Marmot Ion Wind Jacket (For Men)

Closeouts. Providing featherlight wind protection for runners and hikers, Marmot's Ion wind jacket packs down small enough to fit in your pocket, with a wind-resistant, move-with-you design and specially placed ventilation panels.

Average Rating based on 74 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 8 »
  • 1-10 of 74 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DMF from PA on Tuesday, June 10, 2014
    ok, so I was mighty surprised at the thinness of the material, but became a believer after wearing it in the rain. Cuts the wind/rain and adds a bit of warmth. When bunched up, I can literally hold the thing in a closed hand... it's that compact. Great little accessory, but it feels fragile so don't get too close to a campfire or anything that might tear/abrade it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by jce from Napa on Friday, May 16, 2014
    Packs small.
    A lot of bang for the buck.
    Wind protection with integral hood helps keep you warm with out bulk or weight.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jimarathon from Flagstaff on Wednesday, April 23, 2014
    I purchased this jacket particularly for running during the windy and semi-cold mornings at elevation and it hasn't disappointed! The supple fabric keeps the wind chill at a minimum and it won't weigh you down. As noted, this is NOT meant for any kind of rain protection other than a light drizzle.

    I use it for layering when I know I'll heat up just enough to crack the zipper and let some air in. For running in the winter, it's hard to beat a product that offers you the kind of versatility this one does.

    The only reason I'm docking it a star is for packability. There are other jackets out there with similar capabilities that pack down smaller, and STP's description that it: "packs down small enough to fit in your pocket" probably only works for cargo pants. If you're buying this thinking that it will fit into a pocket on a pair of running shorts, keep looking.

    It's still an excellent value for the money! And at this price, you could practice taping seams or waterproofing it yourself and not be too worried about ruining a $150 jacket.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Larry from Oklahoma on Tuesday, April 08, 2014
    Perfect wind protection for mild cool days! Very light weight, excellent design and venting. Another great product from Marmot! Excellent value and service from Sierra Trading Post!
  • Reviewed by Ga Hiker from GA on Monday, March 24, 2014
    This jacket is great and well ventilated. Great for aerobic activities such as fast hiking. This jacket has no insulation, but keeping the wind off a base layer really helps the comfort zone. Good movement and some rain resistance.
  • Reviewed by hooah0 from Washington DC on Thursday, March 06, 2014
    Have been running in it and it does a fantastic job blocking the wind. I am also very happy with how well it breathes. I also collapsed it down to fit into it's pocket and unlike another packable wind shirt I have, this fits easily into the pocket with a little room to spare.
  • Reviewed by Adventure Andy from Northern California on Tuesday, February 25, 2014
    This jacket is perfect for cooler days with a brisk wind... I wore this to the top of one of the local mountains (6200 ft) in February- it was about 50F. I put it on over a quick dry T-shirt and it did a pretty good job of keeping in the body heat. It definitely does its job of taking the bite out of the wind and for $35 that I paid, it's a great product! These usually cost $75- so, that's a pretty dang good deal!
  • Reviewed by mirabelasunshine from VT on Thursday, February 06, 2014
    This is a nice piece ... amazingly light, very simple, and does the job. I've been happy running through a COLD Vermont winter in it, with a single layer beneath -- depending on the day & the temps, anything from a tech t-shirt to a heavyweight long-sleeve base layer. In response to the question below about the material -- I think this is the non-Pertex model. The material does not breathe as well as my driclime windshirt does. On the other hand, the pits & sides are vented well, and with the right choice of insulation beneath I've found I stay acceptably dry.

    Because of earlier feedback saying it runs slim, I ordered an XL. I'm 5'10"" x 210# with a "fit / chunky" profile, and I find the XL a little big. Not unacceptably huge, but I might have done better with the L.
  • Reviewed by YzPlayr from Great Falls, MT on Saturday, January 25, 2014
    Am very interested in buying this lightweight jacket, but a little research has discovered that Marmot has made this in two different materials - Quantum Pertex or Banshee Nylon. The Pertex model is universally loved and breathes particularly well. The Banshee nylon, however, does not breather well at all. My question to you that already own this jacket from Derailed/SierraTP is, which material is yours made from? Is there any labeling inside the jacket or that came with the jacket to let me know which this has? Thanks for your help!
  • Reviewed by That Guy from Montana on Tuesday, December 31, 2013
    This jacket is great! It packs down small and works for a variety of things. I use it in the winter as a light layer for skinning, skate skiing, or hiking. In the summer I use it as a layer for cycling, running, and climbing. It's perfect to throw in your pocket while climbing and then put on at the next belay while waiting for your partner. I like the Marmot Ion Jacket better than the Houdini due to the underarm vents. This is one of my favorite technical outerwear pieces I own.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 8 »
  • 1-10 of 74 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.