Marmot Ajax 2 Tent - 2-Person, 3-Season

Closeouts. Dependable and easy to set up, Marmot's Ajax 2 tent minimizes weight by keeping things simple yet highly functional. Mesh panels provide optimal ventilation and a Catenary Cut floor lifts seams off the ground for full waterproof protection in nasty weather.

Average Rating based on 68 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 7 »
  • 1-10 of 68 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Goldfinger from Orangevale, CA on Tuesday, July 15, 2014
    Just picked this up and honestly have only set it up at home, but I wanted to post a quick review listing the weight of the tent as weighed by a user. This was information that I was looking for before I bought:

    right out of the box with everything: 5lb 0.2 oz.
    without stuff sack 4lb 14.7 oz.
    just poles 14.8 oz.
    stakes 5.5 oz.
    fly 1lb 10.7oz.

    Hope that helps someone. This tent being all mesh I'm thinking without the fly it will be almost useless unless it's really warm. So unfortunately, the weight is the weight. To drop an extra pound I would've had to spend at least double or get a very minimalist style tent, which I don't care for. I do still need a footprint which will add a bit more weight. If anyone has advice on where to get one please drop me a line.
  • Reviewed by Meg from Pennsylvania on Friday, July 4, 2014
    I normally don't ever write reviews, but felt compelled to write one about this tent. Because it was a closeout item, I was skeptical as I took it on a section hike of the Appalachian Trail. This tent worked beautifully! Light, easy to set up, and withstood a torrential rainfall. We were set up in a bad spot, and had a few inches of rain underneath the tent. It was like a waterbed whenever we'd move, but no rain got inside and we were completely dry. I was shocked. I did buy a footprint for underneath the tent. (Could find the exact one to fit this tent, but went with a Marmot brand with similar dimensions.) Plenty of room for 2 people. There was enough room underneath the canopy for our packs.
  • Reviewed by Dirk from Wisconsin on Saturday, June 28, 2014
    Great tent, light, easy to set up, you will stay dry in the worst rain. If you are camping solo it fits with plenty of room for you and your gear. If you have two people who are small it would be fine for just people. But that is true of basically all tents and I use it as a solo tent and am 6' 2'' so I love the size. I should say that this tent is so easy to set up that I could set it all up by myself in ten minutes with a broken arm. Final review is that I am more than satisfied with it and would recommend it to anyone.
  • Reviewed by MountainMatt from Boston, North Shore on Tuesday, June 10, 2014
    This tent is ideal for summer backpacking trips. The tent is very easy to set up, 1 person can do it pretty easy and 2 people can set it up in 5 minutes or so. The mesh makes it very breathable. I have been caught in 2 extreme downpours with this tent and stayed dry - no leaks or water seeping through the floor. It's liteweight and easy to pack. The only downside is its small. It is roomy enough for 2 smaller people to sleep in, but 2 bigger guys would be tight. Thats the only reason its not a 5 star..
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Folly Fullnut from San Francisco, CA on Saturday, May 24, 2014
    I used this for my latest cub scout outing...my son and I had the tent up before everyone else! Very easy to put up. Held up on a very windy day. Light weight. Will use this for back packing.
  • Reviewed by Randy nature lover from North Carolina on Thursday, March 27, 2014
    Great tent sets up in minutes,nothing like a two door Marmot.
  • Reviewed by Perp from Utah on Monday, March 17, 2014
    This is a great backpacking tent, especially considering the price. It is a breeze to set up, and the dual doors are very nice to have. The dual vestibules on the rain fly are pretty roomy. Some have commented about it being a bit warm with the fly on, as there isn't much in the way of venting in the fly, apart from unzipping the vestibules. This is a valid concern, but I haven't run into the situation where this has been a problem for me yet.
  • Reviewed by patrick from alabama on Tuesday, February 18, 2014
    This tent is roomy, light, and easy to set up. My only complaint is i didnt see a footprint offered for it.
  • Reviewed by almost Perfect from ID on Wednesday, February 5, 2014
    Tent is awesome, but the rain fly appears to be improperly cut as the vestibule pull outs will not tighten snug. This will most definitely result in wind flap, and will probably also pool water to a single location of the door (on each side). Tent is nicely sized for a large single or tight two-man (as most are these days), and the tent really is great.... but is worthless to me without a good fitting rain fly. It's going to be returned. :(

    Fortunately, STP makes returns simple and hassle free. Gotta love that!
  • Reviewed by tjt from sierra's on Sunday, December 29, 2013
    easy to set up; plenty of interior space and headspace, especially for its weight
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 7 »
  • 1-10 of 68 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.