Marmot Optima Gore-Tex® Pants - Waterproof (For Men)

Closeouts. Optimized for alpine and backcountry excursions in challenging conditions, Marmot's Optima pants are equipped with an unlined, waterproof breathable Gore-Tex® shell for lightweight protection against the elements without bulk.

Average Rating based on 8 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-8 of 8 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ferko from Southern CA on Thursday, September 18, 2014
    The Marmot gore-tex pants are well designed and it fit quite well for me. I bought a slightly larger size as I read in the other reviews and that worked out well. This is especially important if you plan to wear another layer under the gore-tex pants. In terms of inseam lengths there are not many options. I am a somewhat short person (29/30 inseam) but inseam for medium and large sizes (the most popular sizes) is 32/33. The length of the legs was just too long for me. What I did was to fold 2 inches under the knee and get it sewed. That solved the problem. By the way the knee section is very nicely designed and makes knee bending easier. (It resembles a bit motorcycle pants at the knees.)
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Canyonman from Montana on Monday, September 1, 2014
    This pant is not quite as advertised and lacks the reinforcements supposedly found on the women's version. I almost returned it because of this, but it's a nice weight and well-built so I decided to keep it. It is, as some have said, a trim fit. This could be a deal-breaker if you hope to wear much underneath. But, if you are only wearing light hiking pants they fit fine. Forget about wearing fleece or winter clothing underneath though -- you won't be able to walk. Since I only intend to use this pant for summer hiking, it should work well. It earns 4 stars because of the build quality. Otherwise, it would be only 3 stars. I would not have bought these without a wicked discount.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by wfs from arkansas on Thursday, July 31, 2014
    I am currently using these pants as my rain gear while day-hiking in the Indian Peaks range behind Boulder, CO. They are relatively light weight, very waterproof, easy to slip on and off. These do not have full-length zippers on the side (which I did not want) but do have 8" zippers at the cuff for extra room over hiking boots if necessary. They do NOT have a waist tightening system, but have elastic for gripping your waist. I got a larger size than my normal day pants in order to be able to slip them over my normal light weight pants/shorts. I use suspenders to hold pants for comfort, which works GREAT! Yesterday, I wore them all day long and thought they worked perfectly from day-hiking to dinner. I would purchase these again. They would work well as daily pants if needed and purchased to correct size. I preferred the rain-pant pull-over approach.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jen from Gig harbor wa on Tuesday, July 22, 2014
    Perfect fit and excellent buy.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by CSY from California on Sunday, July 20, 2014
    The pants were too tight around the legs preventing the ability to wear clothing underneath the shell pants. Forced to return them for refund.
  • Reviewed by fatport from Alaska on Sunday, July 6, 2014
    I received these today, so keep that in mind. I just got back from a one-hour walk in moderate rain with intermittent waist-high grass and one very close encounter with a cow moose. The pants performed flawlessly. They kept me totally dry and breathed well.
    The fit of my medium pair on the snug side. I'm 6'1", weight 185, and usually wear medium in these types of clothes. The length is perfect for me, but they're too tight to wear anything but long underwear or tights underneath. If that's a necessity, size up.
    They're very light - 10 oz. on my digital scale. The fabric probably won't take much of a beating, but that's to be expected from such a light fabric. I bought them primarily for backpacking where weight and weather performance are my primary concerns. I have no doubts they'll meet my expectations.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by qinhuangdaohktk from oregon on Tuesday, June 10, 2014
    I'm very happy, 68kg/179cm,This item can fully meet my needs, this item price is reasonable, hope more people can have it.
  • Reviewed by Ekinolas from China on Tuesday, June 10, 2014
    fit me well , and quite light
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-8 of 8 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.