Mammut is a Swiss-based producer of high-quality mountaineering, climbing and trekking equipment. The company’s history actually dates back to the mid-1800’s, beginning with a single rope maker named Kaspar Tanner. By the 1940’s, the brand had officially adopted the mammoth logo and name. Originally specializing in Mammut ropes, the well-known alpine gear company eventually grew its product line to include mountaineering boots, crampons, harnesses and hardware. By the 1990’s, the product selection had grown even further to include Mammut jackets, pants, sleepi ... Learn more about Mammutng bags, Mammut packs and a host of other premium-quality essentials for the outdoor enthusiast. ... Less
Average Rating based on 1971 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • « 1 ... 155 ... 198 »
  • 1541-1550 of 1971 reviews
  • Reviewed by Petty43 from Ilinois on Thursday, January 21, 2010
    Just bought the mustard color in size large (I am 5'9", 170) and the fit is perfect. The sleeves are a little longer because of the option you have to put your thumbs through the hole and bring the end of the sleeve to your knuckles. I just wore the jacket on a ski trip this weekend and it was perfect. On a 30 degree day, with only a turtleneck on, it was toasty warm - if not a litte too warm. As it got colder, where I think this jacket performs it's best, I remained comfortable. Should not need to layer beyond a shirt, and 2nd layer in very cold weather - below 0 to 10. Build quality is excellent. Looks exactly like the picture. Haven't tested it's waterproof ability. This is one of the warmest, nicest looking jackets I have owned. It was worth every penny through this site - expecially if you can apply an additional coupon. I wish the hood would go over a ski helmet, but not a necessity - I wear an UnderArmour liner and a helmet, which keeps the head plenty warm.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Cold Weather, Skiing/Snowboarding
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Reviewed by suz from nahant ma on Wednesday, January 20, 2010
    These pants have good deep pockets. I like the zippers on the bottom of the legs. It allows you to close around boots or unzip and wear loose.
    Great material and warm. I wear these walking in the snowy woods with kids and the dog and shoveling snow.
    I am going to buy in the grey color too. The size does seem a bit big though
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Camping, Casual Wear, Hiking, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, High-Quality Material and Stitching, Stylish
  • Reviewed by Eric from San Jose, CA on Monday, January 18, 2010
    Ideally, this would be used as a heavy-weight winter belay parka similar to the older style Patagonia DAS parka.

    However, the jacket is tiny. Not just Euro-sized tiny, but really, really, tiny. I normally wear a size large for Mammut's athletic-sized jackets (such as the Ultimate jacket). Even in size XL, the stratus parka is too small (shoulder width, sleeve length) with just a lightweight shirt as a baselayer. Adding normal winter wear, I can only imagine that I would end up in a size XXXL for the intended use as a belay parka.

    Barring the sizing issue, the functionality also seems lacking. The internal bottle pockets are sized too large, the hood is not helmet compatible, and the main zipper is too small to easily handle with gloves.

    I think as an around-town or ski-resort warm jacket this could work well. But as a technical winter parka, the design seems to be seriously lacking.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Hiking and Camping, Skiing/Snowboarding
    • Chest Size: Feels too small
    • Cons: Heavy, Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Fit: Feels too small
    • Pros: Durable, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too short
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Life Explorer from Los Angeles, CA on Monday, January 18, 2010
    I like the quality of the jacket and feel very comfortable. However, the sleeves are long and bulky. In addition the hood is a little bit big. As a result, I have to return it.
    • Best Uses: Daily Use, Going Out
    • Cons: Bulky
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too long
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JR from Minnesota on Thursday, January 14, 2010
    Great coat, not super puffy like all the rest, but still warm. I was worried not getting down, but this has performed admirablly in Minnesota's January cold.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Extreme Conditions
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: zipper can be a pain
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Warm, Windproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by hardcore from Bozeman, MT on Wednesday, January 13, 2010
    I use this jacket mostly as a belay jacket during ice climbing. It is very puffy like an overstuffed down jacket, but less expensive and more durable than most quality down jackets. With the hood up I stay very warm. One downfall is the jackets bulk. It's hard to stow away while climbing to the next belay. Also, since it's a Euro style jacket, don't forget to order a size larger than your normal size.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Cold weather belay jacket
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Bulky, Buy one size up
    • Describe Yourself: Outdoor Professional
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Breathable, Lightweight, Very warm like down, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Reviewed by Nate from St. Louis, MO on Wednesday, January 13, 2010
    I like the idea of this jacket. I like the color and the fit as well. I found the athletic cut of the Medium to be really flattering to my physique.

    That said, there are a few unforgivable things about this jacket that forced me to decide that it wasn't worth the money, and send it back. First, it has no drawcord hem at the waist. For a jacket that is supposed to block wind, this feature would be idea.

    Second, the LONG pit zips have no wind flap behind them. If you lift your arm up, wind blows right through the zipped or unzipped zipper and chills you. Also, without a flap behind the pit zip you have to be careful or it will snag on the layer underneath it.

    Third, the thumb holes in the cuffs are stupid. I realize they were trying to make a cool feature, but a cuff with a velcro adjustment would have been perfect for this jacket.

    Fourth, the material is not at all durable. It is paper thin, and every time it touches something you will be afraid that it's going to rip. The zippers, while being YKK, are very hard to start and prone to sticking.

    So, my main problems with this jacket were based on the fact that it provides several entry points for cold wind, while purporting to be a windproof jacket. I just don't feel like it is worth the money. If it were a sub-100 dollar jacket, maybe.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Hiking and Camping
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Doesn't Breathe, fragile, Not well designed
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Lightweight, Windproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Betty from New York, NY on Wednesday, January 13, 2010
    Great quality, just 2 packets, and the jacket's color is lighter then it shows on the picture, but is a excellent one! Mammut products are the best, and STP has them!
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Casual Wear, Hiking
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Not Enough Pockets
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Gear Usage: Outdoor
    • Pros: Breathable, Durable, Lightweight, Stylish, Waterproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too long
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by larix_pjm from Austin, TX on Wednesday, January 13, 2010
    -
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Extreme Conditions, Sports, Wet Weather
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Good Weight
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by My kids have it better than me! from Salt Lake City, UT on Monday, January 11, 2010
    This is our 4th coat - we have all 3 colors and everyone in the family LOVES it! MOM and DAD keep getting caught 'borrowing' because we didn't get one . . . and should have!!! We keep watching for more to come on sale!
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Cold Weather, Skiing/Snowboarding
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Warm, Windproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • « 1 ... 155 ... 198 »
  • 1541-1550 of 1971 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
;