Marmot Optima Gore-Tex® Pants - Waterproof (For Men)

Closeouts. Optimized for alpine and backcountry excursions in challenging conditions, Marmot's Optima pants are equipped with an unlined, waterproof breathable Gore-Tex® shell for lightweight protection against the elements without bulk.

Average Rating based on 16 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 16 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by dc from co on Wednesday, June 24, 2015
    too big and will not fit over ski boot
  • Reviewed by JAKEEN from Pittsburgh PA on Wednesday, June 10, 2015
    Product looks and feels well made on first impression. I ordered a size medium, I am thin(5'11" 150lbs waist 29") and this is my typical size. However, waist was loose and no way to tighten as they have only an elastic band. I am planning to exchange for a size S. I am concerned that S may be a little short as inseam drops 2" from M to S according to other reviews. We will see!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by AZ Chuck from Gilbert, AZ on Friday, May 22, 2015
    I took these pants with me for a "just in case" moment, and I'm so glad that I did. Considering that it's the middle of May in Arizona, the last thing I thought I would be seeing when pulling up to the trail head was 4 inches of snow. I pulled the Optima pants on over my hiking pants and still had room to move. 9 miles later I was back at the car and still dry as a bone. Not only did they keep me dry from a very wet snow, they were super breathable with no noticeable perspiration build up. Very good product!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Alaska from California on Sunday, May 3, 2015
    I got them as overpants for motorcycle trip. They pack small and look nice
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JAR from Japan on Wednesday, December 24, 2014
    Although I have not used them in the rain, they use the same material as my wading jacket, which proves very effective. This fit easily over my jeans and pack down small. They should be great for commuting and traveling. Appear to size as described.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by James from Washington on Thursday, December 18, 2014
    I'd been researching rain paints and my challenge was that other sites didn't carry what I wanted. The Sierra Trading Post is incredibly helpful in learning pretty much everything about a product(s) so you can feel confident that when you receive your order, it will be what you expected and will fit as described. These pants are almost perfect, they are the right size, completely waterproof, light, and very well built. I love that they have a zipper and button snap with Velcro built under the button, and waterproof zippered pockets. They would be perfect if they were soft shell material, however they suit my needs very well...
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bonez from Iowa on Wednesday, November 12, 2014
    I got these pants to keep me dry during spring track meets. The pants are comfortable and slide easily over outer layers.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Zach from Chicago on Monday, November 10, 2014
    Great product and the Sierra Trading folks are great to work with
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ferko from Southern CA on Thursday, September 18, 2014
    The Marmot gore-tex pants are well designed and it fit quite well for me. I bought a slightly larger size as I read in the other reviews and that worked out well. This is especially important if you plan to wear another layer under the gore-tex pants. In terms of inseam lengths there are not many options. I am a somewhat short person (29/30 inseam) but inseam for medium and large sizes (the most popular sizes) is 32/33. The length of the legs was just too long for me. What I did was to fold 2 inches under the knee and get it sewed. That solved the problem. By the way the knee section is very nicely designed and makes knee bending easier. (It resembles a bit motorcycle pants at the knees.)
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Canyonman from Montana on Monday, September 1, 2014
    This pant is not quite as advertised and lacks the reinforcements supposedly found on the women's version. I almost returned it because of this, but it's a nice weight and well-built so I decided to keep it. It is, as some have said, a trim fit. This could be a deal-breaker if you hope to wear much underneath. But, if you are only wearing light hiking pants they fit fine. Forget about wearing fleece or winter clothing underneath though -- you won't be able to walk. Since I only intend to use this pant for summer hiking, it should work well. It earns 4 stars because of the build quality. Otherwise, it would be only 3 stars. I would not have bought these without a wicked discount.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 16 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #