Passionate about the outdoors? So is Mammut. Since 1862, when Kaspar Tanner laid the groundwork for what would become this exemplary Swiss company, Mammut has been pioneering advancements in top-quality alpine gear. Advamced R&D teams research every conceivable performance angle to create products climbers and explorers can entrust with their lives. From abrasion and wind resistance to mobility and waterproof breath ability, Mammut excels in lasting clothing and gear that keeps you warm, dry, comfortable and safe on the mountain.
Average Rating based on 1927 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 65 »
  • 1-30 of 1927 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Di from Alabama on Wednesday, July 02, 2014
    I've purchased 3 thus far and all have functioned properly. You have to read the instructions to know how to turn them on. Yeah, I hate to read instructions, but these are good lights.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mighty Mo from Portland on Thursday, June 26, 2014
    It took some getting used to, as it's different from a tube device or a grigri. But once you get the feel of it, it just feels natural. The feeding of rope while lead climbing is awesome and it cams the rope beautifully when there is a lead fall, giving it a slightly dynamic belay. Top rope belaying is awesome! It works like a grigri, but way, way cheaper thanks to Sierra Trading Post!
  • Reviewed by Erik from Dallas on Wednesday, June 18, 2014
    this is a modern very light and powerful lamp. Nothing like the lamps from 25 years ago.
  • Reviewed by thetrailboss from Utah on Tuesday, June 17, 2014
    Bought this on a whim for use as a good all around hardshell that is not too bulky. It has lived up to that expectation. It has a GREAT hood for ski helmets and is waterproof and yet breathable enough so that I don't drown in my own perspiration. It has done very well in snow, sleet, rain, and everything in between here in the Wasatch. It is very light weight with little bulk but has the tech stuff I love (pockets, good hood, etc). It looks sharp. The liner is nice inside. The shell material is beefy enough to stand regular wear and tear and I don't feel like I have to worry about it tearing or falling apart.

    The zipper can be stubborn and, like other Mammut stuff, the zipper inserts on the opposite side of most coats. This can be odd. I'd also prefer a flap over the zipper instead of the plastic/rubber waterproof seal over the zipper. After six months no leaks or anything.

    A good jacket that is a good value for the price. I have used it in all but the coldest temperatures, but it would be fine in winter with layering underneath.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Curt and Latasha the everyday campers. from Bay Area-Sierra Nevada-California on Thursday, June 05, 2014
    As a man it is very hard to buy something stylish that your wife will enjoy and wear, I bought this for my wife and it has turned out to be one of the first pieces of clothing that she just went Ape over, it is of wonderful quality and has a style that just cant be beat. the fit is wonderful and it has a very nice lining that is top notch and is what you would expect from a Mammut product, I bought this soft shell jacket for our outdoor adventures but it has turned into one of her favorite jackets that she now wears often. Mammut and myself hit a home run on this one, so if you are man looking to earn good chips with the wife, do yourself a favor and grab one of these jackets while you can before they are gone.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by New Mexico gal from NM on Tuesday, June 03, 2014
    Have already worn these pants twice in late spring/snowy conditions - very comfortable and warm, but breathable too!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by eva from Jacksonville, oregon on Sunday, June 01, 2014
    I like the material and how stretchy it is . Mammut pants always fit very well.
  • Reviewed by aep4776 from Albany, NY on Friday, May 30, 2014
    Wanted to so badly to like this shirt. Color, quality, and design is great. But the fit is just off. Way too low cut for any activities one would normally where Mammut for. Maybe PJs?
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cat from Tennessee on Monday, May 26, 2014
    I bought this headlamp for cheap with an awesome promo code and sale price, but I was worried about the quality. Well, its awesome! Not as bright as pricier headlamps, but this is all I really need to get the job done.

    The previous reviews about it not turning on....you have to double click, like a mouse on a computer. Read the instructions and you will have no problems what so ever. I never had any issues. Used several times on SAR mission with no issues either, and that's where it counts.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by WJB from upstate New York on Sunday, May 25, 2014
    Just what my disabled wife needed.
  • Reviewed by Sierra from CA on Tuesday, May 20, 2014
    This hoody is thick, and perfect for cold weather. It would serve as a great snowboarding layer. In fact, it's much nicer and thicker than my Ride snowboarding hoody that I usually wear boarding. The design is super cute with the Mammut logo on the lower back side. The logo is stitched in black on mine. I'm 5'5", 125 lbs. and I ordered a medium, and it fits perfectly. I find Mammut runs a bit smaller than other typical outdoor gear (I usually wear a small). I would order a size up if you're unsure, like I did. I also disagree with the other reviewer who commented that it's, "...thick and puffy-looking on." It's actually really cute and figure-flattering on, and if you're looking for a thin form-fitting hoody for normal wear, this may not be for you. But as far as being bulky, it's definitely not. It looks like the photo above. It is a sweatshirt material fleece. There is plenty of movement in the arms, and you could probably layer a thinner fleece underneath. This hoody will definitely stand up to normal wear and tear, through multiple washes. For Mammut apparel, this is an excellent price, especially if you can find an extra % off coupon code.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ladyknight from Montana on Thursday, May 15, 2014
    I bought this lamp because it runs off just a single battery, which is nice for packing light. The white light setting is bright and has a good beam. The red setting is a bit dim though, and the flashing red is much brighter, but I don't think I will ever use it. All things considered, I'm pleased with this purchase.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mikeyinc from Europe on Tuesday, May 13, 2014
    very lightweight, very easy to carry, the best breathability among the goretex shells I own. Sizing is avegerage, although I normall between sizes L and XL among brands, and this XL is tight in the shoulders--nothing more than a light fleece will fit underneath. A synthetic down jacket will not fit, but it is a cut as opposed to a sizing issue.
  • Reviewed by thetrailboss from Utah on Saturday, May 10, 2014
    I bought this about three months now and have used it A LOT. I figured I would update my previous review now that it has been out.

    GET IT. This has been my go-to for skiing this late winter and spring, The side zips are very nice and vent very well if you need it. It has adequate windproofing for what I do...is it hurricane proof? Maybe not, but I have hardshells for worse weather.

    The fit is good. It is comfortable with or without a layer underneath. The zippered pockets are generous although if you're in a hurry it is easy to grab the side vent zip. The hood is OK. A tight fit over my ski helmet. I am able to zip up the collar if I need it for my chin. The thumb loops are a nice feature and the cuffs and waist are snug but not too tight. Double zipper in the front: perfect and works great. And it looks snazzy.

    It packs down SO nicely. I grabbed it for my recent trip to SFO and it was perfect for a cool evening visit to Point Reyes.

    In exchange for maybe not complete windproofness you get very good ventilation. It breaths very well.

    It's been put through the paces here in Utah...from 30 F to 60 F and very comfortable. Deer Valley, Park City, Alta, Snowbird, you name it. I love that I can use it for hiking in the mountains this summer on cooler days thanks to its easy packability.

    A true rockstar shell.
  • Reviewed by mountain girl from lake tahoe on Thursday, May 08, 2014
    I really like this piece. I like the close fit, it's great for layering under any jacket. It has fleece where it needs to be warmer and stretchy breathable material everywhere else. It's comfortable and easy to move around in. I like the thumbhole feature and there's even a little breast pocket (which is big enough as long as you don't want to carry more than some money and your ID). So far I've only used it for back country skiing, but I think it will be good for hiking and biking in the fall and spring. I really like the turquoise color too.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Zuoqi from Beijing on Thursday, May 08, 2014
    I bought this soft shell for my friedn, due to the Gore Windstopper , the shell has strong windproof capability.
    On 5/1/2014, We had a hike in Mountain WuTai, Shanxi Province, China. Weather was very bad, we met a storm, the wind was about moderate gale, and it sonwed! Temperature is low, as when I took off my gloves for lunch, my hand was frozen stiff in several minutes.
    My friedn had this shell on, and he said no wind came through the shell.
  • Reviewed by Hikers myeongsik from South Korea on Wednesday, May 07, 2014
    The product is trekking to enjoy a comfortable grip while iteupnida is good.
  • Reviewed by JDawg from Montana on Monday, May 05, 2014
    Love these boots. They're very comfortable. Make sure you break them in good. They're pretty stiff. Did a several small hikes then did 8 miles. I tore up my ankles. Now that they're broken in, they're great.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lovetheoutdoors from Indy on Sunday, May 04, 2014
    I got the green and just love the color. It's super cozy and the sleeves are long enough (I am 5'9).
  • Reviewed by yositune from Alexandria, VA on Friday, May 02, 2014
    I think this has less buzz lately after the Edelrid mega jul and others have gotten more press. I still think this is a really handy device, cheap, and has great autolocking response. I've not used the alpine versions but would expect the autolocking to be similiar and offer guidemode and 2line rappeling.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Another old lady from Arizona on Thursday, May 01, 2014
    I got this, not for climbing which I know nothing about, but for general use because I was tired of replacing cheap rope lashings in the garden every 6 mos. So, have to wait and see what the summer does to it, but this looks better already than any kind the hardware store has. If the rating system is baffling, it is similar in size to 1/4" rope. Very finely woven and firm feeling. Maybe it seems $$ by comparison, but not if it outlasts the other, and a huge amount of it too.
  • Reviewed by Laura from Arkansas on Wednesday, April 30, 2014
    These are some TOUGH boots! I wore them for the first time to help with cleaning up immediately after the Arkansas April 2014 tornado in Mayflower and Vilonia. They came through without a scratch. Spent the day cutting and dragging fallen trees, walking over and around broken glass, nails and shredded metal roofing, climbing over debris and on roofs, I never once was concerned about my footing or foot safety. If you need a tough, serious boot, these may be the ones for you. Solid,comfortable foot bed, stiff ankle support and rugged design will handle anything nature can throw at them. Need a little breaking in, but great design and quality!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Robbie from NYC on Saturday, April 26, 2014
    Great HL, uses standard battery, bright and has multiple easy to manipulate switch.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Katie from Baldwinsville NY on Friday, April 25, 2014
    These shoes are very comfortable and well-made. I've only worn them once on the trail, which was a 10.4 mile hike up Tabletop mountain the Adirondacks with an elevation gain of over 2600 ft. They performed excellent on the ascent, and I wore microspikes over them that fit excellent. On the descent, the shoes weren't tied tight all the way so my toes slid down the toebox and hurt a little, but I think if they were tighter that problem would've been solved. I was walking through ice and snow on the ascent, as well as mud and water on the descent. My feet stayed completely dry (I was wearing knee-high gaiters) but the shoes themselves never absorbed ANY water! Waterproofness confirmed! Also to be mentioned: since this was the first time wearing them, I did not get any blisters! I highly recommend these boots.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Luc from Vancouver on Wednesday, April 23, 2014
    The size is right, the length is perfect, very soft, nice colour. I didn't try it when it rains. It keeps very warm despite its light insulation. Good choice and the price was good. The medium size was good for me, a little too long for arms. Overall a nice jacket, looks nice.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Happy Camper from Washington on Wednesday, April 23, 2014
    This is a great light, but the battery system is difficult and adds weight. The dry bag is a nice touch, but a little big if you are trying to conserve on weight for backpacking.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Diane from Chicago on Wednesday, April 23, 2014
    These were very nice but they're quite narrow.
  • Reviewed by Angela from Seattle, WA on Wednesday, April 23, 2014
    I have only had these boots for a couple of weeks and haven't logged many hiking hours in them but so far, they are great! They are true to fit, the heel support is awesome and they have excellent sole grip. I have an average width foot. They seem to be very good in the rain as well - that sole grip helps when you are climbing over rocky terrain and encounter slippery areas. I really like the lacing as well on these boots. They stay nice and tight, the laces are just the right length and there is an extra rung midway up the boot which will give extra tightness if you need it. Overall, these boots are an excellent buy. I'm very pleased and would highly recommend these to others.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chris from California on Tuesday, April 15, 2014
    nice looking jacket- some of the details are a bit strange mixing woven with reinforced pockets. I didn't keep it ulimately bc it felt like it would stretch out easily.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by russellkt from Alabama on Tuesday, April 15, 2014
    I'm a big fan of using red lights at night when camping or outside, but usually it requires a massive headlamp. This one is the opposite, extremely lightweight. Seems a little delicate but will not know until I put it to use a lot more.

  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 65 »
  • 1-30 of 1927 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
;