Mammut is a Swiss-based producer of high-quality mountaineering, climbing and trekking equipment. The company’s history actually dates back to the mid-1800’s, beginning with a single rope maker named Kaspar Tanner. By the 1940’s, the brand had officially adopted the mammoth logo and name. Originally specializing in Mammut ropes, the well-known alpine gear company eventually grew its product line to include mountaineering boots, crampons, harnesses and hardware. By the 1990’s, the product selection had grown even further to include Mammut jackets, pants, sleepi ... Learn more about Mammutng bags, Mammut packs and a host of other premium-quality essentials for the outdoor enthusiast. ... Less
Average Rating based on 4 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • « 1 ... 4 ... 200 »
  • 31-40 of 1999 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Loving Portes du Soleil from Geneva on Sunday, January 4, 2015
    My wife loved this jacket except for it was too large. She normally would wear a medium but the size chart suggested she should order a large. Unfortunately, the large is too big. Otherwise, excellent jacket.
  • Reviewed by Steven from Oregon on Friday, January 2, 2015
    I think this hiking jacket, although it's designed for ski. However, i still like it's Euro stytle.
  • Reviewed by Todd from the Deep South on Wednesday, December 31, 2014
    Bought a couple of these for $8.65 to replace a couple of Princeton tec lamps my kids wore out. I have used a half dozen lamps by Princeton tec over the last 12 years so these were sort of disappointing. Although the price eased that.

    Fit and finish is can be described as "made in china." Light is fine.

    The plastic strap in the battery compartment that people complain about is an easy fix: cut it out. That would, however, leave the door free to escape to somewhere unreachable should you drop the lamp and the door fly off. The door barely clips on and might be saved by the headstrap routing, might not.

    Bottom line: if you can get this for under $10, for your kids or just to use around the house, it will be fine

    If you are looking for something to use in the backcountry or it's more than $10, I would steer clear.



  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by wayne from Kent, OH on Tuesday, December 30, 2014
    The title pretty much sums it up, very cheaply made junk. The flimsy feeling, the batteries do not stay in place with battery door on. Slightest bump and batteries no longer make contact with terminals. Would not recommend.
  • Reviewed by dudethatclimbs from tx on Monday, December 29, 2014
    First and foremost all these assisted breaking devices that follow this same principle where the carabiner pinches against the rope tend to have a important flaw that while the initial breaking force is high without requiring high break hand force, when the load is very, very high the carabiner can only pinch so much, it is physically limited. When the carabiner is at this physical limit the angle of the rope going through the device is less than even a normal ATC-XP / Guide, because of this lessened angle the friction gained from this angle is less than the friction gained from the angle in an ATC-XP / Guide... Soo... At very high force you actually need higher break hand force with a Smart (or megajul, etc) than you would with an ATC-XP / Guide... It is not immediately intuitive as it obviously feels that it locks up so easily, thus it must lock up stronger at higher loads, and this is true, but only to a point, beyond that point normal ATC-XP / Guide is superior.
    References: Jim Titt and rgold, ex: http://www.mountainproject.com/v/edelrid-megajul-belay-device/109133730__1
    A thread discussing assisted breaking belay devices with graphs of Jim Titt's test data comparing many.

    ... That said I love using it for top roping. Light, smooth, and simple.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by yu from cn on Wednesday, December 24, 2014
    I bought this jacket for my mother. she like it
  • Reviewed by threadbare from IL on Friday, December 19, 2014
    i always has problem with wool or fur, always have to line them with silk or something, my old skin being too dry and sensitive. this one is tolerable; color is brilliant and a little bill to shied away the glare of winter sun.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Golden Claire from Golden, CO on Friday, December 19, 2014
    This is my second pair of these pants. They fit better than some of my jeans! I have wider hips and larger thighs, and these pants fit like they were designed for me. They run fairly true to size. I wear between a 10 and 12, and I ordered a 12 in these. There is enough room to wear a heavy weight base layer if you want, but they are warm enough on their own to wear a light or medium weight base layer. The pockets are well placed and functional, and the nylon kicks at the bottom of the pants leg are great for keeping the pants from getting torn up by my skis.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Pman21 from Montana on Thursday, December 4, 2014
    This headlamp works good for running. The beam is circular and illuminates the road or trail 5' to 15' ahead well.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Neal from New York on Tuesday, December 2, 2014
    High quality, nice headband liner, thick and soft hat. Should be warm.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • « 1 ... 4 ... 200 »
  • 31-40 of 1999 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #
;