Customer Reviews Of:
Marmot Kronos Tent - 4-Person, 3-Season

Closeouts. Marmot's premium Kronos tent is lightweight, easy to set up and made for many seasons of rugged use.

Average Rating based on 66 reviews 4.045454 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 6 7
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ever-ready Eddie from Sheridan, WY on Wednesday, June 23, 2010
    Our tent arrived just in time for our annual 5 day trip to the Black Hills. It served us well through 3 nights and 1 day of heavy rains and high winds. Three of us were quite comfortable, but a 4th person would have made life a bit too cozy.
    • Best Uses: Car Camping
    • Cons: Too Cramped
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Set Up, Fly Works Well, Lightweight, Sturdy, Waterproof, Windproof
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by The guy with the big dome tent from Asheville, NC on Thursday, May 13, 2010
    I bought this tent to use as a car camping/festival tent for my wife and I and our baby on the way. For years I have insisted on using one of my old trusty 2 person backpacking tents when we go car camping. We're getting a little older now and need more room, especially with a baby on coming. Loved the mesh main body and full fly and have always loved Marmot gear. However, the first time I set it up in my backyard, a pole bent. Not just a slight curve like the others but a 30 degree bend. Now let me say that I have spent a few years total living in a tent. Thru hiked the AT, the PCT, hiked most of the Florida Trail as well as the CO Trail, and so I can safely say that I know how to set up tents. I called Marmot and they assured me that they would always be able to either repair the poles or replace them for the life of the tent. So I'm keeping it and will bend them back as needed. Hope this review helps.
    • Best Uses: Backyard, Beach, Car Camping
    • Cons: Flimsy Construction, Heavy
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Set Up, Fly Works Well, Roomy for two
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by KnotBob from Middleton,WI on Tuesday, March 23, 2010
    Bought this to use as a tent for my husband, my 18month old son and I - plenty of room for all of us and construction is solid, I like the two sleeves to hold the two central poles and that the tent has a total of 4 poles. The fly also has plenty of points to anchor the tent to rocks and such in case of high winds. Very easy to setup.
    • Best Uses: Beach, Car Camping
    • Cons: Heavy
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Easy To Set Up, Fly Works Well, Sturdy
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Reviewed by GTIMANiac from PHX on Thursday, March 4, 2010
    I recently ran the El Camino Del Diablo round-trip (200+ miles) in the Sonoran Desert. We took my Polaris Ranger as our mode of transportation and took the Kronos with us. One night there were 35+ mph winds and driving rain. We stayed dry, not a single drop in the tent.

    We did notice that all 4 poles did take on a slight bend. Though when setting up the following nights we just oriented the bend in it's natural flow.

    I have another Marmot that is a 4 season, so this is great for the warmer months.
    • Best Uses: Backyard, Car Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Set Up, Fly Works Well, Sturdy, Waterproof
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Reviewed by Volcano Guide from Antigua, Guatemala on Tuesday, January 5, 2010
    I work as a volcano guide in Guatemala taking groups on overnight camping trips, so I am a little harder on gear than the average camper. But this tent was described as a sturdy 3 season tent and that it is not. It is easy to set up and it's roomy and comfortable, so it would be great for your kids to use in the backyard or for a car camping trip where you're staying at a nice sheltered campsite, but if you plan to do any serious camping trips in windy or foul weather conditions, this is definitely not for you. The poles are way too weak to support the size and height of this tent. On the very first trip using this tent, the poles were bent from just setting it up in no wind at all. On a recent trip we had two Kronos tents with 4 people each and encountered some pretty windy conditions. Both tents completely failed. All 4 poles on both tents were bent beyond repair and 3 poles out of 8 snapped. All the zippers on both rain flyes separated during the night and couldn't be zipped back up, and both tents ended up ripping at the seams in numerous places. The wind was fairly strong but nothing we haven't encountered many times using other tents that didn't self-destruct like that and, by the way, we had a Marmot Titan tent on that trip that weathered the wind just fine.
    • Best Uses: Backyard camping, Car Camping
    • Cons: Defective Zippers, Faulty Poles, Flimsy Construction, Poor Fly Design
    • Describe Yourself: Outdoor Professional
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Reviewed by ColoradoGuy from Colorado Springs, CO on Sunday, November 29, 2009
    This tent worked great on a week-long trip to Yosemite! We got in late and had to set up in the dark - not an issue. It was up in under 10 minutes (rain fly and all)- and we had never set it up before! The tent is HUGE for two people and the high walls make for minimal crouching. It also kept us bone-dry during a night of rain. I doubt I'll be schlepping the tent on backpacking trips but it is perfect for car camping.
    • Best Uses: Car Camping
    • Cons: Fly zippers can snag
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Set Up, Sturdy, Waterproof
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by GBH from Brielle ,NJ on Tuesday, October 13, 2009
    lots of room , well thought out product
    • Best Uses: Car Camping
    • Cons: Zipper on fly catches
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Set Up, Fly Works Well, Lightweight, Sturdy, Waterproof
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Reviewed by CSWII from Maine on Tuesday, October 13, 2009
    After reading a lot of the comments, and hearing the problems with poles I bought the tent anyway because of the price, and was glad I did. Two of us set it up and took care to flex them slowly and evenly. When tearing down I inspected them carefully and no bends at all. I own a 2 person Sierra Designs tent I also bought here which was fine for my self, this tent was roomy and comfortable for two of us, a Labrador Retriever, and gear. The weather was light rain and quite a bit of wind with no problems, I have to see how it fairs in foul weather before I give it five stars, but would definitely would recommend this tent
    • Best Uses: Beach, Car Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
    • Pros: Easy To Set Up, Sturdy, Waterproof
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Reviewed by HAPPY CAMPER from PORTLAND, OR on Friday, October 2, 2009
    This is a follow up review after using the tent a half dozen times over the last two months. Like others have reported, my poles also took a set but it has not impaired performance that I can tell. If they break I will send them back to Marmot for a replacement. Meanwhile I have a repair kit handy just in case. The second outing to Crater Lake was a true test. It started pouring down rain as soon as we reached the campsite. My wife and I had it set up in no time since it is so simple with no weird angles to figure out. Unknown to me at the time due to the hurried nature of our initial set up, our tent pad was situated in the lowest point of the campsite. After 2 hours of pouring rain we were in the middle of a huge 4 inch deep puddle. My wife was extremely worried that we would be in for a long cold and wet night. Not so. The tent was absolutely waterproof and no water penetrated. Our other outings included windy weekends at 5000 feet in the Badger Creek Wilderness and cold nights at Cape Outlook on the beach. The tent has performed well with no problems. Haven't had to use the guy lines yet since the tent is so stable in the wind with four stout poles. One other reviewer needed a suggestion for a footprint. I got the footprint for the Marmot Den which is the same tent as the Kronos, but a newer model with less netting. Same 8 x 8 size so the footprint is an exact fit.
    • Best Uses: Car Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Sturdy, Waterproof
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by backpacking mama from SF, CA on Tuesday, September 15, 2009
    We bought this specifically for backpacking with 2 kids under 5. It was as light as a 4 person backpacking tent can be, I believe, and totally spacious. Very easy to set up, although the poles all developed bends with the first use - no major storm either! Still, they work just fine, and we have used the tent several times since taking it backpacking. We loved the ventilation that goes hand in hand with so much mesh, although used the fly every time to make for a warmer environment for the kids. The Marmot rainfly is awesome - great design and I'd certainly feel confident using this tent in a rain and light snow storm. I'm disappointed that I can't find an appropriate footprint to fit it - anyone have any ideas?
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Car Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Easy To Set Up, Fly Works Well, Sturdy
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 6 7