Marmot Tarn Soft Shell Pants (For Men)

Closeouts. Thanks to Marmot's exclusive M3 soft shell, Tarn pants ensure breathable, water-resistant performance, plus superior range of motion during demanding outdoor adventure.

Average Rating based on 68 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 7 »
  • 1-10 of 68 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by k. w. from alaska on Thursday, December 18, 2014
    love the pants.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JYQ from China on Wednesday, December 17, 2014
    I look really cool in the pants. The material are stretchy and waterproof.
  • Reviewed by southcityguy from St. Louis, MO on Wednesday, December 17, 2014
    I bought these pants mainly for biking to work. Bought a large. I'm 6'1 and 200lbs. Not only were they a little long on me, there were pretty tight around the upper half. I will be returning them and wont be getting the XL cause they would be way too long I think.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by snow man from Idaho on Tuesday, December 16, 2014
    Soft, stretchy material that is lightweight, waterproof, and breathable
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sportshawg from California on Saturday, November 15, 2014
    Some of the best dry fit gear out there
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Nanumcreek from Utah on Monday, November 10, 2014
    I bought these for my winter bike commute and with two uses have not disappointed!

    I normally get long pants when available but I have to go with the other reviewers and the regular size is very long. At 6'3" and 170 these are a great fit for me in the Large size. They breath pretty well but if you layer, be sparing because in 40 degree weather and bibs on underneath, I am close to sweating after 3 miles into work.

    These will be used for snowshoing this winter and I am looking forward to using them!
  • Reviewed by Lee from WYO on Thursday, October 30, 2014
    I really like these pants for everything from around the house to around town to long days in the mountains. I'm 6'1", 180 (usually wear 34/34 pants) and the size L fits great after washing them. They were originally a little too big but shrank oh so slightly in the wash and now fit great. Work well in the cold, wind and soft interior makes them not too bad in the summer either. Ankle zippers loosen them up just enough to get them on/off over shoes/boots. Adjustable bungee cord in the ankles allows you to since them down too. They take a pretty good beating too. I've worn them while shimmying up/down slot canyons in UT and they showed no signs of wear and cleaned up well in the wash.

    Pockets are a little shallow and things can fall out easily but they are zippered to secure your belongings. I don't like the placement of the front most belt loops, wish they were another inch or two forward, but everything else makes up for it. Move the belt loops and I'll up it to 5 stars.

    Will likely buy a couple more pair while they are available.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DaVinci1 from PA on Tuesday, August 26, 2014
    Great cold weather hiking pants! Excellent fit and finish. I am 6'2", 205 lbs, with an athletic build and 34" waist. The size Large in regular length fit perfect. The long length pants were way too long and I had to exchange them initially. I purchased a pair in both colors because of the great price for a quality pair of soft shell pants.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Leatherneck Larry from Florida on Tuesday, August 19, 2014
    The Tarn pant is an early version of what is now called the Scree pant. I have used them hiking the Smokey Mountains in early winter and for cross country skiing in Vermont during January. I have only good things to say about the Tarn pants.

    To be as specific as possible, the pants fit very well and the waist seems true to size. I can wear either regular or long as both seem to work OK and the 34 waist is very comfortable. I am 6' tall and 190 pounds with 34 or 36 waist working in most pants. These pants are fairly windproof, quite water resistant and stretchy (hope I spelled that right). I cross country skied for hours in these pants (fell down a lot) and they never wet through from the snow. The temp was in the 20's and I had a light base layer under them and never came close to being cold. They have an ankle zipper about 10 inches long which helps the pants fit over boots very well. The pockets are OK but I never use pants pockets on the trail anyway.

    Overall, these pants are one of my favorites and they perform well in a wide range of conditions. Not for warm weather, but anywhere from teens to 50's will work well. Oh, last but not least, they are great looking pants and can fit in anywhere from the trail to the pub...

    Buy them, you will never regret the decision !!!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by CCully from Colorado on Tuesday, August 19, 2014
    Good overall soft shell. Light weight, stretchy and wind/water resistant. Good fall/spring hiking pants or wear them under hard shell pants when the snow flies.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 7 »
  • 1-10 of 68 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.