Customer Reviews Of:
Marmot Tarn Soft Shell Pants (For Men)

Closeouts. Thanks to Marmot's exclusive M3 soft shell, Tarn pants ensure breathable, water-resistant performance, plus superior range of motion during demanding outdoor adventure.

Average Rating based on 110 reviews 4.545454 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 11
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Oreilly from Michigan on Wednesday, September 21, 2016
    Good pair of soft shell pants. Sizing of the long is truly long, so unless you have a true long inseam go for the standard. Like most other outdoor clothing, these pants are made with thin torso as the norm. I wear a size 40 waist pant and the XXL fit fine. Good material, solidly made, light, true black color on the black (matches my Marmot black soft shell jacket).
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by aiyinwa from CHINA on Saturday, September 3, 2016
    Comfortable and good price
  • Reviewed by Midwest Outdoorsman from Midwest on Wednesday, June 29, 2016
    I haven't used too many different brands or styles of softshell pants, but these feel like a winner for sure. This was my first experience with the Marmot M3 fabric and I really like it. It's got a great mix of stretch and weather resistance while being extremely comfortable. The pants are very wind resistant. While I've only had them out in a few very light rain showers, I expect the DWR coating to help if I'm caught in some serious rain. I plan on trying them out skiing if there isn't a lot of precip as well. They are light weight and feel closer to sweatpants than hiking pants in regards to comfort. The fit is slim and semi-tapered which makes for a great profile and pants that don't look super baggy like a lot of hiking pants and snow pants do. The pockets are on the smaller size but they each have a zipper so you don't have to worry about valuables falling out. There are multiple adjustments on the bottom of the legs. This helps a lot when I wear the pants biking. I'm able to cinch the leg tight at the ankle on the right leg to prevent the fabric from catching my bike chain. It also helps if you want to bunch the pants up towards your knees for ventilation. The waist is comfortable and stretchy, and fits true to the size listed on the chart. These pants are my go-to pants for fall/winter/spring hiking when the weather is cool and breezy. They proved a little too hot for warmer temps (50s and 60s F) but I do usually run hot so YMMV.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Logan84 from Alaska on Monday, June 6, 2016
    Very comfortable pants! Strech material and full zip pockets
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tony the Teacher from Virginia on Friday, May 6, 2016
    After owning two pairs of the slate grey Marmot Tarn Pants for a couple of years, I was hoping to find some in different colors so as to wear them to work. I am a middle school science teacher, and an active pair of pants is a must with all the bending and moving that is required. In addition to my job, I have wore these pants to hike, camp, and bike. They are so comfortable!!! I am 6'0'' tall and weigh 200 pounds, and the large regular fit me perfectly. The longs must be REALLY long, because the regulars fit me perfectly, and I am long legged.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Spy from Northern Michigan on Wednesday, May 4, 2016
    Fit is standard. Quality is on point
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by henry from Vermont on Thursday, April 7, 2016
    Good pants, run a little long.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Haan from Portland on Monday, March 7, 2016
    It's very comfortable,the waist just fits for me,the outside length is a little long for me,about 107cm
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by jungmi from California on Monday, March 7, 2016
    I got this pant for my husband who wears waist 34. I ordered size large at first (as it was recommended), but it was very big for him. I changed size L to M (whole process was easy and fast) and he really liked this pant, so I ordered another one for him. He wears this pant at his hiking trips and our last trip to Europe. It is a side elastic pant, so if you wears waist 34 pant, it still fits you well. There is huge size difference between M and L. Overall, it is a very good pant.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sadie in Seatle from Washiongton on Sunday, February 28, 2016
    I got these pants for my husband as he wanted something more stylish and functional for weekly hiking. These pants are perfect and he loves them! He likes the great fit, the zippered pockets (including a well-placed thigh pocket), the zips at the ankles, and the very functional fabric... water repellent and stretchy. He usually wears an L or XL - Tall, but these fit him very well in L-Regular. Note: They make him look and feel like he's 30, not 76!
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 11