Passionate about the outdoors? So is Mammut. Since 1862, when Kaspar Tanner laid the groundwork for what would become this exemplary Swiss company, Mammut has been pioneering advancements in top-quality alpine gear. Advamced R&D teams research every conceivable performance angle to create products climbers and explorers can entrust with their lives. From abrasion and wind resistance to mobility and waterproof breath ability, Mammut excels in lasting clothing and gear that keeps you warm, dry, comfortable and safe on the mountain.
Average Rating based on 1945 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 65 »
  • 1-30 of 1945 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Camilo from NC on Saturday, September 13, 2014
    This Self locking device for less than $20 is great. I always wanted to have a self locking belay device but didn't want to pay the $100 for a Gregory.......I was hesitating when I got into this Mammut Smart Device since it was too good to be truth, I bought one and so far I love it!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by SYSTEMATIZER from BUSAN, South Korea on Friday, September 12, 2014
    Amazing..
    This is best Jacket when you are going to outdoor even if cold condition.

    I would Recommend you that the Mammut Ultimate Soft Shell Jacket JUST TAKE IT!!! AND YOU WILL HAPPY.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by a practical person from Maine on Wednesday, September 10, 2014
    Very nice quality and sensible design, But returning, not comfortable, and looked weird on me. If I adjusted the belt out enough to not be wedgifying, then they sat awfully low waisted for a dead-of-winter pants. The fabric seemed quiet moving by itself but made quite a swooping sound with each step. I expect a fair amount of noise with snow pants but they aren't all like that. The big legs but wedgifying top and snug ankle just fit weird on me. Not the pants' fault.
  • Reviewed by willis from SLC, Ut on Saturday, September 06, 2014
    soft fabric, well designed unlined, soft-shell jacket! however, not a good fit for me.

    I am 5'6" tall 130 lb and this jacket in size M is a very narrow fit!

    Narrow/tight fit through the trunk and this jacket covers my stomach which is longer in length than anticipated or desired, the length states 27". I guess I need a 25" length or something?

    I might have considered an exchange for a size L (order up) except with the 27" length plus the sleeves on this size M are too long and the wrist does not have velcro.
  • Reviewed by Snow from Alaska on Tuesday, September 02, 2014
    I wore these right out of the box on a 4 day hunting trip and these held up really well (and no blisters!). They definitely run a bit big. I am a 8.5 and considered going up to a 9 to accommodate thick socks but I got an 8.5 and am glad I did. I think they are borderline too big but my toes don’t smash into the front. The toe box is really wide (I have an average width foot) so that is nice. I walked up a riverbed on uneven rocks and the sole is super sturdy which helped since I was carrying a heavy pack. As for the waterproofness – first day, it poured rain and my feet stayed dry. Due to cold temps at night the outside of the boots did not get a chance to dry. Day 2 – snowed and walked through several inches of snow all day but my feet stayed dry. Overnight still freezing temps so outside did not get a chance to dry at all. Day 3 – boots started out dry but I continued walking through several inches of snow and foot slipped into the river so inside got wet on one boot. The other boot stayed dry until that afternoon - after walking through wet snowy bushes for hours the waterproofness finally gave in. I was pretty extreme on these boots and if you are looking for a tough, heavy duty pair of boots for backpacking and walking off trails I would recommend these. A great deal with Sierra Trading Post’s prices, you really cannot go wrong.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Pam from Oregon on Monday, September 01, 2014
    Mammut Quality, and I will be seen from a mile away!
  • Reviewed by Rhino from Oregon on Saturday, August 30, 2014
    I use this primarily for my 15-mile daily bike commute in the northwest on clear days in the fall, early winter, and spring. It of course has other uses, but that is what I primarily use it for. It blocks a bit of the wind, is form fitting and wicks my sweat away, provides some warmth, and breathes well. I LOVE the hood. It provides great protection from cold winds on my bike and fits under the helmet perfectly. I'll layer it under my biking rain shell when needed on cold days and I'm good to go. Mammut stuff is a little more pricy due to importing I think, so I usually steer towards OR or Marmot gear, but this is a very nice jacket if you catch it on a good STP coupon.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hikendance from Maine on Saturday, August 30, 2014
    Very happy with purchase...soft lite weight and warm...quick dry
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by HB in AVL from Western North Carolina on Sunday, August 24, 2014
    These boots felt great on my flat feet right out of the box, but did take a few short hikes to break them in, particularly at the lower shin. They are exceptionally stable along roots/rocks, watertight & quality crafted. Very happy with my decision to go with Mammut!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by lizzieb from Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk, Russia on Wednesday, August 20, 2014
    I've been shopping for a soft shell for quite some time and ordered this one on a whim, hoping for the best. And I am pleased I did! This is such a high quality jacket; nice, stretchy, heavy Gore-Tex material, lined with a light gray fuzzy (but not overly "fluffy" looking) material. I ordered a size L (I'm 5'3" and 165lb, pear shaped), and although it said it was equivalent to a size 10 (and I'm more a 12-14) it really did fit perfectly with room for a heavy sweater underneath. Sleeve length was a tiny bit long on me, but has velcro closures at the wrist to tighten up. Hood is fantastic; has a small brim to keep rain off and tightens down nice and close to keep wind out. All in all, a great jacket at a great STP price!
  • Reviewed by GDM from Chattanooga on Saturday, August 16, 2014
    Best backpacking headlamp available. The listed weight of 1.7 oz includes the battery. It is smaller and lighter than any other headlamp I have tried. I have had one for several years and it has never switched on accidentally in my pack, never failed and the battery goes a long way. I just bought 3 more because I am afraid it will be discontinued.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by MovieMom from Colorado on Thursday, August 14, 2014
    I have a very old pair of Raichle hiking boots and note that this boot is made by the same Swiss company. So I was looking forward to a good replacement for my old boots. Boots were nice but one had a wrinkle in the interior lining that just wasn't comfortable.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by CoPeakBagr from High Rockies, CO on Thursday, August 07, 2014
    I've used this top a few times and found that it's a great light layering piece for summer at altitude. It's a little light for when the mercury really drops but it's great for summer in the Rockies when the weather changes quick and temps drop into the 40's-50's at elevation. Under a rain jacket with a mid layer like a Cap 2 or 3 it's perfect for bagging 14er's or stuffing in my climbing pack. I'm 6' 3" 200lbs and the XL fit well, athletic fit but not too tight, which is right in line with the sizing chart. Having a longer torso it was nice to find that the hem was long enough, didn't look like a crop-top on me as a lot of pieces do. Overall really nice light weight pullover for layering in mild conditions.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by photojon from Chicago suburbs on Thursday, July 31, 2014
    Wore these a lot on a recent vacation in Europe. Very light and packable, and quick drying. These were my go to pants if the weather report predicted rain. Would be better if a little spandex was mixed into the nylon. Thus 4 stars, instead of 5.
  • Reviewed by aep4776 from Albany, NY on Thursday, July 31, 2014
    I wanted so badly to love this jacket. I kept it for weeks trying to justify it to myself, but the sizing is just off. Hips fit like a small, but shoulder and upper body are big. I have a 34C chest, and the Small is at least one, maybe two sizes to big in the chest. Sleeves are a good two inches too long too. If you have long arms and a huge chest, the coat is a steal!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Billy "Random". from Sierra Nevada on Thursday, July 31, 2014
    I use this for day to day living. Which is sometime thruhiking and sometimes growing herb out on a hillside. Last time I bought two in case I lost one. You can't buy these just anywhere. Not at REI. I can nighthike and read books with it and it takes ONE AA. If you put a lithium AA in it you are good for a looong time.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Whitney from Kentucky on Thursday, July 31, 2014
    I got this to take backpacking. It fits great- The sleeves and jacket are long enough, which is often an issue for me. I'm 5'10 and weigh 140- the medium is perfect. It's flattering but not supper fitted through the middle like some other women's soft shells, but this gives me room to wear a base layer underneath. I wish they had more color options. I ordered the blue which is really pretty, just a little bright compared to what I usually like to wear. This isn't a super warm jacket, but is durable and well made and will definitely stop the wind, which is half the battle. Overall this is a great jacket- thanks again STP!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by hiker from Glacier on Monday, July 28, 2014
    heavy and runs large in both length and width, but very well insulated and waterproof with waxing, even though they are not technically "waterproof." These boots stayed dry when goretex did not.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by lijingtian from New York on Tuesday, July 22, 2014
    Great pants, from the fabric to the pants.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Happy Traveler from Indiana on Sunday, July 20, 2014
    Was disappointed in the fit of these. While the fabric is nice and soft, the overall fit didn't work for me. There was too much of a gap at the back of the waist. These probably work very well for someone with a straighter figure.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Clara Bauer from Nevada on Thursday, July 17, 2014
    Being summer, I haven't had a chance to try this out too much yet, but it seems to hold up the standard I've learned to expect from Mammut, in that the materials are cut to fit the body very well. This is my third Mammut purchase and I was so excited for it to come I ran down to meet the UPS driver and put the jacket on (in the summer with no A/C) as soon as I took it out of the box. I also love how long the jacket is. The length makes it so that I don't have to pull it down as often. I am excited for the cooler weather to come so I can wear it more frequently. The thickness of the material of this particular jacket feels nice to the touch as well. I wish the sleeves had thumb-holes but that is the only thing I would change about it.
  • Reviewed by Sierra from Maine on Thursday, July 17, 2014
    As I generally like Mammut products and needed a new leather boot for backpacking, I had great hope for these boots. As noted by several reviewers, these boots have a roomy toe box and the fit was such that I did not think my toes would slide forward. The footbed was also comfortable for me. But the interior of the tongue had rough uncomfortable stitching that it was impossible to wear these comfortably. I was not convinced that breaking in was going to fix the problem, so, sadly, I had to return them.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Di from Alabama on Wednesday, July 02, 2014
    I've purchased 3 thus far and all have functioned properly. You have to read the instructions to know how to turn them on. Yeah, I hate to read instructions, but these are good lights.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mighty Mo from Portland on Thursday, June 26, 2014
    It took some getting used to, as it's different from a tube device or a grigri. But once you get the feel of it, it just feels natural. The feeding of rope while lead climbing is awesome and it cams the rope beautifully when there is a lead fall, giving it a slightly dynamic belay. Top rope belaying is awesome! It works like a grigri, but way, way cheaper thanks to Sierra Trading Post!
  • Reviewed by Erik from Dallas on Wednesday, June 18, 2014
    this is a modern very light and powerful lamp. Nothing like the lamps from 25 years ago.
  • Reviewed by thetrailboss from Utah on Tuesday, June 17, 2014
    Bought this on a whim for use as a good all around hardshell that is not too bulky. It has lived up to that expectation. It has a GREAT hood for ski helmets and is waterproof and yet breathable enough so that I don't drown in my own perspiration. It has done very well in snow, sleet, rain, and everything in between here in the Wasatch. It is very light weight with little bulk but has the tech stuff I love (pockets, good hood, etc). It looks sharp. The liner is nice inside. The shell material is beefy enough to stand regular wear and tear and I don't feel like I have to worry about it tearing or falling apart.

    The zipper can be stubborn and, like other Mammut stuff, the zipper inserts on the opposite side of most coats. This can be odd. I'd also prefer a flap over the zipper instead of the plastic/rubber waterproof seal over the zipper. After six months no leaks or anything.

    A good jacket that is a good value for the price. I have used it in all but the coldest temperatures, but it would be fine in winter with layering underneath.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Curt and Latasha the everyday campers. from Bay Area-Sierra Nevada-California on Thursday, June 05, 2014
    As a man it is very hard to buy something stylish that your wife will enjoy and wear, I bought this for my wife and it has turned out to be one of the first pieces of clothing that she just went Ape over, it is of wonderful quality and has a style that just cant be beat. the fit is wonderful and it has a very nice lining that is top notch and is what you would expect from a Mammut product, I bought this soft shell jacket for our outdoor adventures but it has turned into one of her favorite jackets that she now wears often. Mammut and myself hit a home run on this one, so if you are man looking to earn good chips with the wife, do yourself a favor and grab one of these jackets while you can before they are gone.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by New Mexico gal from NM on Tuesday, June 03, 2014
    Have already worn these pants twice in late spring/snowy conditions - very comfortable and warm, but breathable too!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by eva from Jacksonville, oregon on Sunday, June 01, 2014
    I like the material and how stretchy it is . Mammut pants always fit very well.
  • Reviewed by aep4776 from Albany, NY on Friday, May 30, 2014
    Wanted to so badly to like this shirt. Color, quality, and design is great. But the fit is just off. Way too low cut for any activities one would normally where Mammut for. Maybe PJs?
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 65 »
  • 1-30 of 1945 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
;