Marmot 20°F Sorcerer Sleeping Bag - Long, Synthetic, Mummy

Closeouts. So lofty, you might just wonder if it's down. Marmot's 20°F Sorcerer sleeping bag overlaps waves of cozy Spirafil insulation to eliminate cold spots. And unlike down, the quality synthetic fill insulates and dries quickly when it gets wet.

Average Rating based on 24 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 24 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ktmpeak from idaho on Wednesday, November 05, 2014
    The zippers work well. There is room enough in the bag and the warmth is pretty good. And the weight is pretty good for a backpacking bag.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by mitch from TN on Wednesday, October 22, 2014
    This is a great sleeping bag. I accidentally ordered the long, but I really don't mind having some extra space at the bottom. I don't plan to be camping when 20 degree weather hits so the space is nice. I was out in mid 40 degree weather and it kept me quite warm. I really like that the zipper goes all the way down the side with the ability to vent from the bottom. It's also incredibly comfortable. My only issue is that it's quite large, but other than that it's a great bag.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chris from OH on Tuesday, October 21, 2014
    Bought this for my son for a recent backpacking trip with his older brothers. Very light and compact. Kept him warm and dry. I bought the long because he is tall-but he is also thin-so the only complaint he had was that it was too wide for him in the shoulders. The bag did not disappoint but the packaging did-this obviously was a return because it was just thrown in a big box and shipped. Surely, someone could have taken the time to roll it up and put it back in the stuff sack it came with for presentation purposes and a smaller shipping vessel.
  • Reviewed by Beesy from Ohio on Monday, July 28, 2014
    Pros: Great value

    Cons: Zipper grabs draft tube easily.

    Used this bag on a recent 15 day trip out west where night temperatures ranged from 32F to 53F. Was used in conjunction with a Thermarest Luxury pad. Slept fine through 32F-34F nights although I wouldn't take it much lower, especially on a lesser pad. Opened it up and used like a blanket on warmer nights. I couldn't find a comfort rating on the bag but I would suspect it's around 32-33F. The draft tube is not snagless as indicated and I often ran the zipper up on it which was kind of a pain. Packs down small enough for car camping would not suggest taking it out on the trail due to size and weight - if that's your intention get down. Overall a pretty good bag for the price.

    Other thoughts: The bag appears to be made only for STP as I couldn't find any info on any other site, including Marmot's. I'm thinking it might be a private label Trestles 20, which was discontinued. It's listed as a closeout yet my bag had a spring 2014 MFG date on it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jobin from Colorado on Monday, July 28, 2014
    my summer backpacking bag is a marmot minimalist 40 and after getting caught in a few summer snow storms in Colorado I decided it was time to start bringing a warmer bag. This bag isn't the lightest or the most compact but with some compression straps it fits in the sleeping bag section of my pack. while its no 2 lb down bag for the price you cant beat it. I just used it for a week in the Weminuche wilderness area and it performed wonderfully we saw temps in the 30s and i was comfortable with it partially unzipped. this bag is perfect for car camping or the budget minded backpacker.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hunt from Vt on Thursday, June 26, 2014
    This bag is very well made,but I don't see how I am going to compress it down for backpacking. It will be great for car camping though.
  • Reviewed by Steve Basset from Virginia on Wednesday, May 28, 2014
    Comparable to more expensive bags, it's compresses better than some nicer synthetics I've owned(10 years ago)VERY lofty, it just looks warm and comfy). Zipper looks durable, doesn't seem to snag. Fits well in my 12 year old Gregory Shasta internal frame. Less than 4lbs for the long model. Is a few ounces really with paying double the price?
  • Reviewed by tomdagadget from wyoming on Monday, May 05, 2014
    I bought this bag as a cool summer/spring/early fall bag. First time out the temp dropped into the low 30's and I stayed very comfortable. I am a large guy who has always had problems fitting into most mummy bags but this one fit just fine with plenty of room for my shoulders and hips. I have had some very bad experiences with down bags getting wet so I will live with the slightly higher weight of a synthetic bag. This bag should work for me down to around 0 degrees
  • Reviewed by Jon from Minnesota on Tuesday, March 25, 2014
    I have yet to use it camping, but it seems very warm and comfortable. Happy I went with the long, thought there's plenty of room in it (I'm 6'1"). The only knock is the pack size, which is larger than I expected and some what difficult to fit into the stuff sack. Though at this price point, I'm not sure it gets much better.
  • Reviewed by 100Grit from North Carolina on Monday, March 24, 2014
    Good bag for the money. I backpack with it and don't worry much because its sort of disposable. I washed it once and feels a bit lumpy like the're be some cold spots where the insulation shifted and is thinner in some areas. The seams tore in one area but easy to sew up. Like I said...abuse it, repair it, throw it away and get a new one. This is not an heirloom bag-but a good bang for the buck. My zero degree bag is much higher quality but I use it less and baby it more.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 24 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.