Customer Reviews Of:
Marmot Tarn Soft Shell Pants (For Men)

Closeouts. Thanks to Marmot's exclusive M3 soft shell, Tarn pants ensure breathable, water-resistant performance, plus superior range of motion during demanding outdoor adventure.

Average Rating based on 117 reviews 4.521367 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 12
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by jim from michigan on Friday, April 7, 2017
    Very well built pant, size is spot on great fit. Shame the quantities were limited, good buy. Time will tell when the clothing meets the grounds.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by NCMG from NC on Wednesday, December 28, 2016
    Bought after a unexpected blizzard on top of a glacier at the end of a 14 mile hike. these hit a need for functional warmer hiking pants but were far too long I am 6-2" 36-34 these had 4+ inches extra length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by wildflower from OR on Monday, December 26, 2016
    This is a very nice quality pant. The large fits a 34 waist but they run a little long.
    These pants are made of stretch material with correct darting and pocktes for hiking
    or trekking. Have a comfortable elastic waist band and fly. Superb pants
    with more like a 34/34 measurement in the large.
    Recommend.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by George from Colorado on Sunday, December 25, 2016
    I bought this soft shell pant earlier in the winter as my job has me spending a significant amount of time outside in all kids of weather. I also can spend a significant amount of time indoors or inside my patrol vehicle. I am a deputy sheriff in Colorado near the Continental Divide and our weather can go to extremes in just a few hours. This pant is a great fit, sheds snow and wind equally well while remaining very flexible for climbing over obstacles and getting in an out of my patrol car. They are weather resistant without being overly warm when I'm indoors for periods of time getting caught up on paperwork. The dual action zipper pull on the fly is great as my gun belt can cover the zipper pull when it's zipped up. More pockets would be nice.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Casual Hiker from Washington on Sunday, December 11, 2016
    Very comfortable. Thick enough to be warm, but no so thick to be hot. Runs a little long.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by AZ_Hiker from Flagstaff on Monday, December 5, 2016
    I ordered the XL at first, thinking it would leave some room for layering, but it ended up being too baggy. So, I returned and re-ordered the L, which is too tight for layering, but works okay by itself. Seems there's not much, if any, overlap between sizes. XL too big, L too small (but still usable) for my original purposes. Overall, I like the fabric and construction and will keep them as a 3-season hiking pant.
  • Reviewed by Matt's outside from Lancaster, PA on Saturday, November 26, 2016
    Just as the baby bear's stuff was "just right" for Goldilocks, so are these incredible pants for me. Incredibly comfortable with just enough stretch, good wind and water resistance and never too hot or too cold. Desperately want another pair or 3 but can't find them in medium anymore. At 5'-10" and 165 the mediums are spot on. Please find some more!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Oreilly from Michigan on Wednesday, September 21, 2016
    Good pair of soft shell pants. Sizing of the long is truly long, so unless you have a true long inseam go for the standard. Like most other outdoor clothing, these pants are made with thin torso as the norm. I wear a size 40 waist pant and the XXL fit fine. Good material, solidly made, light, true black color on the black (matches my Marmot black soft shell jacket).
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by . from CHINA on Saturday, September 3, 2016
    Comfortable and good price
  • Reviewed by Midwest Outdoorsman from Midwest on Wednesday, June 29, 2016
    I haven't used too many different brands or styles of softshell pants, but these feel like a winner for sure. This was my first experience with the Marmot M3 fabric and I really like it. It's got a great mix of stretch and weather resistance while being extremely comfortable. The pants are very wind resistant. While I've only had them out in a few very light rain showers, I expect the DWR coating to help if I'm caught in some serious rain. I plan on trying them out skiing if there isn't a lot of precip as well. They are light weight and feel closer to sweatpants than hiking pants in regards to comfort. The fit is slim and semi-tapered which makes for a great profile and pants that don't look super baggy like a lot of hiking pants and snow pants do. The pockets are on the smaller size but they each have a zipper so you don't have to worry about valuables falling out. There are multiple adjustments on the bottom of the legs. This helps a lot when I wear the pants biking. I'm able to cinch the leg tight at the ankle on the right leg to prevent the fabric from catching my bike chain. It also helps if you want to bunch the pants up towards your knees for ventilation. The waist is comfortable and stretchy, and fits true to the size listed on the chart. These pants are my go-to pants for fall/winter/spring hiking when the weather is cool and breezy. They proved a little too hot for warmer temps (50s and 60s F) but I do usually run hot so YMMV.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 12