Mammut is a Swiss-based producer of high-quality mountaineering, climbing and trekking equipment. The company’s history actually dates back to the mid-1800’s, beginning with a single rope maker named Kaspar Tanner. By the 1940’s, the brand had officially adopted the mammoth logo and name. Originally specializing in Mammut ropes, the well-known alpine gear company eventually grew its product line to include mountaineering boots, crampons, harnesses and hardware. By the 1990’s, the product selection had grown even further to include Mammut jackets, pants, sleepi ... Learn more about Mammutng bags, Mammut packs and a host of other premium-quality essentials for the outdoor enthusiast. ... Less
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2 ... 67 »
  • 31-60 of 2004 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Looking for Deals from North Carolina on Monday, February 2, 2015
    I am 6'1" and 230 lbs with long arms and wide shoulder. The XL was more than long enough through the arms but very tight across the shoulders and quite short in length and slim through the body. I'm not clear if this is euro-sized where XL means something smaller. I am always a Men's XL or XL tall because my arms are long. Also, the black/ivy color is pretty weird. An all black jacket with two dark green "ivy" accents on the hood pull cord. If you are a tall, colorblind, but athletic octopus with a need for a decent shell that doesn't have room to layer underneath; go for it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Get Some Fresh Air from Pennsylvania on Friday, January 30, 2015
    This hat is so warm and stylish. I really appreciate the brim, which keeps the sun out of my eyes and the snowflakes off my glasses. It's also large enough to completely cover my ears, and doesn't give me "hat hair"! Love the green color, especially on the dreariest days of winter.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by climber from PDX on Friday, January 30, 2015
    I love this thing. Very light weight and wind resistant. I use it for hiking and climbing. It's great for running and biking as well.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Stefanie from South Carolina on Tuesday, January 13, 2015
    I love, love, love these boots! At first I was a little skeptical about purchasing boots online (especially considering the European to US conversion), but after reading the reviews I decided to give it a try. I generally wear women's size 11M (US), which is never easy to shop for. After using the conversion chart for size and taking the advice of the individuals who suggested that they run a size large and to purchase a narrow boot instead, I found that I am more than satisfied with how my boots fit. The toe box has plenty of room for swelling and thick socks. Also, they are incredibly comfortable, not to stiff, have very rugged grip, and are not to heavy. Most boots I try on are uncomfortable in the ankle, but these fit perfectly. I have not had one blister and the material inside the ankle of the boot and on the tongue are soft. This allows for shorter socks on warmer days (South Carolina folks. The struggle is real!).
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Out in the field from Minnesota on Saturday, January 10, 2015
    These may not work for everyone but for me they're perfect. I'm tall and have a long, narrow foot. Finding shoes is difficult and boots even moreso since men's sizes are too wide. But these came in narrow, and are just right. I wore them around the house for several hours the day they arrived with no problems -- a first for hiking boots for me. They are very well made and quite attractive for heavy duty boots. I might order a second pair.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Loving Portes du Soleil from Geneva on Sunday, January 4, 2015
    My wife loved this jacket except for it was too large. She normally would wear a medium but the size chart suggested she should order a large. Unfortunately, the large is too big. Otherwise, excellent jacket.
  • Reviewed by Steven from Oregon on Friday, January 2, 2015
    I think this hiking jacket, although it's designed for ski. However, i still like it's Euro stytle.
  • Reviewed by Todd from the Deep South on Wednesday, December 31, 2014
    Bought a couple of these for $8.65 to replace a couple of Princeton tec lamps my kids wore out. I have used a half dozen lamps by Princeton tec over the last 12 years so these were sort of disappointing. Although the price eased that.

    Fit and finish is can be described as "made in china." Light is fine.

    The plastic strap in the battery compartment that people complain about is an easy fix: cut it out. That would, however, leave the door free to escape to somewhere unreachable should you drop the lamp and the door fly off. The door barely clips on and might be saved by the headstrap routing, might not.

    Bottom line: if you can get this for under $10, for your kids or just to use around the house, it will be fine

    If you are looking for something to use in the backcountry or it's more than $10, I would steer clear.



  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by wayne from Kent, OH on Tuesday, December 30, 2014
    The title pretty much sums it up, very cheaply made junk. The flimsy feeling, the batteries do not stay in place with battery door on. Slightest bump and batteries no longer make contact with terminals. Would not recommend.
  • Reviewed by dudethatclimbs from tx on Monday, December 29, 2014
    First and foremost all these assisted breaking devices that follow this same principle where the carabiner pinches against the rope tend to have a important flaw that while the initial breaking force is high without requiring high break hand force, when the load is very, very high the carabiner can only pinch so much, it is physically limited. When the carabiner is at this physical limit the angle of the rope going through the device is less than even a normal ATC-XP / Guide, because of this lessened angle the friction gained from this angle is less than the friction gained from the angle in an ATC-XP / Guide... Soo... At very high force you actually need higher break hand force with a Smart (or megajul, etc) than you would with an ATC-XP / Guide... It is not immediately intuitive as it obviously feels that it locks up so easily, thus it must lock up stronger at higher loads, and this is true, but only to a point, beyond that point normal ATC-XP / Guide is superior.
    References: Jim Titt and rgold, ex: http://www.mountainproject.com/v/edelrid-megajul-belay-device/109133730__1
    A thread discussing assisted breaking belay devices with graphs of Jim Titt's test data comparing many.

    ... That said I love using it for top roping. Light, smooth, and simple.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by yu from cn on Wednesday, December 24, 2014
    I bought this jacket for my mother. she like it
  • Reviewed by rose fiend from IL on Friday, December 19, 2014
    i always has problem with wool or fur, always have to line them with silk or something, my old skin being too dry and sensitive. this one is tolerable; color is brilliant and a little bill to shied away the glare of winter sun.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Golden Claire from Golden, CO on Friday, December 19, 2014
    This is my second pair of these pants. They fit better than some of my jeans! I have wider hips and larger thighs, and these pants fit like they were designed for me. They run fairly true to size. I wear between a 10 and 12, and I ordered a 12 in these. There is enough room to wear a heavy weight base layer if you want, but they are warm enough on their own to wear a light or medium weight base layer. The pockets are well placed and functional, and the nylon kicks at the bottom of the pants leg are great for keeping the pants from getting torn up by my skis.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Pman21 from Montana on Thursday, December 4, 2014
    This headlamp works good for running. The beam is circular and illuminates the road or trail 5' to 15' ahead well.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Neal from New York on Tuesday, December 2, 2014
    High quality, nice headband liner, thick and soft hat. Should be warm.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jenay29 from Shawano, WI on Thursday, November 27, 2014
    Didn't expect that the button would be flush with the light. and it had 3 different settings, very bright.
    didn't get to really use it yet, but like it the little I have
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Colorado Gal from Colorado on Wednesday, November 12, 2014
    I've had a great opportunity to give this hat a chance to keep me warm the past 3 days since winter just got here and it's around 10 degrees with wind chill at who knows what outside! It fits my large head very comfortably. I love the slouchy look and it fits very well beneath a hood to be a little extra warmer. I love the bright color - purple! So over all I am loving this had and glad I had the smarts to get it before the deep freeze hit!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dr Bad Feet from Midwest on Wednesday, November 12, 2014
    Gorgeous. High quality. The medium fit my wife perfectly with just enough room for layering. She's 5'10'', 140#.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Shoe shoppin' from Oregon on Wednesday, November 5, 2014
    I loved my former Raichle boots, so I ordered the next closest thing. Initially I ordered the size 8.5, but returned them for an 8. Still have plenty of toe room and space for thick socks. They are a little stiff and requiring some break-in, but I am happy with them. Good arch support and I don't feel the need for an orthotic. I would give them 5 stars if they had leather interior. It is a textile, and ok, but after my Raichles, these are 2nd best.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by PETER from or on Saturday, November 1, 2014
    Good ventilation,Cozy
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tammy from Duluth, MN on Wednesday, October 29, 2014
    This is a great effective headlamp without spending a lot of scratch. It works perfect for what I want it for which is a cross country skiing outing or going and back and forth through a forest late evening in the summer at the cabin. Very happy with it. Love the LED lights and ease of going from low to high beams. Lightweight.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kayak hiker from New Jersey on Wednesday, October 22, 2014
    Excellent quality. Beautiful jacket.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Reviewer from Northern CA mountains on Sunday, October 12, 2014
    .....my husband is the one who is rating and wearing them! I followed directions to get an 11 and 1/2 size for a woman's boot( I.e. 10) , and when I pulled one out of the box , my husband said, " that looks like it will fit me !" And he was right. There was an inch and a half beyond the toe of my larger foot!
    So, although the reviews have been mixed on the sizing......and I read every single review because I deliberated for weeks over this boot..... I have to agree that getting it to fit right is a challenge. Because it is so well made ,and my husband can wear them, they get high marks. But because I gave up on buying hiking boots from STP for myself and paid quite a bit more in a local shoe store, I rated it one star lower. I couldn't exchange them because the size that might have worked for me was sold out. Plus, it really does look like a man's boot.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Fondue Mom from Stowe, VT on Wednesday, October 8, 2014
    I love Mammut products, but I'm sending this one back. While the material is nice, the fit isn't flattering at all. I didn't notice from the photo, but the jacket is longer and lands below the hips.
  • Reviewed by Triathlete from Florida on Monday, October 6, 2014
    I really like the Mammut brand and have several pieces of their clothing. I am 5'7" and around 120 and always order a size 4 in clothing. Because of the sizing on another pair of shorts from Mammut, I ordered these in size 6 and they are so tight around the hips. If I ordered an 8, they would have been gigantic everywhere else. Not a great buy I'm afraid.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chucks from Indiana on Sunday, October 5, 2014
    This jacket has all the features you need during the harsh weather. I recommend a Wind Stopper feature during all the winter season.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by GiGi from Alaska on Friday, October 3, 2014
    It's always a little scary buying online without being able to touch, feel or try a product on. Fortunately I've been super blessed buying thru Sierra Trading, and as always there's fast shipping and great customer service. As for these pants, wow was I happy with the perfect fit and not too heavy weight for weather resistant gear. I'm 5.8' about 125# (or so) and the size 8 fits perfectly. They make my butt look cute too, love that!
  • Reviewed by Lindsay from Oregon on Friday, September 26, 2014
    I received as a Christmas gift last year and it spent most of the last several months packed away. I took it out to use a couple of weeks ago and could not get it to turn on. I thought the batteries were dead and bought new ones and still it wouldn't turn on. It wasn't until I looked at the reviews here that I figured out that I needed to press the button twice (double-click) to power on. Works great!!! Really, it is a good feature once you figure it out. Maybe not the most intuitive design, but I guess it sometimes pays to read the directions.
  • Reviewed by Fondue Mom from Stowe, VT on Thursday, September 25, 2014
    This is a great jacket for almost any outdoor activity in colder weather—cross-country skiing, running, snowshoeing, etc. It looks sharp, too. My only minor complaint is that the zipper isn't always the easiest to shut. You have to get it just right on the bottom to get it to zip up. As long as the zipper holds up, then this jacket will get lots of wear in the years to come.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Camilo from NC on Saturday, September 13, 2014
    This Self locking device for less than $20 is great. I always wanted to have a self locking belay device but didn't want to pay the $100 for a Gregory.......I was hesitating when I got into this Mammut Smart Device since it was too good to be truth, I bought one and so far I love it!
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2 ... 67 »
  • 31-60 of 2004 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #
;