Marmot Boulder 35 Backpack

Closeouts. Ideal for all of your off-trail pursuits, Marmot's Boulder 35 backpack has plenty of space for textbooks and daily essentials and features a padded sleeve for your laptop.

Average Rating based on 77 reviews 4.220779 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • « 1 ... 7 8
  • 61-70 of 77 reviews
  • Reviewed by Amelia the Nature Girl from Rochester, NY on Wednesday, January 18, 2012
    I bought this bag for college. It is attractive and made of sturdy materials. It offers adequate room for notebooks, laptop, and books. It would also make a good hiking bag. However, on the first day of use the elastic strap on one of the side pockets broke as I tightened it to hold my water bottle. I am sad.
    • Best Uses: School and day hikes
    • Cons: Side pockets
    • Pros: Heavy duty, Roomy, Sturdy material
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by TriRunner Erin from Philadelphia, PA on Tuesday, January 17, 2012
    I use this bag for school and outdoor activities I love it.
    • Best Uses: Kayaking, Mountain biking, School
    • Pros: Comfortable, Compact, Holds everything I need, Perfect for school
  • Reviewed by theTak from Columbia, SC on Monday, January 16, 2012
    I use this at the moment only as a large backpack for school. Hopefully when the weather warms up I can use it for some outdoor activities.

    The book is plenty roomy for three large nursing books, a 15.6 inch laptop (Samsung RF510, for reference), two 1.5 inch binders packed full, and some pocket references and information packets with room left over for a blood pressure cuff and stethoscope. Quite a hauler!

    The multiple straps including for load size means I can adjust the pack for lighter or odd-sized loads and carry it properly.

    Solid A+ for material choice and stitching quality except for the divider between the two main pockets. It feels like a thinner or cheaper nylon type material, and every time I'm cramming books in there I feel like I have to be careful or it will rip. If there is one part of the bag that's going to blow out, I think it's that divider. If you don't plan on stuffing the bag full to the brim, it probably wouldn't be a problem.

    The laptop pocket is fortunately just the right size for my laptop, but any bigger a computer and it would be a tight squeeze if it fit at all. The padding is a little thin for my preference on the inside, but given that this isn't a purpose-designed computer backpack that's to be expected. It is sufficient to get the job done, and I'm not worried about my laptop getting broken in everyday use.

    Back padding is excellent. The shoulder straps are acceptably padded (but again, feel solidly built).

    All in all, I would certainly recommend this pack at the price listed here on Sierra Trading Post. Exceptional for student use, and feels rugged enough to hold up to some outdoor scuffs and falls.
    • Best Uses: Hikes, School
    • Cons: Compartment divider, Laptop pocket is meh
    • Pros: Nicely padded back, Roomy, Very adjustable
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by nurse jane from winston salem n.c. on Saturday, January 14, 2012
    this product can be whatever you need it to be
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Outback Explorer from Hawaii on Friday, January 13, 2012
    I got this for work (I work outdoors)but also for some office work. First off the color should be listed as brown. From the picture it looks like it has a hint of red. I was hoping for dark maroon but its not the case. Why cant advertisers just use normal names for colors (cinnamon, raven, really?).

    Also I didnt find it had enough pockets. It needs a sunglass holder and a cell/smart phone holder and a media holder would be nice. It only has one pocket for these items. One big complaint is you can not put a full size sharpened pencil anywhere in this backpack with risk of tearing something. My old backpackpack you can.

    I got a good price but probably will return it because it doesnt fit my needs. My old kelty of 7 years was designed better but the zippers finally broke from me putting to much stuff in it.

    If you are using it for a book bag to and from school and the occasional day hike then it probably would be satisfactory.
    • Best Uses: Book bag for school
    • Cons: Misleading color, not enough pockets
    • Pros: H20 pockets, Padded laptop sleeve
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by hoff from Cincinnati, OH on Thursday, January 12, 2012
    Using mostly as a travel backpack, overnights. Great fit and features. Laptop protection is nice addition when needed.
    • Best Uses: Dayhikes, Travel
    • Pros: Appearance, Features, Fit, Quality, Size
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by mandyjbr from Spokane, WA on Friday, December 30, 2011
    This is a great backpack; since this one purchased it for my husband, he has been advocating that I purchase one for myself.
    • Best Uses: Bike commute, Day pack, School work
    • Cons: none
    • Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Functional
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BEP from washington, c on Thursday, December 22, 2011
    This backpack relaced my seven year od North Face Recon bag which performed very well as an daily bag. The Marmot has most of the same feature minus an exterior mesh stash pocket. That was handy place to stuff sweaty mitts of hats. It would be nice to have a clip loop hear or there to attach a blinky light or key ring.
    • Best Uses: Daily commuting
    • Cons: No daisy chain loops, No exterior stash pocket
    • Pros: Bungee pocket, Shape, Size
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Queen from Oberlin, OH on Thursday, December 22, 2011
    I bought this for my son, but when he opened it, my husband, my other son, and I all wanted one for ourselves. Great price. Lots of different storage options. Looks like it will last a long time.
    • Best Uses: Day trips, Hiking, School
    • Pros: Rugged, Versatile
  • Reviewed by Toucan from Newton, NC on Monday, December 19, 2011
    I have a Marmot Highland fanny pack. It is the best made piece of equipment I have. THIS pack is NOT. If it were not for the Marmot name on it...I would have thought it was from [@]. It is small and straps have NO padding whatsoever. Despite the [$] price I paid, I will be sending it back (I will put that $ into a better pack).
    • Best Uses: Child's school bag
    • Cons: Cheap, small, uncomfortable
    • Pros: Features, Looks, price
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • « 1 ... 7 8
  • 61-70 of 77 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #