Customer Reviews Of:
Marmot Ama Dablam Down Jacket - 800 Fill Power (For Men)

Closeouts. Named for a prominent Himalayan peak near Mount Everest, Marmot's Ama Dablam down jacket provides ultralight warmth in an expedition-ready jacket that packs up small.

Average Rating based on 98 reviews 4.479591 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 10
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Copper from Atlanta on Tuesday, April 26, 2016
    Always have seen this jacket but for what ever reason I thought it was low tech, old fashioned, and not stylish. I finally tried it out and instantly loved it. First the slate color looks awesome. Its actually very stylish too. There is a lot of fill in the arms and torso so I'm sure this jacket will be very warm. The quality seems outstanding. The fit leaves just enough room to make this a perfect overcoat for extreme alpine weather but not too loose you couldn't wear it as a primary outer layer. This seems to be the standard in winter jackets. For this price it may be the most sastisfying buy ever.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jim from Vernon Hills from Illinois on Monday, April 25, 2016
    This is my second 800Fill jacket purchased from Sierra. Loved the first one and like this one as well. The hood is what I needed to be added, so selected this one. Only down side is that it is now water proofed, so will add that coating soon. Otherwise, very light, seems relatively warm, but as per other reviews, not a super warm winter type jacket. Great for fall or travel use, which is what I was looking for.
  • Reviewed by Mike from DE on Wednesday, April 20, 2016
    It's a very comfort light weight jacket with good compressibility. Unfortunately, I can write nothing about the warming ability because a good weather is outside. But when I tested the jacket at home then was hot.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Drstovetop from Washington on Wednesday, April 13, 2016
    I bought this jacket with the intention of either supplementing or replacing my Marmot Zeus jacket. I love the Zeus but have found it to be either too warm or not warm enough. I figured, for the times that it wasn't warm enough this would be it. Sadly, it just didn't work out as I thought it would.

    First, to be clear, it is a good jacket. Super warm and very compressible (compressed down smaller than the Zeus. It fit a bit baggier than my Zeus of the same size (large) but that is the best part about this jacket (the Zeus fit kind of small and was short on the sleeves). When I put the jacket on to test the fit I had to take it off before I could decide on the fit because I started sweating.

    Sadly, despite my love and near exclusive use of Marmot products, I decided to return it. I think this jacket would work just fine for what I had purchased it for but it was just a bland coat. The colors were bland, the style was bland, it was just uninspiring. I realize that depending on the intended use of the coat the style may not matter. And if that is the case, then, for the price, this is a killer deal. I opted to go with a more expensive coat with a little more refinement and style. In the end I probably paid more for a coat that, in the field, will not do anything more, but I am not a professional athlete and Marmot does not provide me with more gear than I know what to do with so, as a paying consumer I choose to have something that works while climbing a mountain and looks good at work.

    Ultimately, this is a good coat, just not as much style as I would like.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by keokukted from colorado on Sunday, April 10, 2016
    This jacket is very light weight and very warm for the weight. It is a sewn through construction, but has a full lining so the cold spots on the seams aren't so bad. There is a nice zip pocket on the chest for glasses and a large interior zip pocket.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by yxlb1979 from China on Friday, April 8, 2016
    It is my first time to buy item in stp,I like it
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by William Tab from Portland on Thursday, April 7, 2016
    Can whole package in his pocket, very convenient to carry. Neckline, side pockets warm fabrics, design humane.
    Sierra Trading Post customer service staff patiently answered questions, fast delivery, is commendable.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by czf from china on Thursday, April 7, 2016
    nice
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hawkeye Reader from Iowa on Monday, March 14, 2016
    I have always been skeptical of these types of coats durability but not anymore. I really like its'
    light weight and comfort and was very surprised by it warmth. The purchase price through STP was remarkable.
  • Reviewed by Peter the climber from New York on Sunday, March 6, 2016
    This coat is not very warm at all as there is hardly any insulation in it. Most of the reviews seem way off to me. People who say they are comfortable around 0 degrees are nuts. The jacket is paper thin.

    I can use it around 35 degrees and up.
    I bought it to replace a torn up north face nuptse down jacket, which was a good combo of warm and light.
    Unfort this marmot jacket isn't warm enough to replace the north face. I guess I'll just use it in the fall.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 10