Marmot Ion Wind Jacket (For Women)

Closeouts. Marmot's ultralight Ion Wind hoodie jacket packs down small enough to fit in your pocket, with a wind-resistant, move-with-you design and specially placed ventilation panels.

Average Rating based on 58 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 6 »
  • 1-10 of 58 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by candylu2008 from china on Wednesday, April 09, 2014
    Idle young, I am no longer afraid of the summer sun Sai
  • Reviewed by CrzyRunner from Maryland on Sunday, March 30, 2014
    I loved the fit and design of this jacket, but it really just wasn't what I was looking as far as fabric. The fabric is thin and similar to regular nylon wind pants/jackets. I am sure it is wind-resistant and maybe even water resistant, but I didn't like the feeling of the fabric n my skin.
  • Reviewed by Ohio Hiker from Ohio on Saturday, March 08, 2014
    Super light yet blocks the wind. This jacket is exactly what I wanted.
  • Reviewed by Lady Type Person from Los Angeles area on Thursday, January 09, 2014
    Confession: I love Marmot products, and I stalk sites like STP for the best deals! I was torn between this and the slightly more expensive Marmot Ether Jacket (For Women). It looks like the Ether is just the Ion with lining, and since I live in SoCal, I decided I didn't need the lining. I did, however, want an adjustable hood for when the wind kicks up, and this jacket provides just that! I especially love that the drawcords and stoppers are small and unobtrusive; I don't feel them against me when I move around. I took this on a recent trip to South FL and I can vouch for its resistance to wind and light precipitation. The mesh panels under the arms kept me cool in the Floridian humidity. I wouldn't hesitate to wear this on a run.

    I really like the relaxed fit, too. It zips easily over a thick fleece, but it still looks nice when I've just got a light baselayer underneath. I think if you're planning to get a windbreaker that fits closer to the skin and you're not busty, you might go down a size or try Marmot's classic cut. [I believe Marmot Trail Wind Hooded Jacket (For Women) has a classic cut.] The hip also has an adjustable drawstring, which helps keep it in place; what I like is that the jacket looks good when the drawstring is totally slack, since it's cut a little longer in back. The wrist openings are elastic, but covered in something that keeps them comfortable and (surprisingly) doesn't bother my skin. I do wish this had front pockets for my hands, but I realize that would add weight to this incredibly light jacket. There is a small zippered pouch on the left arm, large enough for car keys or an iPod Nano but too small for a regular iPod or a smart phone. There's a built-in, super strong hook at the back of the neck for hanging the jacket on a coat hook (or tree branch, depending on where you are!). Overall, I would recommend this jacket to anyone in warmer climates who isn't looking for something totally rainproof, just a lightweight outerlayer that will block wind and slough off mild precipitation, something to put over a long layer next to the skin on cooler days.
  • Reviewed by Trulyb from Asheville, NC on Sunday, December 22, 2013
    I wear a S or M in jackets, so I tried the M. I found it too small, constricting my movement. If you want a slim jacket, maybe this is for you. In a windshirt, I like a looser fit so it's not good for me. Nice material, like the black color, but it's a slim fit for a windshirt which I think needs to give you freedom of movement.
  • Reviewed by tibbiefan from California on Tuesday, November 19, 2013
    Overall I think it will work for a compact jacket to stuff in my bag while traveling. However, it does run small and if it had pockets on each side it would be perfect. But all in all it will work as a "windbreaker".
  • Reviewed by Nattyutah from Utah on Tuesday, November 05, 2013
    Great jacket, I bought it for running and it's perfect. My only complaint is no side pockets, but Ive utilized the arm pocket for keys, and it works. Also, order one size larger than you think...the sleeves are a bit short. I returned my original order for a medium, and it's perfect.
    Looks cool too, which is important:)
  • Reviewed by runaround from FL on Tuesday, October 29, 2013
    I was looking for a lightweight, water-repellant or resistant jacket with mesh vents under the arms, good freedom and range of movement, room to layer, and a fun color combo. This fits the bill. I live in FL, and although the weather will get cooler occasionally, it's usually not below the 50s or 40s late night or early a.m. This will also be a good windbreaker. I haven't washed it yet or worn other than to try on, but it's what I was looking for to use for running, cycling and other outdoor athletic activity.
  • Reviewed by moshmomma from new york on Tuesday, October 22, 2013
    I have 2 of these coats. I out grew my first one. It is a very nice light weight coat that I can wear on a chilly day and not have to have a heavy coat. Love it!
  • Reviewed by roadrunner from North Carolina on Monday, October 14, 2013
    This jacket is what I'd been hoping for: lightweight protection from wind that folds or crushes down to take up almost no space in a purse, fanny pack or travel bag. I just used it on a hiking vacation, wearing it over a light layer and sometimes under a vest. It also seems to do well with stains: having spilled some salad dressing on it, I just wiped it off with water and it seems to be clean, with no odor or stain. I only wish it came in different colors.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 6 »
  • 1-10 of 58 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.