Marmot Odyssey 4 Tent - 4-Person, 3-Season

Closeouts. A spacious dome-style tent with two vestibules, Marmot's Odyssey 4 tent protects you from the elements and won't leave you squeezed for space while car camping in a storm.

Average Rating based on 20 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 20 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by New Hampshire girl from New Hampshire on Wednesday, August 27, 2014
    While I have not used this tent yet, initial impressions are excellent. It is a larger tent when rolled up (I am used to smaller, lighter two person tents) but for a comfortable four person tent it is still manageable even on short hikes, plus it is very light for such a large tent. Marmot quality is always good and I expect this to be no different. I will update my review after some use!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Happy Camper777 from WA on Wednesday, August 06, 2014
    So far all we've done is set it up in the backyard - but I must say we're so happy with the ease of setup and how very roomy it is. We'll be putting it to the real test this weekend to see how we do with it on the trail.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Scott S from Michigan on Monday, July 28, 2014
    This is a really great tent for the price. Easy set up, great rain fly, nice interior pockets and a loop at the peak for a small LED lantern. Good for car camping and lots of space for up to three people and gear. The only drawback in my opinion is that the entire dome is mesh, great for cooling and star gazing but not so great for privacy if in a campground. If you add the rain fly, you get the privacy but it really gets hot quick! Overall a really great tent at a great rice. I love it!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by FIkkSeven from Alberta on Wednesday, July 16, 2014
    Just used it this weekend. Great interior space, breathable and set it up no problem with my 6yr old. May end up being a bit heavy for longer treks but willing to sacrifice a pound or two for the extra space not offered by other 4P tents less than 10lbs.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lucylue from Kalamazoo, MI on Monday, June 23, 2014
    This is my first experience with a Marmot tent and I was blown away with the simplicity of setup and the high quality materials this tent offers. I have never spent this much on a tent, but, boy, am I glad I bought it, as it was definitely worth the extra money spent.

    The poles snap together almost by themselves. Although I did have help, I could have set it up by myself, it just would have taken a little more time. We had the tent completely assembled & staked in under 30 minutes on our first setup. Could probably do it much quicker next time around.

    The double-layer system with the outer shell on this tent is brilliant. It leaves about an inch gap between the inner netting and outer shell. This eliminates inside touching of the shell, which can cause water leakage in single layer tents. The shell also creates a covered 'entryway' directly outside the door, allowing us to keep our rug and shoes (and fire wood) directly outside the door & still be covered.

    Our first night camping, it poured rain & we were bone dry inside the tent. Also dry were our shoes and rug under our covered entryway.

    My one and only complaint would be that this tent needs more private and/or weather proof venting capability. There are two vents located at opposite corners of the tent, that 'prop' open the shell for ventilation. Luckily our campsite was very shady, and it wasn't too much of an issue. I would be concerned about this if the tent had to be set up in direct sunlight on a hot day.



  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DP from Nevada on Monday, June 09, 2014
    Brought the tent camping for a week at Yosemite National Park. Set up was very easy and love the multiple pockets where I can stash my clothes. There was one part (a cylinder about 5 inches long) that we can not figure out where it belongs... so didn't use it.. We were very comfortable (2 people with bags and cot beds) and we each had our own door. Too bad it did not come with a footprint.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bearljh from Daegu, South Korea on Thursday, May 29, 2014
    Nice Tent for three season except winter.

    I bought it especially for light summer camping on the deck.

    it is perfect tent for the deck(3m X 3m size wooden floor).

    very light tent in weight with light pole

    it takes 5 minutes to set up and another 5 minutes to pack up.

    Tent size is bigger than expected. Enough room for four adult men.

    I recommend it for camping starter, backpacker, four person family.

  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Shane from Texas on Tuesday, April 29, 2014
    This tent is easy to put up and relatively lightweight for it's size. It is well constructed and comes with several nice features like overhead pockets, a center eye loop, well made stakes. During my first use of this tent we experienced higher than expected winds (30 mph with gusts in the 50s). This is unusual wind conditions, granted. But it exposed a weakness in this tent which is that the mesh construction doesn't prevent wind and dust from passing through into the tent. We were pelted with sand the entire night despite a couple of attempts to tighten the fly and block the gaps with some of our equipment. I don't think this is a design flaw in the tent, it is a warm weather tent…just something to be aware of depending on where you are planning to camp.
  • Reviewed by Moonrunner from Cincinnati, Ohio on Friday, April 18, 2014
    My wife and I just completed a cross country trip and I wish I would have brought my other tent. This tent let all the wind in and we had to use two bedsheets on the front and back to keep the wind out. No good attachments for gear loft and the side compartments were too loose and unsteady to hold a water bottle. I am going back to my Eureka Mountain Pass XTE.
  • Reviewed by Alejandro the Great from Virginia on Wednesday, December 04, 2013
    I received this tent yesterday and set it up in the living room. Obviously I have not used this in the outdoors yet but It seemed to be made of great material. It is not the lightest tent but it does have the most room of most of the 4 person tents out there. You cant see it in the pic but above the doors are two large pockets and each side has two additional pockets. The poles are rather long so setting this up in the backcountry may take some magic. I am about 6 foot and have a about a foot of room. Good product!
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 20 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.