Mammut is a Swiss-based producer of high-quality mountaineering, climbing and trekking equipment. The company’s history actually dates back to the mid-1800’s, beginning with a single rope maker named Kaspar Tanner. By the 1940’s, the brand had officially adopted the mammoth logo and name. Originally specializing in Mammut ropes, the well-known alpine gear company eventually grew its product line to include mountaineering boots, crampons, harnesses and hardware. By the 1990’s, the product selection had grown even further to include Mammut jackets, pants, sleepi ... Learn more about Mammutng bags, Mammut packs and a host of other premium-quality essentials for the outdoor enthusiast. ... Less
Average Rating based on 4 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 200 »
  • 1-10 of 1999 reviews
  • Reviewed by Sirensong from Colorado on Thursday, May 21, 2015
    I love my new winter jacket! It has all the features you would expect from professional mountain gear. The hood stows away into the collar which makes it a bit bulky around your neck, but I actually like this feature since it helps hold in warmth. The hood is removable, so you have options. The snow skirt zips out for daily wear, and has snaps hooks to secure it to pants for snowy days. The jacket is longer then I anticipated, and the back is longer then the front which protects your butt from the elements. However, not long enough that you sit on it. The pit zips extend almost from elbow to the end of the ribcage, and have a double zipper so you can target ventilation. There is also breathable mesh lining around the pits for active wear. There is a storm flap inside the front zipper, and outside along the collar. The insulation seems a little thin, but packable. I have not worn it in really cold temps yet. There is plenty of room for thermal layers. I love the graphite/ raspberry color! Neutral but fun. I was happy that the branding on the back was grey instead of the bright raspberry (not pictured). Overall, this jacket seems well made and will preform well for all winter adventures.
  • Reviewed by sfotex from Sandy, UT on Sunday, May 10, 2015
    I bought these for a do it all mountaineering boot (summer Cascade ascents, alpine ice/rock, etc) and have been happy so far. The Gore-Tex liner has kept my feet dry in some nasty wet conditions. I have done some long scree slogs in them and lower 5th class rock and they have done great. Fit is on the narrow size, but they seem to be true to length.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by PJ from Mississippi on Saturday, May 09, 2015
    I have been wearing Mammut Boots for the past 4 years. This brand has become my favorite hiking boots. The ridge high boot does not disappoint. No break-in needed. Comfortable out of the box with plenty of support and protection for my feet and ankles. I feel safe and stable even on rough terrain and scrambling over boulders. I wear a size 6 in street shoes and I always buy a size 6 in Mammut Boots. True to size and enough toe room to wear thick hiking boots. Highly recommended.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mountainsungal from Albuquerque, NM on Sunday, April 19, 2015
    These are SUPER stiff, well built, have worn them for around 7 hours straight and definitely felt supported. Was happy to take them off at the end of the day. I've found GTX boots to be on the warmer, not as breathable side, but if you need the waterproof, these can't be beat! Had to go up one size bigger than normal and they fit perfectly. No blisters on day 1. Great boots for the price.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by AAKMAN from Florida on Sunday, April 05, 2015
    Bought a pair about 4 yrs ago for fast walking and jogging. Held up extremely well and were very comfortable. Been looking for another pair on ST, but not too often are they available. Jumped on these even though the color is not my favorite. So far not disappointed, nor do I expect to be. Sizing is right on.
  • Reviewed by Jo Schmo from KY on Sunday, March 29, 2015
    I bought this jacket over a year ago. It is fairly lightweight and not warm enough to wear all by itself on really cold days. This, however, was perfect as I layer a lot. I could wear a fleece or shell underneath and on warmer days just a long sleeved T-shirt or light sweater. It was waterproof. Great in rain or snow. Fit well. The sleeve cuffs kept the elements out. It was stolen last night, and I'd give just about anything to have the exact same jacket again. If you find it, or anything like it, I HIGHLY suggest purchasing. It's worth it.
  • Reviewed by Hyneraddict from Penns Woods on Tuesday, March 24, 2015
    I so wanted these shoes to fit properly. I really like the overall design of the shoe, its appearance and the meaty grip of the out-sole. It's too bad though, that the right shoe pinches my toes and the outside of my foot. I normally wear standard width shoes and have no issues. Either the right shoe is not made properly or these shoes are just narrow in general. I went up a 1/2 size from my normal shoe size also. Anyway, after wearing them around the house for a few hours I couldn't stand the pinching. And that was with no running in them. Its too bad because the shoe looks and feels like it would just about destroy any trails I could have used them on. Now it's off to the task of find another shoe. Thank goodness for STP's great return policies.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Frkk from Bgt.Col. on Friday, March 13, 2015
    The shoes seems very well made, sturdy and good support. I ordered 1/2 size lager than my normal size as recomended but still small, cramped toes. You need a complete size larger.
  • Reviewed by hopefulhiker from Los Angeles on Monday, March 09, 2015
    Those of you who are not vegan have NO IDEA how hard it is to find synthetic hiking boots suitable for the snow / cold weather. Well thank you Mammut for coming to my rescue! Not the smartest thing I ever did, but went on a three day backpacking trip in these straight out of the box, and they were a dream. Warm, comfortable, worked in snow and in snowshoes. Good ankle support even with a heavy pack. I did waterproof these with a synthetic friendly waterproofer, and wore gaiters, but they kept my feet totally dry despite miles logged in deep snow. So happy to have a reliable winter boot!
  • Reviewed by LarLar from Seattle WA on Sunday, March 08, 2015
    Just bought the blue backpack and it's amazing. Beautiful color and very comfortable, and can't wait to take it hiking!
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 200 »
  • 1-10 of 1999 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #
;