopper® soft shell fabric for maximum windproofness, moisture resistance and superior mobility.

Average Rating based on 14 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 14 reviews
  • Reviewed by Fondue Mom from Stowe, VT on Thursday, September 25, 2014
    This is a great jacket for almost any outdoor activity in colder weather—cross-country skiing, running, snowshoeing, etc. It looks sharp, too. My only minor complaint is that the zipper isn't always the easiest to shut. You have to get it just right on the bottom to get it to zip up. As long as the zipper holds up, then this jacket will get lots of wear in the years to come.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jimin.Kim from BUSAN, South Korea on Friday, September 12, 2014
    Amazing..
    This is best Jacket when you are going to outdoor even if cold condition.

    I would Recommend you that the Mammut Ultimate Soft Shell Jacket JUST TAKE IT!!! AND YOU WILL HAPPY.
  • Reviewed by Summitchallenger from Utah on Saturday, May 10, 2014
    I bought this about three months now and have used it A LOT. I figured I would update my previous review now that it has been out.

    GET IT. This has been my go-to for skiing this late winter and spring, The side zips are very nice and vent very well if you need it. It has adequate windproofing for what I do...is it hurricane proof? Maybe not, but I have hardshells for worse weather.

    The fit is good. It is comfortable with or without a layer underneath. The zippered pockets are generous although if you're in a hurry it is easy to grab the side vent zip. The hood is OK. A tight fit over my ski helmet. I am able to zip up the collar if I need it for my chin. The thumb loops are a nice feature and the cuffs and waist are snug but not too tight. Double zipper in the front: perfect and works great. And it looks snazzy.

    It packs down SO nicely. I grabbed it for my recent trip to SFO and it was perfect for a cool evening visit to Point Reyes.

    In exchange for maybe not complete windproofness you get very good ventilation. It breaths very well.

    It's been put through the paces here in Utah...from 30 F to 60 F and very comfortable. Deer Valley, Park City, Alta, Snowbird, you name it. I love that I can use it for hiking in the mountains this summer on cooler days thanks to its easy packability.

    A true rockstar shell.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Zuoqi from Beijing on Thursday, May 8, 2014
    I bought this soft shell for my friedn, due to the Gore Windstopper , the shell has strong windproof capability.
    On 5/1/2014, We had a hike in Mountain WuTai, Shanxi Province, China. Weather was very bad, we met a storm, the wind was about moderate gale, and it sonwed! Temperature is low, as when I took off my gloves for lunch, my hand was frozen stiff in several minutes.
    My friedn had this shell on, and he said no wind came through the shell.
  • Reviewed by PNW guy from PNW on Saturday, March 15, 2014
    This jacket is fairly light weight. It has a web like liner to increase the warmth. The long zippers down the side help cool you down on the hike up. Water beads up well in rain. The hood fits nice and tight for windy days. I think the sizing is very standard. 6'4" 200lbs, XL is perfect. The arms are a little longer than normal. Probably so you can use the thumb holes. Great jacket. Looks cool too.
  • Reviewed by Summitchallenger from SLC, Utah on Wednesday, February 12, 2014
    I bought this on a whim because STP had it on special and I love Mammut stuff. The color was also snappy.

    Having just received it, I took it out for a walk in a stiff wind. This is the bomb. Nice, light, but sturdy fabric that is windproof. Unlike other softshells, I don't feel suffocated in this one or like I am going to drown in my sweat. The pit zips are easy to open and close. The hood and collar are snug and comfortable--a first. And the hood will fit over a (small) helmet or a wool hat. The pockets are well placed and the liner is very nice. It looks darn sharp.

    Surprisingly, the lack of a waist cord does not seem to be a problem. Unlike other coats, the elastic/rubber waist band does work and fits me well. The lack of hook-and-loop straps on the wrists was not noticeable at all either because the cuffs fit me perfectly and the thumb loops are a nice touch (I had to do a double take to see that it did not have wrist straps).

    And did I mention how light this is? When I got the box I figured it was the wrong jacket. Nope, it is just MUCH lighter than similar softshells yet windproof for my liking and very comfortable...at the beginning and end of my short fast walk. The zips are so easy to open and close for venting. The zippers on the sides are also a nice touch for additional venting.

    I intend on using this baby four seasons here in Utah. Maybe not on the coldest days or the hotest days, but with its light weight it will be a go-to for hiking in the mountains and for skiing with a layer and bibs underneath. I ordered up one size to accomodate layering. I'd suggest you do the same because it does run small.

    Excellent price, well designed, darn light but still tough. Go get it.
  • Reviewed by Tnap from Virginia on Saturday, November 30, 2013
    The Mammut Ultimate hoody is exactly what I've been looking for. I am 6'4" and athletic build (205 lb.), and I have long arms. I have a hard time finding jackets with long enough sleeves that don't pop out of my glove cuffs when I go ice climbing. The sleeves on this XXL softshell are a solid 2+ inches longer than the sleeves on my former Norrona Trollveggen flex3. The windstopper fabric is super nice; however it doesn't seem to be all that durable/abrasion resistant (especially for thorns/bushwhacking). I will primarily be using this jacket for dry weather ice climbing, mountaineering and skiing. For anything wet, I'll defer to my seam-sealed hard shell. The only complaints I have with this is that the hood is not a helmet compatible hood, and the waist does not have a drawcord. Both very minor issues. Overall, this is an excellent jacket - to be expected from Mammut.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by skierboyian from Holland MI on Tuesday, February 12, 2013
    I love this hoodie But that's exactly what it is, a hoodie. It isn't very warm but is great for layering. The side zippers tend to open from the bottom up at times but doesn'e really bother me. I'm usually an L but i went up to an XL and i'm glad i did. It fits perfect.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Drew 1013 from Denver, CO on Wednesday, October 26, 2011
    Like most Mammut gear, very comfortable, well constructed and waterproof.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Wet Weather
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Lightweight, Warm, Waterproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by cbskier from crested butte, co on Sunday, September 18, 2011
    Great jacket for high levels of endurance in the outdoors.
    • Best Uses: Rippin the skin track, Skiing/Snowboarding
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Full Side Vents, Lightweight, Windproof
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 14 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #