Customer Reviews Of:
Marker Helios Gore-Tex® Ski Jacket - Waterproof, Insulated (For Men)

Closeouts. Top to bottom, Marker Helios ski jacket has all the features snowsport athletes need to thrive on the mountain. A Gore-Tex® waterproof breathable Performance Shell is joined by synthetic insulation for premium weather protection and low-bulk warmth.

Average Rating based on 22 reviews 4.590909 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 3
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by skyangel_k1 from Sydney, Australia on Tuesday, March 20, 2012
    The jacket fits really well and is well insulated and waterproof - my husband is a 5'7" slim built and he wears an S for this jacket although he wears mainly an M for other stuff like Tshirts and shirts. He's thinking of getting the equivalent brand in the pants version as well. We tested it by hosing him down with a high pressure garden hose - he was absolutely dry, not a drop leaked in, except when I sprayed him in the face. This is a really good buy and we'll be using it in the Arctic and also it is versatile enough to be used in the city areas during winter - it is not too bulky.
    • Best Uses: Arctic and cruising, Backcountry, Casual Wear, Hiking, Skiing, Snowboarding
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Gear Usage: Arctic zodiac gear, Cold Weather Living, Winter Sports
    • Pros: Breathable, Durable, Lightweight, Stylish, Warm, Waterproof, Wind Resistant
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Giovanni from Windham, Maine on Wednesday, March 14, 2012
    Careful on sizing within the Marker line. I purchased this jacket uninsulated thru another retailer- and it was huge (XL). They had no large to exchange. I came upon this and ordered the large- unaware that this is an insulated Helios. It was snug and was fortunate to return and exchange for XL- perfect. Thanx to STP for the great customer service and exchanging was quick.
    • Best Uses: Skiing
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Gear Usage: Winter Sports
    • Pros: Breathable, Lightweight, Stylish, Warm, Waterproof, Wind Resistant
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by dwarren from Mass on Thursday, February 2, 2012
    I bought this coat primarily for the gore tex and the price. With a coupon, this coat was a steal. I got it, and didn't expect the fit to be great, but it was. I'm 6'2", 175lbs, and a medium fits me perfectly. The powder skirt doesn't exactly fit snug around, but that's fine.

    It's really waterproof. When I got it, I stood with it in the shower to test it out, and the water beaded right off. I think that's the durable water repellent and not the gore-tex, so I'm expecting the DWR to wear off over time, but the gore-tex will still be doing it's job keeping me dry. It's insulated, so it keeps me at a nice temperature, not too hot and not too cold. If the temperature gets below +20F I'd wear it with a base layer, like a fleece or a heavy sweater, but otherwise it's nice and comfortable. The pit zips help keep air flowing and cool you off fast if you overheat.

    The hood is nice, and is large enough to fit over my cycling and skiing helmet. It has a stiff bill that holds its shape in the rain and wind, and you can cinch in the sides from a pull string in the back to have it grip your head. The hood's also removable, so is the powder skirt.

    All in all, it's a nice coat, but don't get it because you want to be stylish. I was looking at a marmot and decided to go with this because of the price, and I still wish I had went with the marmot for style. Oh well.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Skiing, Snowboarding
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Style
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, winter cycling, Winter Sports
    • Pros: Breathable, Lightweight, Warm, Waterproof, Wind Resistant
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Built weird from Springfield, MO on Thursday, February 2, 2012
    Overall, quality built. Nice features for price. However, front zipper seemed a little cheap and did not appear waterproof. Unfortunately, I never got to test it. I'm 5' 9", ~190#, 32 inch waist, 42 inch chest, muscular build (but not overly so), long arms for height. I ordered a medium and it fit well across chest and shoulders, was a little generous across the middle/abdomin but the sleeves were too short. I returned is and ordered a Columbia Cubique, size large--tailored, athletic fit--and couldn't be happier.
    • Best Uses: Skiing
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Constricts Movement, Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Gear Usage: Winter Sports
    • Pros: Breathable, Lightweight, Waterproof, Wind Resistant
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too short
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ched from Birmingham, AL on Monday, January 30, 2012
    Seamless exchange process. Replaced item was last of its kind and sent right away w/o waiting for other item to return. Customer service rep extremely helpful and accommodating. Will definitely look to do biz again.
    • Best Uses: Skiing
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Gear Usage: Winter Sports
    • Pros: Breathable, Durable, Stylish, Waterproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Gerry from St. John's,NL on Monday, January 30, 2012
    I read the other reviews and noticed this jacket was made large. I'm 6'1" 175 and normally wear a large but the M fits perfectly. I recently wore this jacket on a 10 day trip to the BC interior and Banff and found it great. For active skiing just 2 light layers beneath were fine to -8 C. The helmet ready hood is also great for blustery
    days on the chair lift.
    • Best Uses: Skiing
    • Chest Size: Feels too big
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Gear Usage: Winter Sports
    • Pros: Warm, Waterproof, Wind Resistant
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too long
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by East Coast recreational skier from Mid Atlantic on Saturday, January 21, 2012
    I was going to pull the trigger on a red one at the store for [$] (plus tax), then found this one for about $100.00 less. Great find, used it skiing three times already. While this is beyond a shell, in sub 30 (F) temps you'll want a fleece or the equivalent underneath.
    • Best Uses: Skiing winter sports
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Limited color choice
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Gear Usage: Winter Sports
    • Pros: Price, Quality
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by MIKE NJ from NJ on Wednesday, October 5, 2011
    HOT COLOR
    GREAT FIT
    GORETEX
    • Best Uses: Skiing
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Winter Sports
    • Pros: GORE TEX MATERIAL
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by skippy from vail, co on Thursday, September 1, 2011
    ordered a L as I'm 6'2" 185#.The sleeves were too long and the chest was "plenty" big, so I sent it back for a M. PERFECT fit as I have long arms anyway.
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Expert
    • Gear Usage: Winter Sports
    • Pros: Lightweight, Warm, Waterproof, Wind Resistant
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too long
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Skippy from Vail, CO on Monday, August 29, 2011
    great coat. I first had a L and returned it for a M. Fit great. I'm 6'2". 190#.
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Skiing
    • Chest Size: Feels too big
    • Describe Yourself: Expert
    • Gear Usage: Winter Sports
    • Pros: Lightweight, Warm, Waterproof, Wind Resistant
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too long
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 3