Marmot Tarn Soft Shell Pants (For Women)

Closeouts. Thanks to Marmot's exclusive M3 soft shell, Tarn pants ensure breathable, water-resistant performance, plus superior range of motion during demanding outdoor adventure.

Average Rating based on 59 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 6 »
  • 1-10 of 59 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Betty from Ohio on Sunday, September 21, 2014
    Walking, golfing, hiking. Many uses of these comfortable, nice looking outdoor pants. Looking forward to wearing them as the weather turns cooler.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by mCO from Colorado on Friday, September 12, 2014
    These are really comfortable pants. They have a lot of stretch in them so I can't wait to wear them hiking this fall. They are water resistant but aren't swishy when you walk like some similar hiking pants. True to size.
  • Reviewed by outdoorsy gal from Northern Florida on Monday, August 11, 2014
    These are nice, quality pants. They have some spandex so stretch a bit, but the stretch is only vertically, along the length of the pants. There is no stretch horizontally, along the width of the pants. This means they have some longitudinal give for when you bend, sit, or crouch so the ankles don't pull way up, the waist band doesn't pull down, and the knees won't feel like they're pulling tight as you squat.

    However, since there's no stretch horizontally across the width of the pants, don't count on any stretch to help you squeeze a too-wide butt or big thigh saddle bags into the pants; they don't stretch that direction.

    That said, they're pretty roomy. I'm on the cusp between large and extra large so I ordered extra large intending to layer. The extra large is pretty darned big. I could easily layer both thick long johns and a pair of jeans underneath.

    They run pretty long. However, they have one of those adjustable bungee-cord draw-string things around the bottom of each leg. So, if they're too long, you could pull it tight around your ankle and just let the extra length blouse-out a bit at the ankle without getting in the way. If they're good length, you can leave the bungee draw string loose and it just looks like a normal pant leg hem.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hiker Beth from Colorado on Saturday, July 26, 2014
    Well made. Flexible so provides one with unrestricted mobility. Fairly wind proof as well as water resistant. At 5'6" and 115 pounds, the smalls (Size 6) fit me well. Love them. Bought a second pair.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Anna G. from Gaithersburg, MD on Wednesday, April 23, 2014
    Excellent pants. Athletic fit, slim around the thighs, but a soft material (does not make noise when moving) and allows for a full range of movement. I used them for hiking and climbing and they performed well. These are the lightest in the Marmot's series of soft shells - for the mildest weather, which is exactly what I wanted - a summertime breathable pant.
  • Reviewed by Aviva from MN on Wednesday, April 02, 2014
    beautiful cut and great functions. moving comfortably. Love it a lot!
  • Reviewed by Mingo from California on Monday, January 20, 2014
    Other than the material, I'd return this in a heart beat. I am usually a size 1-2, but these pants are tight for an xs. Also, they mentioned it is a classic fit on the waist, but they go higher than expected. I bought a few pairs of pants from here, but these pants are not what was described.

    Pros:
    Great material
    Good amount of zippers

    Cons:
    Sizing
    Odd shape
    High Waist

    Bottom line: get something else
  • Reviewed by suz from louisiana on Monday, January 13, 2014
    These are really nice. But-- tighter allover and looser I'm the waist than suit me. Sent back but wished they would have worked.
  • Reviewed by gsebasti from North Carolina on Sunday, December 22, 2013
    Very comfortable, good fit. Too long - had to hem (and I'm not short, 5"6"). Highly recommend.
  • Reviewed by Skier from idaho on Thursday, August 22, 2013
    These pants are very soft, they have a tapered leg, more so than the photo shows. The pockets all have zippers, a bonus. For sizing, the Medium fit perfectly, not to clingy, I am a size 6, 5'7, 125 lbs.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 6 »
  • 1-10 of 59 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.