Marmot 5°F Snowcrest Sleeping Bag - 600 Fill Power Down, Mummy, Long

Closeouts. When temperatures plunge as night decends in the backcountry, Marmot's Snowcrest 5° sleeping bag wraps you in the lightweight, lofty warmth of 600 fill power goose down.

Average Rating based on 10 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-10 of 10 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Aabbey from Texas on Wednesday, December 10, 2014
    I only tested it in 40 degree F weather, At this point it was fine
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Former Philmont Ranger from Idaho on Saturday, November 1, 2014
    My wife and I have starting backpacking and camping again and when the mercury dipped below freezing in Yellowstone's backcountry last Fall, the wife's sleeping bag wasn't cutting it. I bought her the Marmot Snowcrest before when we camped out at 8,200 feet last month, the wind was blowing the temps dropped to 27F ... and she was warm! When we returned from our five-day camping trip, I immediately replaced my ALPS sleeping bag with a Marmot Snowcrest too but in the long version. We learned of Marmot's quality when we got our Limelight 3P tent and found the same quality in these bags - lightweight, compresses down, and warm. And with STP's great prices and FAST shipping we are very happy campers.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Falconhumper from Fairbanks, Alaska on Wednesday, October 1, 2014
    Very long and luxurious and even though it is the widest bag they make ,sadly still not wide enough. I love the quality. It's truly amazing and WARM. So soft and fluffy it's like a thousand angels licking you all over. So warm in fact I have to be careful to not wake up sweaty.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mountain Monkey from Provo, UT on Monday, September 15, 2014
    I loved the look and feel of this bag. First use was no tent, on a bed of grass that I laid out. I haven't tried it out in anything sub freezing yet but I was very very warm my first experience so I anticipate good results. My only gripe is that the stuff/compression sack does not have any good way to attach it to a bag.
  • Reviewed by Wasatch Camper from Wasatch Mountains. on Monday, June 23, 2014
    I have been camping with this in all kind of weather from the low teens to the 50s at night, snow, rain and clear night. I have slept so well in this bag, I will forever be a marmot down camper from now on. I accidentally got the long bag (I'm only 5'10") but I dont regret it, in the winter there is plenty of space to put my clothes in the bottom of the bag so I dont have to put on frozen clothes. It is also warm enough that I didnt need to sleep with a hat in the low teens, or use the hood at all in the 20s. This bag is also light and compact enough to take backpacking, and even on the warmer nights in june I am still comfortable. I have actually taken many naps in this bag in my basement, it's that comfy. Debating between this bag and another? Get this one.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by David from Northern Michigan on Saturday, April 19, 2014
    I like this bag. The down has good loft. The material is of good quality. Features including the hood's asymetrical draw strings, and the draft collar work very well and provide excellent comfort. I am impressed by the inclusion of a large, mesh storage bad and a good quality stuff sack which compressed the bag to about a foot by 6" in diameter. I've slept in this bag over below freezing nights and indoors at a friend's house. The bag worked great under both temperature ranges.
  • Reviewed by Handy Man from Wyoming on Tuesday, February 4, 2014
    I have been searching for a bag that is 90 inches and I finally found it. Lots of room and well made bag.
  • Reviewed by Ramblin' Rej from Oregon on Thursday, April 25, 2013
    The bag appears to be a top quality 600 fill power bag; however as it is rated to 5 degrees F is something of a stretch.Even given the adding of the 20 degrees that is a thum nail approach to warmth in a bag, it still seemed a little thin. Meaning; I bought it to augment my older 600 fill power down bag and in spite of putting it in the dryer with tennis balls and fluffing it to the max., it still clearly would not "fluff" to meet a sub freezing night.( it never fluffed to get to the older bags apparant insulation quality). Unless of course you dressed in full out door attire, I would not want to face the Eagle Cap in October in that bag.. I am actually returning it in favor of a 800 fill power down bag. Its my mistake , not the bags. Sierra shipped it as promised, on time and for what it is; it looks to be a great bag!
  • Reviewed by avid bike rider from Virginia on Friday, March 1, 2013
    It is warm and roomy
  • Reviewed by MrMoonbeam from Woodbury CT on Sunday, February 3, 2013
    This was my first winter bag and first mummy bag. This is also lighter by a few pounds than my aging 3 season down bag with a tight knit cotton (almost canvas like) exterior.
    I've just had my chance to try it out this weekend when the weather dipped to the mid teens at night, and an inch dusting of snow was predicted.
    My son & I went out to his platform treehouse, each armed with a self inflating air mattress, and our respective bags.
    He used double bags, and multiple layers of clothes along with gloves and a hat, and ended up with a nice ice crust in the AM - and smiles.
    I wanted to push the envelope of what this bag could do so I wore some thick winter wool socks, jeans and a midweight flannel and topped it with a smartwool beanie (as I would if I were backapacking)
    It was a bit difficult to get the bag sorted at first. I tried to use a pillow from the house, but this made the hood too bulky so that ended up on the outside nearby. I found that once it cinched up it was more comfortable than I expected. While it dipped to perhaps 17 overnight, I was ok and pleasingly warm throughout. I had problems sleeping on my back as the falling snow tickled my face irritatingly until I flipped onto my side, and was just as comfortable. I noticed as others had, that the larger the space and air pocket the more that particular area tends to feel slightly colder - so size this appropriately. My relatively thin clothes probably made me more sensitive to this, but that was my intent.
    I am 6ft 2, and 185 pounds and the long size fit me very well with ample room at the feet without being too much.

    I had never used a mummy bag before my purchase, so I'm sure some of my issues were simply getting used to things such as centering the hood, and awkwardly tightning the closures while striving to keep my hands inside the bag.

    All in all a great bag. My main beef was the zipper tended to snag as it came to the top, but this may have been due to positioning or experience. This seems to be appropriately rated, though I'm not sure I'd use it for temps lower than 5 without some serious layering. Get this with a coupon and it is a steal. Great color too :)
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-10 of 10 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.