Mammut is a Swiss-based producer of high-quality mountaineering, climbing and trekking equipment. The company’s history actually dates back to the mid-1800’s, beginning with a single rope maker named Kaspar Tanner. By the 1940’s, the brand had officially adopted the mammoth logo and name. Originally specializing in Mammut ropes, the well-known alpine gear company eventually grew its product line to include mountaineering boots, crampons, harnesses and hardware. By the 1990’s, the product selection had grown even further to include Mammut jackets, pants, sleepi ... Learn more about Mammutng bags, Mammut packs and a host of other premium-quality essentials for the outdoor enthusiast. ... Less
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 67 »
  • 1-30 of 2005 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by TJ from Jackson, WY on Saturday, July 11, 2015
    I ordered these boots sight-unseen and couldn't be happier! They fit well (I ordered half a size down as recommended) and are very comfortable. I took them out on a 18-mile, 3,500 vertical ft hike the day after I got them and had no problems with rubbing or blisters. They are very waterproof and kept my feet warm! Highly recommend!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sarah from Colorado on Friday, July 03, 2015
    Really nice pants, and flattering fit too. But they do run small. I usually wear a 4-6 (small) but needed an 8 (I'm 5' 6" and 125 lb). They are a little long in the length for me, but I think with boots will be fine. Love the soft lining too. Color is bright without being over-bearing.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ZhouMengnan from China on Tuesday, June 30, 2015
    My wife really like it. It looks so nice.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by bill from folsom, ca on Thursday, June 04, 2015
    i wear a size 43 in Marmot and Arcteryx, XL in this Mammut was too big for me. am returning this item. quality is good.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by LParker from DC on Tuesday, June 02, 2015
    it fits really well. I haven't tried it out in the cold, yet, but it seems light and warm.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Brigit from california on Monday, June 01, 2015
    runs large- are a bit heavy for long hikes- but I will keep them
  • Reviewed by Sirensong from Colorado on Thursday, May 21, 2015
    I love my new winter jacket! It has all the features you would expect from professional mountain gear. The hood stows away into the collar which makes it a bit bulky around your neck, but I actually like this feature since it helps hold in warmth. The hood is removable, so you have options. The snow skirt zips out for daily wear, and has snaps hooks to secure it to pants for snowy days. The jacket is longer then I anticipated, and the back is longer then the front which protects your butt from the elements. However, not long enough that you sit on it. The pit zips extend almost from elbow to the end of the ribcage, and have a double zipper so you can target ventilation. There is also breathable mesh lining around the pits for active wear. There is a storm flap inside the front zipper, and outside along the collar. The insulation seems a little thin, but packable. I have not worn it in really cold temps yet. There is plenty of room for thermal layers. I love the graphite/ raspberry color! Neutral but fun. I was happy that the branding on the back was grey instead of the bright raspberry (not pictured). Overall, this jacket seems well made and will preform well for all winter adventures.
  • Reviewed by sfotex from Sandy, UT on Sunday, May 10, 2015
    I bought these for a do it all mountaineering boot (summer Cascade ascents, alpine ice/rock, etc) and have been happy so far. The Gore-Tex liner has kept my feet dry in some nasty wet conditions. I have done some long scree slogs in them and lower 5th class rock and they have done great. Fit is on the narrow size, but they seem to be true to length.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by PJ from Mississippi on Saturday, May 09, 2015
    I have been wearing Mammut Boots for the past 4 years. This brand has become my favorite hiking boots. The ridge high boot does not disappoint. No break-in needed. Comfortable out of the box with plenty of support and protection for my feet and ankles. I feel safe and stable even on rough terrain and scrambling over boulders. I wear a size 6 in street shoes and I always buy a size 6 in Mammut Boots. True to size and enough toe room to wear thick hiking boots. Highly recommended.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mountainsungal from Albuquerque, NM on Sunday, April 19, 2015
    These are SUPER stiff, well built, have worn them for around 7 hours straight and definitely felt supported. Was happy to take them off at the end of the day. I've found GTX boots to be on the warmer, not as breathable side, but if you need the waterproof, these can't be beat! Had to go up one size bigger than normal and they fit perfectly. No blisters on day 1. Great boots for the price.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by AAKMAN from Florida on Sunday, April 05, 2015
    Bought a pair about 4 yrs ago for fast walking and jogging. Held up extremely well and were very comfortable. Been looking for another pair on ST, but not too often are they available. Jumped on these even though the color is not my favorite. So far not disappointed, nor do I expect to be. Sizing is right on.
  • Reviewed by Jo Schmo from KY on Sunday, March 29, 2015
    I bought this jacket over a year ago. It is fairly lightweight and not warm enough to wear all by itself on really cold days. This, however, was perfect as I layer a lot. I could wear a fleece or shell underneath and on warmer days just a long sleeved T-shirt or light sweater. It was waterproof. Great in rain or snow. Fit well. The sleeve cuffs kept the elements out. It was stolen last night, and I'd give just about anything to have the exact same jacket again. If you find it, or anything like it, I HIGHLY suggest purchasing. It's worth it.
  • Reviewed by Hyneraddict from Penns Woods on Tuesday, March 24, 2015
    I so wanted these shoes to fit properly. I really like the overall design of the shoe, its appearance and the meaty grip of the out-sole. It's too bad though, that the right shoe pinches my toes and the outside of my foot. I normally wear standard width shoes and have no issues. Either the right shoe is not made properly or these shoes are just narrow in general. I went up a 1/2 size from my normal shoe size also. Anyway, after wearing them around the house for a few hours I couldn't stand the pinching. And that was with no running in them. Its too bad because the shoe looks and feels like it would just about destroy any trails I could have used them on. Now it's off to the task of find another shoe. Thank goodness for STP's great return policies.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Frkk from Bgt.Col. on Friday, March 13, 2015
    The shoes seems very well made, sturdy and good support. I ordered 1/2 size lager than my normal size as recomended but still small, cramped toes. You need a complete size larger.
  • Reviewed by hopefulhiker from Los Angeles on Monday, March 09, 2015
    Those of you who are not vegan have NO IDEA how hard it is to find synthetic hiking boots suitable for the snow / cold weather. Well thank you Mammut for coming to my rescue! Not the smartest thing I ever did, but went on a three day backpacking trip in these straight out of the box, and they were a dream. Warm, comfortable, worked in snow and in snowshoes. Good ankle support even with a heavy pack. I did waterproof these with a synthetic friendly waterproofer, and wore gaiters, but they kept my feet totally dry despite miles logged in deep snow. So happy to have a reliable winter boot!
  • Reviewed by LarLar from Seattle WA on Sunday, March 08, 2015
    Just bought the blue backpack and it's amazing. Beautiful color and very comfortable, and can't wait to take it hiking!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Big John from Columbia on Saturday, March 07, 2015
    I am currently using this bag for odds and ends. It is a bit smaller than I thought it was given the pictures on the page. I wish it had more pockets. The material it is made of appears as though it wil be more vulnerable to ripping either for wear from within or if snagged on something while in use. It is a nice bag but I would recommend for light use.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by RPC6 from California on Monday, March 02, 2015
    My daughter wore these climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro and they were excellent boots, kept her feet warm and were very supportive. We highly recommend them.
  • Reviewed by Yul from New England on Wednesday, February 25, 2015
    Excelent shoes if you intend on walking around the town or taking them on more technical hikes. I actually like the narrowness and tongueless entry it gives additional stability and support. The sticky sole gives great grip and after a year of use has shown little wear.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Training: Tour de Mt Blanc from Norcal on Monday, February 23, 2015
    Very well made. Hiked 10 miles of hills outta the box. Great lace system. Love these boots. I hiked through streams with no leakage. I love them so much I bought a second pair. Say goodbye to my old Vasque.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Michelle from New York, N.Y. on Thursday, February 19, 2015
    They seem like good quality boots, but I'm returning them for comfort issues. I'm normally a size 7 but buy boots in 7.5 because I like to wear thick wool socks. The 7.5 were a good fit for my right foot, but not for my left foot which is slightly wider. So there was some rubbing around the top of my left foot. Otherwise, I would've kept the boots. I especially loved the laces that adjust support around the ankles! Very good for those who roll their ankles easily.
  • Reviewed by On the lake from US/Can border on Wednesday, February 18, 2015
    These are wonderful headlamps. Very bright and easy to use. The ones I received from STP arrived with the batteries already installed and the tabs holding the case lid broken. The tabs are pretty flimsy, so that wasn't a surprise. The alpine emergency feature worked. All other light settings and the battery check did not work- on either of the two lamps I received.

    Both lamps had obviously been returned previously. Sadly, STP turned them around and sent them back out again. I contacted customer service where a very nice person was completely unhelpful and basically said yes, they are broken. Return them with a note that repeats everything you just wrote to me in the chat and if we confirm they are broken, we'll credit the shipping.

    I've received several damaged/defective items to STP recently. This used to be my go-to online store, but the quality, selection and customer service aren't what they used to be.

  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DenverLover from Colorado on Wednesday, February 18, 2015
    The headlamp offers many nice features - ease-of-use is not among them. There are multiple modes for this lamp, and, perhaps, usability got a backseat to ease-of-use. The button must be pressed multiple times in rapid frequency to turn the light on. The manual says twice, but generally, I must hit it three times to see anything. Sometimes I hit the button a couple of times and nothing happens. Maybe this is a feature, it is less likely to be turned on inadvertently on a trip draining the batteries before expected. But, for me, who wears this lamp walking the dog at night, this is not a feature. The several different modes of this light are nice. And, the light is quite bright. Overall, though, I do not recommend and would not purchase this again...
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hayabrusa from Detroit Lakes, MN on Thursday, February 12, 2015
    I would give these a 3 star rating, based on Mammut's quality and style. However, these boot run 1/2 size small - enough to be slightly uncomfortable, but not quite bad enough to send back. My other Mammut's (T Advanced GTX) fit absolutely perfect, so it may be just this model.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mt worker from montana on Wednesday, February 11, 2015
    Well made solid hiking boots. I plan on using them for backpacking. They have a nice wide toe box which I really like. No pinching on the toes. Boots are a little stiff and soles are stiff. I am in the process of wearing them to break them in. They seem to be getting more flexible and I think they are going to be really good backpacking boots.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by XXQQ from China on Tuesday, February 10, 2015
    Very comfort.
  • Reviewed by Adirondack Reedman from Lake George, NY on Monday, February 09, 2015
    So... I was in the market for an affordable Gore-Tex jacket- to take my love for snowshoeing to the high peaks in the Adirondacks. I have four kids and they always come first, so finding the right deal on a quality jacket was going to be my task. I first went to my local ski and bike shops to see what was out there and right away I realized that if I was going to buy a Gore-Tex jackets I was going to have to spend about $400.00 for anything worth a darn. Then I came across the Mammut Lanin Gore-Tex Jacket- and I knew it was the jacket for me. The specs were right on, and STP's price was fantastic- $153.51 delivered! In the past, I have always been concerned about the possibilities of factory seconds- but when I opened the package and inspected the jacket, all I can say is that it looks great. The only complaint I would say is that YES the zipper is a little tricky- just like others have stated. But I will see about lubing up the zippers and go from there. Personally, I am 6'0" and 195lbs. I have an athletic build, and believe that the XL is right for me- the arms are really long-so skiing, snowshoeing, and winter hiking will work out well with the design of this jacket. Personally, I would have comfortably given $250.00 for it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by CP from Colorado on Saturday, February 07, 2015
    The water bladder compatibility eliminates the need to carry a bottle and stop every time you need a sip. Straps are good.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by SadieMay from Wisconsin on Saturday, February 07, 2015
    I am glad I took the chance and ordered this jacket. The quality of this jacket is fantastic. I like lightweight/soft shell jackets. I tried a couple of other jackets - no good; poor quality and fit. The full length pit zip is great for cooling and allows for the addition of layers. This Mammut is a keeper.
  • Reviewed by Alex from Colorado on Friday, February 06, 2015
    I really like these shoes. I ordered the half size up like they recommended and they fit great. Everything about the shoe is awesome except the speed lacing system. I think that it is more of hassle than just tying your shoes regularly. You can remove the speed lacing system from the shoes so you can tie your shoes like a regular shoe. If you want a good trail shoe then I really recommend these shoes.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 67 »
  • 1-30 of 2005 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #
;