Customer Reviews Of:
Marmot Nabu Soft Shell Jacket - Polartec® NeoShell®, Waterproof (For Men)

Closeouts. Marmot's Nabu jacket excels in conditions ranging from windstorms to downpours, thanks to Polartec® NeoShell® waterproof breathable fabric and a featherweight grid backing that wicks moisture.

Average Rating based on 15 reviews 4.800000 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Matt from North Carolina on Tuesday, March 24, 2015
    Own a handful "top of the line" hard shell jackets. I never bought into the soft shells since I didn't see much advantage over a decent fleece. I'm a big fan of Pit zips on all my jackets and typically never considered jackets without them, even with all the marketing "breathable" hype. You just needed pit zips when doing anything besides strolling around or easy hiking.
    This is a nice coat, build quality is top notch. I like that it's relatively thin for a soft shell and really can replace my hard shells for everything (hiking, rock climbing, mountain biking) except for ultralight backpacking. Marmot has stepped up the game but the only weird part is they discontinued the polartec neoshield line up. Weird. I'd love to know why. This jacket is bombproof though.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Whiskey Jim from Wisconsin on Friday, January 16, 2015
    What a great jacket....just what I've been looking for.
    I have plenty of "shells" made of multi-layer laminates of Gor-Tex and others however the Nabu provides more "stretch" therefore is more comfortable while giving protection against the elements and much higher transmission of moisture trapped inside.
    Great jacket...looking forward to many years of service from this high quality and high function garmet.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Acebrd from New Jersey on Sunday, January 4, 2015
    I've worn this snow boarding twice and hiking once. It is definitely a keeper as it is waterproof and breathes great. Note that it is warmer than I thought it would be given how thin it is. I wore it skiing at about 30f with three light wool layers and was too warm. I also wore the same layers hiking at 14f and had to take it off for the uphill climbs as got too hot. Stand alone it wouldn't be warm but with the layers it traps the heat while letting out the sweat. Color is great (I got the bright green) and fit is good for me with room for layers but not too much extra. I am 6 ft 185 and the large fit perfect.
  • Reviewed by yang from china on Tuesday, December 23, 2014
    ?????,??175cm,??37in,??????,????????????
  • Reviewed by Flylooper from Oregon's Willamette Valley on Thursday, December 4, 2014
    ...but when you factor in the selling price, it becomes a GREAT jacket. The quality of it is apparent and I'm sure I'm in for may years of service from this garment.

    I am in the upper limit of the XL size, and because of this there isn't much room for layering on a sweatshirt or a fleece shirt, the Marmot fits rather snugly. It's still usable but I'd have been better off with an XXL. Unfortunately there wasn't one for sale.

    On the positive side there is a lightweight liner inside this jacket and so I don't think I"ll have a problem. Until I loose a bunch of weight, I can use this jacket with just a tee shirt. .
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by s_k_i_ from Michigan on Tuesday, December 2, 2014
    I got a XL...I'm 6' and about 205lbs. I wanted it a little big so that I could layer a down jacket for skiing, but I like my shells a little bigger anyway. Fits true to size. Soft material and excellent against water.
  • Reviewed by Todd from Los Angeles on Wednesday, October 22, 2014
    If you want one jacket for the widest variety of circumstances you'll encounter THIS is where you should put your money. ESPECIALLY at the incredible price offered on STP. For this quality you will more than get your money's worth.

    It protects like a killer hard shell but has the stretch and comfort of a high end soft shell. And while I haven't had it for a long time I have no question it will stand up to any abuse thrown it's way.

    The hood is a little big but the stiff brim compensates. Great for a helmet. I'm not too keen on having things hit against my neck while carrying a pack but it's easy to fold the hood and keep it away. And while I thought it not having pit zips would be a problem that hasn't proven to be the case. I hike hard in this and if I get a little warm I'll just unzip the front, the two (perfectly positioned) hand pockets and the Napolean pocket and I'm good to go.

    I will say that at 6' 185 lbs with pretty broad shoulders and long arms I'm a solid Large in everything. This came to me as a Medium and I wouldn't have known unless I happened to look. I prefer more low profile apparel and the Medium was perfect. I've still been able to wear it over a wool baselayer, lightweight fleece AND a low profile puffy without feeling restricted.

    It's not going to deliver the warmth of its counterpart the Zion but I just think it adds to the flexibility of the conditions it can be worn in. I wouldn't normally take a softshell backpacking but the Nabu will always find a way in to my pack.

    A lot of companies talk about their "innovations" but they're very rarely true. Marrying a hard shell with a soft shell truly IS an innovation and makes this a great choice for anyone serious about their time spent in nature.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Geoffypop from Alberta on Friday, October 17, 2014
    Just received the jacket, having ordered it for my son. Our family has had breathable jackets since the early Goretex products were made in the mid 1970's and more recently have acquired Westcomb Event jackets and Mountain Hardware Dry Q Elite jackets. The Nabu was one jacket that looked like it would serve as a good ski jacket for my son. For several years he wore a Karbon ski jacket when he was skiing but he found it somewhat heavy. He now skis with a Patagonia down sweater jacket under a Westcomb shell and that's what he will do with the Nabu, except that because it is a soft shell jacket, it should be a bit warmer. So just out of the box, four stars, but we won't really know until it get's tested at Lake Louise this winter.
  • Reviewed by Jack from China on Thursday, October 16, 2014
    It's good ,but the hat is too big for me!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kooog from Tianjin China on Sunday, October 12, 2014
    Low price,high quality,I like it so much!
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2