Mammut is a Swiss-based producer of high-quality mountaineering, climbing and trekking equipment. The company’s history actually dates back to the mid-1800’s, beginning with a single rope maker named Kaspar Tanner. By the 1940’s, the brand had officially adopted the mammoth logo and name. Originally specializing in Mammut ropes, the well-known alpine gear company eventually grew its product line to include mountaineering boots, crampons, harnesses and hardware. By the 1990’s, the product selection had grown even further to include Mammut jackets, pants, sleepi ... Learn more about Mammutng bags, Mammut packs and a host of other premium-quality essentials for the outdoor enthusiast. ... Less
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • « 1 ... 4 ... 201 »
  • 31-40 of 2004 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Looking for Deals from North Carolina on Monday, February 2, 2015
    I am 6'1" and 230 lbs with long arms and wide shoulder. The XL was more than long enough through the arms but very tight across the shoulders and quite short in length and slim through the body. I'm not clear if this is euro-sized where XL means something smaller. I am always a Men's XL or XL tall because my arms are long. Also, the black/ivy color is pretty weird. An all black jacket with two dark green "ivy" accents on the hood pull cord. If you are a tall, colorblind, but athletic octopus with a need for a decent shell that doesn't have room to layer underneath; go for it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Get Some Fresh Air from Pennsylvania on Friday, January 30, 2015
    This hat is so warm and stylish. I really appreciate the brim, which keeps the sun out of my eyes and the snowflakes off my glasses. It's also large enough to completely cover my ears, and doesn't give me "hat hair"! Love the green color, especially on the dreariest days of winter.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by climber from PDX on Friday, January 30, 2015
    I love this thing. Very light weight and wind resistant. I use it for hiking and climbing. It's great for running and biking as well.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Stefanie from South Carolina on Tuesday, January 13, 2015
    I love, love, love these boots! At first I was a little skeptical about purchasing boots online (especially considering the European to US conversion), but after reading the reviews I decided to give it a try. I generally wear women's size 11M (US), which is never easy to shop for. After using the conversion chart for size and taking the advice of the individuals who suggested that they run a size large and to purchase a narrow boot instead, I found that I am more than satisfied with how my boots fit. The toe box has plenty of room for swelling and thick socks. Also, they are incredibly comfortable, not to stiff, have very rugged grip, and are not to heavy. Most boots I try on are uncomfortable in the ankle, but these fit perfectly. I have not had one blister and the material inside the ankle of the boot and on the tongue are soft. This allows for shorter socks on warmer days (South Carolina folks. The struggle is real!).
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Out in the field from Minnesota on Saturday, January 10, 2015
    These may not work for everyone but for me they're perfect. I'm tall and have a long, narrow foot. Finding shoes is difficult and boots even moreso since men's sizes are too wide. But these came in narrow, and are just right. I wore them around the house for several hours the day they arrived with no problems -- a first for hiking boots for me. They are very well made and quite attractive for heavy duty boots. I might order a second pair.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Loving Portes du Soleil from Geneva on Sunday, January 4, 2015
    My wife loved this jacket except for it was too large. She normally would wear a medium but the size chart suggested she should order a large. Unfortunately, the large is too big. Otherwise, excellent jacket.
  • Reviewed by Steven from Oregon on Friday, January 2, 2015
    I think this hiking jacket, although it's designed for ski. However, i still like it's Euro stytle.
  • Reviewed by Todd from the Deep South on Wednesday, December 31, 2014
    Bought a couple of these for $8.65 to replace a couple of Princeton tec lamps my kids wore out. I have used a half dozen lamps by Princeton tec over the last 12 years so these were sort of disappointing. Although the price eased that.

    Fit and finish is can be described as "made in china." Light is fine.

    The plastic strap in the battery compartment that people complain about is an easy fix: cut it out. That would, however, leave the door free to escape to somewhere unreachable should you drop the lamp and the door fly off. The door barely clips on and might be saved by the headstrap routing, might not.

    Bottom line: if you can get this for under $10, for your kids or just to use around the house, it will be fine

    If you are looking for something to use in the backcountry or it's more than $10, I would steer clear.



  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by wayne from Kent, OH on Tuesday, December 30, 2014
    The title pretty much sums it up, very cheaply made junk. The flimsy feeling, the batteries do not stay in place with battery door on. Slightest bump and batteries no longer make contact with terminals. Would not recommend.
  • Reviewed by dudethatclimbs from tx on Monday, December 29, 2014
    First and foremost all these assisted breaking devices that follow this same principle where the carabiner pinches against the rope tend to have a important flaw that while the initial breaking force is high without requiring high break hand force, when the load is very, very high the carabiner can only pinch so much, it is physically limited. When the carabiner is at this physical limit the angle of the rope going through the device is less than even a normal ATC-XP / Guide, because of this lessened angle the friction gained from this angle is less than the friction gained from the angle in an ATC-XP / Guide... Soo... At very high force you actually need higher break hand force with a Smart (or megajul, etc) than you would with an ATC-XP / Guide... It is not immediately intuitive as it obviously feels that it locks up so easily, thus it must lock up stronger at higher loads, and this is true, but only to a point, beyond that point normal ATC-XP / Guide is superior.
    References: Jim Titt and rgold, ex: http://www.mountainproject.com/v/edelrid-megajul-belay-device/109133730__1
    A thread discussing assisted breaking belay devices with graphs of Jim Titt's test data comparing many.

    ... That said I love using it for top roping. Light, smooth, and simple.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • « 1 ... 4 ... 201 »
  • 31-40 of 2004 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #
;