Marmot 40°F Wind River Sleeping Bag - 600 Fill Power Down, Semi-Rectangular

Closeouts. Marmot's 40°F Wind River sleeping bag is ideal for those who want Marmot quality but can't stand the confines of a mummy bag. Semi-rectangular bag lends easier movement and keeps you snug on cool nights with 600 fill power down.

Average Rating based on 31 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 4 »
  • 1-10 of 31 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by the sleeper from Wisconsin on Friday, August 13, 2010
    I use the sleeping bag when we travel by boat. It's light, doesn't take up much room and comfortable.
    • Best Uses: Overnights in the boat
    • Pros: Adjustable Hood, Comfortable, Lightweight, Packs Small, Roomy, Warm
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by KB from San Diego, CA on Wednesday, August 11, 2010
    Weight online says 1 lb. 15 oz., but on the tag of the bag it clearly states 2 lb 7oz. Which is still ok, but not as exciting.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bubs from Pueblo de Vaca, Texas on Tuesday, August 10, 2010
    It's hard to find a quality lightweight sleeping bag that fits Texas camping conditions. We rarely have the colder nights and many bags are unsuitable for milder nights. I am enjoying it!
    • Best Uses: Car Camping, Warm Weather
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Packs Small, Roomy
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Reviewed by Craig from North Dakota on Wednesday, July 28, 2010
    Took the bag on a week long backpack trip in the Beartooth Mts in Montana. It froze at night and found I needed long underwear to be comfortable. Stuff sack was large enough to hold therm-a-rest, long underwear and bag. Loved the drawcord! Will never buy another one without a drawcord.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking
    • Pros: Drawcord opening, Lightweight, Packs Small
  • Reviewed by JimS from Anchorage, AK on Saturday, July 24, 2010
    I don't like mummy bags, and this bag is just wide enough to give me room to breath. When I tried it out last winter, I added a lightweight (1.5 lb.) technical blanket as the temps dropped into the teens, but I stayed comfortable all night. Most of my camping is with temps in the 40's at night, and I find this bag a little warm as it gets above that. But it zips completely open and makes a nice blanket in warmer weather.

    As always, your choice in sleeping pads makes a major difference in keeping warm, as more heat conducts through the bottom than radiates out of the top. With a good pad, this bag's 40 degree rating is conservative. With a poor pad, or none at all...

    With a decent compression bag it packs very small, and if you're likely to get wet make sure the compression bag is waterproof, as down does not dry easily.
    • Best Uses: 3 Season Camping, Backpacking
    • Cons: Shell Absorbs Water
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Packs Small, Roomy, Warm
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Fish Chaser from Skamnia County, WA on Thursday, July 22, 2010
    Currently using fully open as a comforter.
    • Best Uses: 3 Season Camping, Car Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Environmentalist
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Packs Small, Warm
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by SteelieRan from Northern California on Monday, May 31, 2010
    This bag rocks. The 3/4 Mummy design is genius. Zips up around your shoulders to keep your body toasty but allows your head to be exposed; so this is definitely a warmer weather bag. The temp rating is accurate; just got back from a trip where it dipped a little below 40 and it was comfortable but could not go much further before you could really feel it. The stuff sack it come with is a joke though (not the quality but the size); Get a good compression stuff sack and I bet you could get this down to the size of a softball. Buy this bag if the above fits what you are looking for.
    • Best Uses: 3 Season Camping, Backpacking, Car Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Packs Small, Roomy
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Katabasis from Grants Pass, OR on Wednesday, May 26, 2010
    Perfect summer bag when it is hot outside. Packs very small and yet is roomy for a 6'3" guy.
    • Best Uses: 3 Season Camping, Backpacking, Car Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Packs Small, Roomy
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Reviewed by Undecided from New Jersey on Wednesday, May 5, 2010
    The weight on STP is incorrect; weight on the item's tag is listed as 2lbs 7ozs. That's .5 lb off and 5oz heavier than my ems 20 degree mtn light. This does not come with a stuff sack. It does come with a large sack for storage and a smaller sack for transport. No compression straps, and the small sack is 2x the size it needs to be. The bag does feel comfortable, compresses nice, and fits into my ems 20 degree mtn light stuff sack. I was in-between buying this and the Sierra Designs 45°F Arrow Rock Mummy. I chose the Marmot because of the brand,reviews,more room,ability to join 2 bags together and lighter weight(which it's not). Anxious to use it on 3 different trips this month in NY; I will report back next month :)
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Lightweight, Packs Small, Roomy
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Golden from Missouri on Saturday, April 3, 2010
    I took this bag on a backpacking trip to the Smokeys in early spring. It packed down great in the included stuff sack, yet fluffed out and warmed up nicely. The night conditions were wet/snowy and the temperatures were slightly lower than the rating on the bag, but I took care to keep the bag dry and was quite comfortable. The extra length and cut of the bag gave me plenty of room to move around.
    • Best Uses: 3 Season Camping, Backpacking
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Lightweight, Packs Small, Roomy, Warm
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 4 »
  • 1-10 of 31 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.