Passionate about the outdoors? So is Mammut. Since 1862, when Kaspar Tanner laid the groundwork for what would become this exemplary Swiss company, Mammut has been pioneering advancements in top-quality alpine gear. Advamced R&D teams research every conceivable performance angle to create products climbers and explorers can entrust with their lives. From abrasion and wind resistance to mobility and waterproof breath ability, Mammut excels in lasting clothing and gear that keeps you warm, dry, comfortable and safe on the mountain.
Average Rating based on 1899 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2 ... 64 »
  • 31-60 of 1899 reviews
  • Reviewed by Scout Dad from MA on Tuesday, March 18, 2014
    works well, light weight, not real high power but good amount of light at a great price.
  • Reviewed by eva from oregon on Monday, March 17, 2014
    These pants are fitting good, stretchy, good color for outdoors.
  • Reviewed by Mountainbug from Canada on Saturday, March 15, 2014
    I have long been a Patagonia R1 fan, however after trying this fleece out on a two nighter snow camping trip, all I can say is I'm converted, hopefully Mammut will produce more products like this one. It has the grid backing similar to the R1, however it is fitted more to the feminine figure and with the contrast stitching is quite styling. It was warm enough to wear as my outer layer in 29 degree weather, without a wind. You would want a wind breaker if it was breezy. Too bad this was a close out, I certainly would have bought another one in a different color.
  • Reviewed by Elena from New York on Saturday, March 15, 2014
    Cozy and warm, very good quality. Usually I wear size S but I bought mammut pullover in size M. European cloth sizes runs a little smaller.
  • Reviewed by AT Otto from PNW on Saturday, March 15, 2014
    This jacket is fairly light weight. It has a web like liner to increase the warmth. The long zippers down the side help cool you down on the hike up. Water beads up well in rain. The hood fits nice and tight for windy days. I think the sizing is very standard. 6'4" 200lbs, XL is perfect. The arms are a little longer than normal. Probably so you can use the thumb holes. Great jacket. Looks cool too.
  • Reviewed by troutfly22 from Jackson, WY on Friday, March 14, 2014
    This headlamp doesn't work. My puppy got to package before I could return it. At least it will not be resold to someone else.
  • Reviewed by Rob the tree guy from Michigan on Thursday, March 13, 2014
    Title says it all. Really was looking forward to getting this. I was shocked at the flimsiness of the product, and cheap plastic. The buttons were difficult to turn on/off and change the light pattern. I sent it back for the princeton one from STP, love it! STP made it very easy to return and credit my account, every since then, I've recommended this site to everyone.
  • Reviewed by Anj from Los angeles, CA on Wednesday, March 12, 2014
    Love this jacket! Great vents, really waterproof and flattering fit. This jacket is a little longer than most which is perfect for 5'7" me. It provided enough room for layers without being baggy and the fit is flattering. Due to chest sizing (D+) im on the larger range of a medium , but the med fit fine and wasnt baggy in the waist. Jacket is more a dark gray than the black pictured but i could have figured that out by the color name (charcoal). Its a nice color but I clearly didnt read the description (color name) close enough.
  • Reviewed by Ana from Vermont on Tuesday, March 11, 2014
    I have a hard time shopping for clothes due to my size (5'1, 110lbs) but the XS fits me perfect. Light weight and comfortable!
  • Reviewed by Dave from San Diego on Monday, March 10, 2014
    I purchased this for my son to use for school. It is a great pack for carting around a day's worth of school stuff. The pack is slim and holds shape well. He did find the back (laptop) pocket small to hold a binder but the main compartment holds the binder nicely. The pack has a good suspension with the nice addition of load lifter straps on the shoulders. The material is quality and the I expect the pack to last a long time.
  • Reviewed by E ROberts from Colorado on Monday, March 10, 2014
    The styling and cut of this pullover is quite nice. The problem is that they've but the fleece on the inside so it's "sticky" making it hard to pull on and off over a cotton T-shirt. If I hadn't already sent this back once for a smaller size I would have returned it. But, it'll do for hiking and camping.
  • Reviewed by m from illinois on Monday, March 10, 2014
    I bought this coat for a trip. Good fit, well fitting hood and very light. My only concern is that I hope it will be war, enough.
  • Reviewed by Vireyda from New Mexico on Monday, March 10, 2014
    I'd never bought this brand before, and since I work outdoors in the backcountry I'm pretty demanding of my clothes. This jacket is light, packs down really well, and warm. I'd happily carry this in my pack, maybe even for a bit of backpacking. It's also not very bulky, so you could layer it under a rainjacket or a shell if you wanted. I wear an x-small to a small in tops (32C) and I got a medium in this. There is plenty of room for me to comfortably layer, but it's not baggy. The thumb loops are actually really comfortable and I use them, which I normally wouldn't. I've worn it around the neighborhood and for short hikes, but I field test it this coming week, so I'l edit if it turns out not to be great, but for now 5 stars, especially at STP prices.
  • Reviewed by likes walking from Cascade Mountains, Washington state on Sunday, March 09, 2014
    Got these for my husband and he says they are very comfortable(even before he's broken them in) and the fit was perfect.
  • Reviewed by Erica from Michigan on Sunday, March 09, 2014
    The light blue is a beautiful color. Fits well, a medium I could throw over a shell on a back country ski trip - or I wear it alone on a sub zero winter day in the upper mid-west. Feels like I'm crawling into a sleeping bag every time I put it on!
  • Reviewed by Upbeat Betty from The Berkshires in Massachusetts on Sunday, March 09, 2014
    Quality construction and comfort have made these my go to pants for winter hiking. Normally a size 10 in pants, I ordered the size 12 because that was the only option left and I lucked out because these appear to run on the small side. I am of athletic build, 5'8" and 140 pounds, and prefer to wear my pants with a more relaxed rather than snug fit. The pants do run a bit long, and drag slightly on the ground if I am barefoot, but there is no problem as soon as I put on hiking boots. The fleece lining is not overly warm and the pants will be practical in three seasons.
  • Reviewed by Mountainbug from Canada on Saturday, March 08, 2014
    This is again an awesome product from Mammut, I found it a bit too warm for snowshoeing, however for skiing and winter camping it fit the bill. It was warm enough to wear without a jacket on my last snowshoeing outing, and the smooth outer face repelled a few light snow flakes. It fits well not too tight across the shoulders and the sleeves are not extra long, I am 5'2" and generally have to roll sleeves.
  • Reviewed by SBGirl from Santa Barbara on Saturday, March 08, 2014
    Super warm, soft and a great length. I am 5'9", 150 lbs with long limbs and the sleeves on the M are perfect.
  • Reviewed by Jay from Mass on Friday, March 07, 2014
    I saw these boots on final sale in WA and I live on the east coast. They weren't my size so I figured I would wait to find them online. I couldn't find them anywhere and when I did they didn't have my size and they were much more expensive than the original price I saw. I was happy to find that STP not only had many sizes to choose from but also amazing prices. Overall this boot is very lightweight, great ankle support, true to size and warm. I wish my heel sat in the cup more securely, so for now I am trying different inserts. Would recommend! It's the only lightweight mountaineering boot I found that can accept my step in crampons that is under $400. Great deal, buy them while they last.
  • Reviewed by VanMan from Vancouver, BC on Friday, March 07, 2014
    The light is bright and there are a good number of brightness options. It is light and low profile. The biggest issue is that it is impossible to turn on in gloves (this is a big one if it's cold out). Even with gloves off, it is very difficult to click the membrane switch twice in a row fast enough to turn it on and I have to take it off my head in order to turn it on. When you cycle through all the brightness options, the next click turns it off, so then off the head it goes again, gloves off and trying to click twice within a second with frozen fingers....
  • Reviewed by Miki, former ballet dancer from SLC, UT on Thursday, March 06, 2014
    just not for me.
    I loved the fabric, I like the styling, but it was too large.
    And the stretch panels were not comfortable.

    Also, my husband hated the fabric, so back it went.
  • Reviewed by Durango outdoors from Colorado on Thursday, March 06, 2014
    I usually wear a medium (8-10 in pants, but usually 8). The size 8 had no room for long underwear. And the side vents were not as large as I would like, to let in a breeze on warm days. Seem to be very nice quality, but I returned because they weren't what I needed.
  • Reviewed by Elizabeth yellow bird from Vermont on Thursday, March 06, 2014
    Really soft, attractive fit, cozy and warm, I think it's perfect
  • Reviewed by Lynette the Outdoorsy Gal from Virginia on Thursday, March 06, 2014
    The sizing is a little large. I am typically a size small, but the arms are long and the jacket in general is a little big. I love the jacket. It is lightweight, but truly does insulate better than any jacket I have ever had. In zero degree temps I can be wearing a short sleeve shirt under the jacket and be completely warm.
  • Reviewed by Justin from New York on Thursday, March 06, 2014
    This headlamp is very nice, easy to use, and very bright at it's highest setting. I recommend it.
  • Reviewed by Not so hardcore from Washington on Thursday, March 06, 2014
    So far so good. I haven't done any real distance with them yet but they do seem to be breaking in nicely. With the ridiculous deal I got they could fall apart by the end of the season and I will have gotten my money's worth.
  • Reviewed by EdQ from Colo Springs, Co on Wednesday, March 05, 2014
    It did not work. One of the plastic hinges interferes with the battery connection. I can't recommend and will send back
  • Reviewed by thetrailboss from Salt Lake City on Wednesday, March 05, 2014
    I'd been eyeing this for some time because Mammut makes good stuff and I wear a lot of these types of sweaters/jackets for work and leisure. I pulled the trigger and am very happy. The [imperial blue] color is sharp and I got LOTS of compliments on it. The fit is good, but know that it runs small. It is a bit warmer than a certain competitor's "better" sweater, but very similar. The inside is nice and soft and the outside texture is really nice. The zippers are easy to open and close. The details are really nice. One thing I would prefer is to have "MAMMUT" stitched on the back instead of embossed like it is. But that is minor.

    Perfect for around town and in the office.
  • Reviewed by Wonky Wanders from Earth on Tuesday, March 04, 2014
    First stats 6'2", 163# / 188cm, 174 kg. Got the XXL. If you want the length in the sleeve without too much of a penalty in the torso/waist I would suggest you size up. Torso leans more toward the Euro fit than American but not overly so. Cosmetically, the interior pile fleece is an earthy green and not black. The collar does come up past the chin and if the hood is cinched you can get a near balaclava effect. If you plan on wearing a bigger helmet I am not sure the hood will accommodate it? I did a quick fit with a cycling helmet but I think it would irritate before too long. The hood is also what I would term shallow in regards to the depth of it. But without a helmet the hood is not overly floppy or overwhelming. Have not tested the hood wearing a beanie so no sure if the fleeced lined hood will be an issue. Unlike other manufacturers the interior fleece is not gridded with troughs for air channels/flow and it is not as dense. There are simply areas with no fleece and I can fabric netting and the membrane between the fleece interior and the face fabric. Not sure if this will prove to be a durability issue or not as it is too early to tell. Even though the PPSP is highly wind resistant only the full front zip has a wind flap and the pockets are mesh lined. As with most membrane soft shells the jacket will cope with light precip but anything more and the zip pockets and non sealed seams will leak. The fleece wasn't binding on a light smooth synthetic base layer I had. The fleece itself does lend some warmth. But not as much as a separate jacket and fleece combination. Face fabric has a slight stretch but doesn't feel overly burly and I have not tested it harshly. Time will tell. In the end I think if you have a gap in your quiver and you have your sights set on a membrane soft shell jacket for more than just a city walk-about then this is a jacket to consider. Similar jackets to this would be the Patagonia Northwall, Rab Baltoro Guide and Montane Tigertooth. But with the right additional discounts it would be hard to pass up this jacket compared to the others mentioned if the manufacturer's fit is along your body silhouette.

    Lastly SSP was wonderful as always.
  • Reviewed by S Climbs-A-Lot from Rhode Island on Tuesday, March 04, 2014
    I really like the mammut smart belay device single rope. I like the auto assist option and it has smooth lowering. I own the double rope mammut smart but sometimes it gets caught in the corner of my carabiner because of the width. The single rope mammut smart is narrower so that issue doesn't exist. Will still use my double rope smart for rapelling and double ropes but for the gym, I prefer the single rope device.
    If you are looking for a lock assist device that can both belay and rappel, check out the Edelrid Mega Jul. My friend recently purchased one and it works great.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2 ... 64 »
  • 31-60 of 1899 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
;